1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom School Project | PS4 | 2DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Lucas Wollering, Feb 5, 2021.

  1. Lucas Wollering

    Lucas Wollering New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hey guys,

    My name is Lucas. I am 19 years old, come from Germany, am a hobby racer (rallycross) and go to a high school of technology. As a school project, I now set myself the task of building a racing simulator for Playstation4!
    For the beginning in Simracing I bought a cheap simulator scaffold and drove with the Logitech G29. Now I want to build a more stable and movable scaffolding. I'll document the progress of the project here in this thread:


    The Logitech steering wheel, as well as the pedals, will continue to be used for the time being. I take the seat out of my racing car for now, because due to Corona, car racing is currently rarely possible.
    And I opted for an aluminium structure for a lighter, stiffer and more scalable simulator.

    Motion_Sim_erste_Skizze.png Motion_Sim_Bild_1.jpg

    First I made a 3D drawing of the moving part of the simulator, then the angles, as well as the seat and pedal mount made of aluminum and assembled everything. Since the steering wheel requires a larger base, I've made a light and stable plastic plate for this.

    Motion_Sim_Bild_4.jpg Motion_Sim_Bild_5.jpg


    This is just the beginning! I first need to calculate the force the two motors have to apply and then buy all the accessories.

    Submission of the project is 23 March

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2021
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,775
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,899Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Lucas Wollering

    Lucas Wollering New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks! That worked well. I've an option for DC motors with 400 or 500 watts. Need to find a power supply with more than 1000 watts. Are there any or do I have to buy one with 1000? Then I need the motors with 400 watts. I think that they have enough power, but you never know exactly.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,775
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,899Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Christian Doehl

    Christian Doehl Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Germany - Bavaria
    Balance:
    512Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi Lucas,

    I'm Chris (also from Germany) and I am currently doing a similar project than yours. I decided to use HP 1200FP server PSUs as they are able to drive 100Amps at 12V and they are available refurbished for around 30€. Getting everything to work with the PS4 was not that easy, so if you need support, you can also send a PM.

    BR
    Chris
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Lucas Wollering

    Lucas Wollering New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi,
    I bought my DC motors. Found some with 30Nm, 220rpm at 24V and 45W. Don't know why, but they looked to be strong enough as I tested them.

    Can anybody give me advise on what drivers I should take for them?
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2021
  8. Christian Doehl

    Christian Doehl Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Germany - Bavaria
    Balance:
    512Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I realized my rig with ibt2 drivers. I think sabertooth will also be fine but more expensive.

    BR
    Chris
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Lucas Wollering

    Lucas Wollering New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks for your help so far!


    Here's a cardan joint from an old BMW motorcycle:

    Gelenk_vorher.jpg


    With some grinding and welding I repurposed it for the sim:

    Motion_Sim_Gelenk_nachher.jpg


    Now the sim should look like this:

    Gestell_gesamt.jpg


    More updates soon...
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Lucas Wollering

    Lucas Wollering New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hey guys,

    I HAVE A PROBLEM!

    I work with the Arduino Micro and IBT_2 and use SMC3. When I upload, this error occurs in my code:

    SMC3_Fehler.jpg


    This is the entire error code:

    Arduino: 1.8.13 (Windows 10), Board: "Arduino Micro"
    C:\Users\Lucas\Desktop\SimTools\SMC3 v1.0\SMC3\SMC3.ino: In function 'void setPwmFrequency(int, int)':
    SMC3:259:13: error: 'TCCR2B' was not declared in this scope
    TCCR2B = TCCR2B & 0b11111000 | mode;
    ^~~~~~
    C:\Users\Lucas\Desktop\SimTools\SMC3 v1.0\SMC3\SMC3.ino:259:13: note: suggested alternative: 'TCCR0B'
    TCCR2B = TCCR2B & 0b11111000 | mode;
    ^~~~~~
    TCCR0B
    C:\Users\Lucas\Desktop\SimTools\SMC3 v1.0\SMC3\SMC3.ino: In function 'void InitialisePWMTimer2(unsigned int)':
    SMC3:296:5: error: 'TCCR2B' was not declared in this scope
    TCCR2B = TCCR2B & 0b11111000 | Timer2DivideMode;
    ^~~~~~
    C:\Users\Lucas\Desktop\SimTools\SMC3 v1.0\SMC3\SMC3.ino:296:5: note: suggested alternative: 'TCCR0B'
    TCCR2B = TCCR2B & 0b11111000 | Timer2DivideMode;
    ^~~~~~
    TCCR0B
    exit status 1
    'TCCR2B' was not declared in this scope



    I'm not so far with coding of Arduino. But as I understand it correctly, TCCR2B does not exist and I should replace it with TCCR0B. I'm not sure. Can someone help me?
  11. Christian Doehl

    Christian Doehl Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Germany - Bavaria
    Balance:
    512Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi Lukas,

    in my trials I started with an Arduino Mega and also got some coding problems. Better to use the Arduino Uno as SMC3 is designed for it. I think coding of Arduino is connected to the Arduino Hardwareadresses and maybe the Micro is different to the Uno, this was the case for the Mega.

    BR
    Chris
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. Lucas Wollering

    Lucas Wollering New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I thought they were the same... I'll be back on weekend!
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2021
  13. Lucas Wollering

    Lucas Wollering New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thank you Chris, the motors are moving!

    Here's a quick look of what the motors are doing:


    Now it's time to get SimTools running.
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,775
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,899Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Great you got the motors moving :thumbs

    The CTC distance on those levers looks really large, you may need to shorten that back a bit, particularly as it is a full frame rig.

    How are the pots going to mated to the motors?
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Lucas Wollering

    Lucas Wollering New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I also think that it will be a bit too large, but I try. The lengths are 100, 120 and 140mm.

    I've already construct the gears to match:

    Zahnräder1.jpg Zahnräder2.jpg

    They're translating 3 to 1. I will print a mount for the pots with 3d printer in near future.
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2021
  16. Christian Doehl

    Christian Doehl Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Germany - Bavaria
    Balance:
    512Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Great to see your progress. First movement is a Milestone. :thumbs
    I really like your way to mount the gears.
    I agree with noorbeast, the Leverkusen may be to long, shorter CTC distance will be more torque for the motors and woth a full frame rig you won't need this large travel distance.

    BR
    Chris
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,775
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,899Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I think you mean they CTC measurements from the motor shaft are 100, 120 and 140mm, I suspect you will likely find they need to be about half that for adequate torque to drive the rig when fully loaded.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. Lucas Wollering

    Lucas Wollering New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I think you’re all right, especially because of your experience. Just want to try it myself and test the limits. That's why the sim is fully customizable.
  19. Lucas Wollering

    Lucas Wollering New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Printed the pot mounts over night and something went wrong...

    991CD629-8127-4B7C-8656-791EE3763DE9.jpeg

    But for testing it works fine. Looks good and stable:

    848F48AC-5431-4662-845B-5D538DA650C4.jpeg EC6773D7-717F-43D5-80B4-A5E376F16F2C.jpeg 7C0828AD-8158-433A-9FB4-D665146D5DE0.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    576Coins
    Ratings:
    +170 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  21. Lucas Wollering

    Lucas Wollering New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hey guys,

    The simulator works with SimTools and PC, now I need your help and tips to connect my ps4 to SimTools.
    I installed the PC2 plugin from @vthinsel and now I can't get any further. I would be pleased to receive an answer:)

    BR
    Lucas