1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Screens, projectors and graphics cards

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Gadget999, Mar 17, 2020.

  1. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    9,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +307 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    i am trying to work out what is best to do for my 6dof

    i have a projector that could work

    or do i go for screens

    i like the fact the screens will be close by and will have a better resolution

    there are curved screens and lots of people use 3 screens

    Question 1. To use 3 screens do i need 3x graphics cards ? (RF2)

    Question 2. do i need the screens attached to the sim or static on the ground ?

    Question 3. are the curved screen(s) worth the extra cost ?



    p.s - I may explore a vr headset later on
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    122Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have a 1080p projector and the rift s. The projector is pretty nice but I enjoy the rift more.
  4. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    9,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +307 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    does it need to be dark to use the projector ?
  5. zapata_h

    zapata_h Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    Occupation:
    Industrial Maintenance Manager
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    - 75Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    The darker the better the image will look, I use VR, current graphics cards have multiple outputs for multiple screens, if yours is modern you will have no problem putting multiple TVs
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    122Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform

    Yes like Zapata said. The Darker the better.

    What graphics card do you have?
  7. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    9,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +307 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    the graphic card is a geforce gtx 1050 Ti - can it run more than one screen ?
  8. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    122Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform

    With that graphics card you should stick to just one monitor. That card would also struggle with vr
  9. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    9,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +307 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    looks like it will support 3x screens

    • New NVIDIA Pascal architecture delivers improved performance and power efficiency; 240Hz Max Refresh Rate
    • Classic and modern games at 1080p @ 60 FPS; Max Digital Resolution - 7680x4320
    • Fast, smooth, power-efficient gaming experiences; Max Monitors Supported: 3
    • Base Clock: 1354 MHz / Boost Clock: 1468 MHz; Memory Detail: 4096MB GDDR5
    • EVGA GTX 1050 Ti SC GAMING - Compact Size 5.7in; Max Monitors Supported: 3
    • NVIDIA G-SYNC Ready; OpenGL 4.5 Support; Simultaneous Multi-Projection & NVIDIA Ansel
    • NVIDIA GPU Boost 3.0; Microsoft DirectX 12 API; Vulkan API & PCI Express 3.0
    • HDMI 2.0b, DisplayPort 1.4 and Dual-Link DVI-D; Built for EVGA Precision XOC
    • Requirements: 300 Watt or greater power supply & Windows 10 32/64bit, Windows 8 32/64bit, Windows 7 32/64bit
    • Dimensions: Height: 4.376in - 111.15mm; Length: 5.7in - 144.78mm & Width: Dual Slot
  10. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    9,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +307 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    so the vr headset is effectively a screen ! i thought it would have its own graphics processors
  11. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    122Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform

    Pretty much yes. Your 1050ti would be fine in triple screen and vr for some games. I am running a gtx970 which is faster than 1050ti. Assetto corsa runs good. Dirt rally runs just ok. Dirt rally 2 is unplayable. Im talking VR at 1440p resolution
  12. zapata_h

    zapata_h Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    Occupation:
    Industrial Maintenance Manager
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    - 75Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Indeed VR glasses behave like one more monitor, in fact it consumes many more resources than a monitor, with the graphic card that you comment it would be very fair for VR