1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

SCN6 extension cable

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Bacon2002, Jun 29, 2017.

  1. Bacon2002

    Bacon2002 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Underwriter
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    79Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, Motion platform
    Hi,
    Does anyone know where and if I can get SCN6 extension cables, either premade or just the connector blocks.
    I have seen extensions for sale by online suppliers but they are $90 excluding shipping which seems pretty expensive for what seem to be copper cables. I was hoping there might be an alternative that didn't involve cutting the existing standard cables.
    Many thanks,
    David
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Occupation:
    director
    Location:
    england
    Balance:
    439Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    just do yourself , neat with a solder iron and heat wrap

    those plastic blocks on existing official leads are not that good for this application imo

    when I get time I'm going to make custom ones for all mine ( have x4 SCN6's )
  4. Bacon2002

    Bacon2002 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Underwriter
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    79Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, Motion platform
    Hi,
    If anyone could help with this (old) threat, I didn't get round to fixing the cable lengths at the time,
    I have 5 x SCN6 actuators, I would like to extend the cable by about 3 metres each, but what would be the correct wire gauge (and supplier) be for extending the extension cable.
    The soldering part is not a problem but I can't work out the correct 9 core cable (looks like maybe 20 AWG?) and the 4 core (perhaps 18 AWG?) but I am guessing so any idea what cables I should order and from where.
    Thanks,
    David