1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

SCN5 / SCN6 Hardware Thread

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by egoexpress, Sep 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    Let me add, that it would be better to ask us about a commercial converter, before buying. Post a link, and we will tell you, if it is a suitable one.

    @Sirnoname
    You did the wiring by removing the RS485 connector, and plugged the wires directly to the converter.
    I would recommend to use a second RS485 (adapter)cable, to prevent cutting off the SCN5 connector.

    SCN5 -> RS485 cable -> female/male RS485 connection -> RS485 cable -> converter

    It would prevent loosing warranty. As well the used colors inside the SCN5 cable could change.
    Do you know the marking of the SNC5 RS485 connector? Is it industrial standard?

    Regards
    Christian
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    It will be better to design adapter cables, which connect to the SCN5' connectors.

    Regards
    Christian
  4. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    Could you please make a closeup picture of both SCN5 connectors. Perhaps we can determine their brand/model.

    Regards
    Christian
  5. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
  6. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

  7. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    Everbody is free to decide the best option for him. But I think 180$ for 4 adapter cables are quite much, if the connectors cost ~1$ each, and the wires not that much more.

    I would tinker them...

    Regards
    Christian
  8. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    I have ordered 12 sets (4 connectors each including crimps) today. I will make 12 adapter cable sets for the community.
    They will be nice and clean with shrink hoses.

    Regards
    Christian
  9. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Montreal/Canada
    Balance:
    - 131Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    Hello! Ego,

    Would you mind to reserve one set for me, please? :hi:

    Do you have any idea how much they will cost in the end?

    Thanks!

    Erick
  10. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Montreal/Canada
    Balance:
    - 131Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    Hi! Ego,

    Not sure you've read this yet.
    I was just wondering if I can count on one of your cable sets?

    Thanks a lot!

    Cheers,

    Erick
  11. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    391Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    I too am about to start down the path of purchasing and interfacing SCN 5's to X-Sim. I will be in need of the cabling solution that you have been discussing here. First of all, are they still available, and secondly, I do not mind spending the extras money for quality and reliability. Is there any advantage to the more costly commercial options? If not, how muich for one of yours?

    Bernard (bvillersjr)
  12. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    The advantage of the commercial ones is, that you dont have the work of tinkering those tiny crimps onto the wires :brows:

    But imho 160Dollars is quite much for a DIY budget, if the individual parts cost less than 10Euro (4 connectors, some wires)
    I have enough connectors to tinker 12 adapter pairs. Just waiting for the pcbs from the etching service. Takes quite long this time :(

    Regards
    Christian
  13. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    391Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    To make sure that I understand correctly, you are providing the entire USB<-->RS485 interface with cabling?

    How much will you be charging for yours once they are ready?

    Also, this may be a little off topic, but I arrived a little late to contribute to the SCN5 effort. However, I would still like to reward the developers for their efforts. I wouldn't have a chance of getting this done without them. Could someone please point me in the right direction.



    Thanks,

    Bernard (bvillersjr)
  14. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    391Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    I would like to hear from anyone who has implemented a fully functional SCN5-based driving simulator or even someone who has not implemented one, but has knowledge of using the SCN5's with X-Sim.

    I am trying to determine which model SCN5 to purchase. They offer six versions ranging from a 50mm to 300mm stroke. However, a 150mm stroke (5.9 inches) is the largest stroke available while maintaining the 400mm / sec speed. Any larger than that and the spoeed drops to between 200 mm / sec and 120-mm / sec.

    Which size / speed combo is recommended fora Frex style driving simulator combined with the X-Sim software?

    Opinions / comments PLEASE.

    Thanks,

    Bernard (bvillersjr)
  15. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    391Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    I've been doing quite a bit of reading here and I'm a little confused about what the best performing USB-->RS485 solution is. It seems that it is NOT the ADP-1 cable from the manufacturer of the SCN5 actuator.

    I am looking for a suitable commercial converter that will offer optimum performance. What do you think of this one. http://www.bb-elec.com/bb-elec/literature/485USBTB-xW_0108ds.pdf. It's $85. Also, if you know of something better please let me know. I expect to have the SCN5's shortly so I'm in a hurry to find the best connection option.

    Regards,

    bvillersjr
  16. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    Hey Bernard,

    we havent finished the testing procedure. Please be a little patient. I will make some converters for you guys. With those converters you can be sure, that they are fast enough, and compatible.
    I will make 4 comport sets, and 4 USB sets.

    I've received the connectors for the SCN5 power supply on friday,
    DSCF2310.JPG

    and I've received a shipping information from Heinz, that he will send the pcbs tomorrow. As well I will purchase the SCN5 RS485 connectors tomorrow, and depending on when the pcbs will arrive, I will probably have some adapter sets finished till weekend. So I think you should save those 170$, as it is quite much money for such cheap converters. The spare parts for it do cost just a fraction.

    I dont have an idea how much I will charge you guys for the adapter sets.
    But I am not in the mood to make money with them.
    Just want to have back the ammout I've paid, plus a mite for the time I am going to spend to make them, plus shipping.

    So, as I've said above, be patient for some days more....

    Regards
    Christian
  17. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    391Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    Thanks for the update! I will wait for one of your USB sets.

    Regards,

    Bernard (bvillersjr)
  18. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    391Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread


    Thanks for the info. I have decided on 150mm for my seat design. How do I obtain X-Sim 2.0.62?

    :sos: Also, has anyone proven that these actuators can handle hours of use (assuming the SimForceGT Seat design)? I'm a little concerned about their speed / thrust curve.

    Also, and this may be off subject, I would like to contribute financially to your efforts. I am not a rich man, but it only seems fair that if I am to partake of your efforts that I should give something in return. Have you considered adding a donations page to the X-Sim website?

    Many thanks,

    Bernard (bvillersjr)
  19. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    422
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    5,003Coins
    Ratings:
    +102 / 3 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    Hi Bernard
    Frex proves the scn5 works and last.
    Only more travel can give wight problems.
    Google with FREX ,and you see it.
    regards Ad
    :hi:
  20. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    Hey Bernard

    The SCN5 will work in the SimforceGT as well as in the Frex.
    Though it works with 100mm ones as well, obviously, I'd recommed 150mm ones for some additional safetyzone.

    The starting post tells us:
    So please help to keep the thread clear. If you have general SCN5 related questions, then open a new thread please. thx


    Regards
    Christian
  21. njracer

    njracer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: SCN5 Hardware Thread

    i just gotta say, sirnoname, your an awesome guy for doing all that you do, i really appreciate it :cheers:

    Dave
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.