1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

SimTools Presets SCN5 (Frex) Dirt Rally, 2 Axis, 5DOF

Discussion in 'Game Engine axes presets' started by T-Man, Aug 22, 2015.

  1. T-Man

    T-Man New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Occupation:
    Telecommunications
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Balance:
    61Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Thought I would share my first Preset I created for this awesome new title Dirt Rally, I spent some time doing each force individually and then slowly adding them all together as one.

    The length of the actuators doesn't matter because SimTools will auto recognize the length of them.

    You can alter these settings in Game Engine to your own taste, I have them quite aggressive as I imagine a rally car would be, and I also use an Oculus DK2. I would appreciate if you would share your changes or provide feedback especially if you have the same or similar type of rig (Frex SimConMotion now converted to Frex SimMotion to work with XSim).

    These settings are made to suit my own Frex rig and its possible, as I have found in the past, you may be required to do some tweaking to match your own needs or possibly change a Direction of a force.

    Motion Forces:
    Sway - 62%
    Surge - 68%
    Heave - 17%
    Pitch - 32%
    Roll - 39%

    *** I know these percentages are quite high when compared to other presets but try first and maybe adjust the Main Level % first ***

    The Preset Includes:
    Dirt Rally_AxesConfig
    DirtRally_AxisAssignments
    DirtRally_MaxMin

    Installation:
    Extract the GameEngine folder to C:\Users\your name\AppData\Local\SimTools\

    SimTools - Profile Editor I set Main Level % between 90 - 95

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2015
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Baptx

    Baptx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Occupation:
    Employé
    Location:
    Haute-Savoie
    Balance:
    378Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    Thank you a lot !
    We should be more likely to share setting for SCN5 :thumbs:thumbs
  4. dance77

    dance77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    241Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    thank you!!
  5. DanBader

    DanBader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    - 20Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    First let me say, thank you. This isn't really a question about the plugin so to speak. Thinking of getting the oculous. With the head tracking ability of the OR, does it make driving sort of jittery? It seems like because of the seat moving and making your head move that MAYBE? it would make those motions way more sensitive than it would be in real life? Or does it feel like it's pretty much spot on? I've thought about this with driving sims for quite sometime. I've had head tracking since it came out and never seemed realistic for driving because of having to look at a screen from a distance. I'm hoping that being in the video{so to speak} that it would make a huge difference. Sorry for the off post but would appreciate any feelings on my question. Please, anyone else with the OR & motion, would appreciate for you to add in as well!

    Thanks
    Dan
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,952
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,425Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,946 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What you are talking about is called motion cancellation, subtracting the motion of the simulator from the HMD view.

    Motion cancellation is not a big deal for motion simulators that use fast motion over small axis movements, I do that with my 3DOF motion simulator and Rift. The issue manifests with large axis movement simulators.

    VectionVR released a free modified LibOVR file that devs could compile into games to allow for motion cancellation with the Rift, but only 2 ever bothered to do so.

    The alternative is to mount the Rift camera on a rig which negates the need for motion cancellation and some members have been experimenting with gyro mounts, as the camera and tracking can be affected by sharp vibrations.
  7. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,363Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    i DO not suggest turning down your Main profile % level too much, Your essentially skewing what #'s the game engine is accepting and overall your removing detail from the data. If your rig is too rough in motion, turn down your %'s and play with your tuning center values, Next would be using the Profiler for specific games/Cars to tune out the aggressive forces. Using the main slider isn't something i recommend.
    • Like Like x 2
  8. SBDESIGN

    SBDESIGN some knowledge

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    director
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    81Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    what speed and acceleration are you using on interface setting's?
  9. long legs

    long legs Perfect Race is a perfect day

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Occupation:
    teacher
    Location:
    catalonia
    Balance:
    192Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, Motion platform
    I use a 17000 for speed and 700 for the acceleration.
  10. moaale

    moaale IAN MRTIN

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Occupation:
    NN
    Location:
    ARGENTINA
    Balance:
    42Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimforceGT
    puede ser que podamos ver un buen video de tu simulador en accion soy fanatico de los simuladores de la empresa china de frex simulator
    me encanta el profecionalismo que le ponen a lo que hacen

    it may be that we can see a good video of your simulator in action I am a fan of the simulators of the Chinese company of frex simulator
    I love the professionalism they put into what they do
  11. Frada

    Frada New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    12Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Hello, why don't you change the type parameters: smothing, dead zone, washout,....
    It helps a lot with vibrations