1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

RTX 3080 Release

Discussion in 'Breaking News' started by Hobbs77, Sep 17, 2020.

  1. Hobbs77

    Hobbs77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Anyone here lucky enough to buy a RTX 3080 card today? I couldn't find it anywhere that it wasn't already sold out. I had on several sites to notify me when available but never got a notice from any of them except Nvidia which came in 1:15 after the cards went live, thanks Nvidia!:(
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. BigAustin

    BigAustin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    81Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    ordered from overclockers at 5.30pm. stock due 21st Sept.
    I asked my brother to order one at 2pm release time but various sites he was looking at crashed or were very slow. and the prices were going up every few minutes too.
  4. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    233Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I don't want a 3080. I consider to wait for a 3080 TI/super, or maybe around christmas i buy a 3090, when i get impatient again. :D But in any case a quiet custom card.
  5. Hobbs77

    Hobbs77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Looks like most everyone got beaten by the bots.....hopefully there'll be plenty to go around soon!
  6. janio

    janio janio from brazil

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    state employee
    Location:
    belo horizonte
    Balance:
    133Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    if this is difficult for you, here in Brazil it is much worse, i believe i will only get it next year, even if my g2 reverb arrives this year yet, i will have to push it with my 2080 ti for now and see how it goes.
  7. Hobbs77

    Hobbs77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Your 2080 ti will definitely do a better job with the G2 then my 2070 super. But either way....can't wait for that G2 to get here!
  8. lttjun

    lttjun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    there are many Profiteer hold the 3080, i think it 's hard to get one befor 2021
  9. Hobbs77

    Hobbs77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Hopefully, most people will stay away from buying from them.
  10. Lesmore222

    Lesmore222 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    205Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Here is a quote from an article I read today regarding the lack of ability for most of us to get the 3080 at a reasonable price point....."Nvidia has promised sweeping changes to its webstore to combat bots and those wishing to resell cards for exorbitant prices" So I guess things are looking better for the future ;).
  11. Hobbs77

    Hobbs77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
  12. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    200Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    yup still waiting for something to become avalible. but dry as a barrel in the hot sun.
  13. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    200Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    still wondering if my rtx 2070 super can run the new hp reverb coming out?
  14. janio

    janio janio from brazil

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    state employee
    Location:
    belo horizonte
    Balance:
    133Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    for you to know, I set the resolution of the hp reverb on my 280 ti and runs my games satisfactorily, but I see that it is at the limit, so I believe that its 2070 will run but with lower quality.
    hug.
  15. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    109
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Im running my Reverb G2 at 35% resolution on my gtx 1070. I really need to get my hands on a new gpu
  16. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    200Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    just curious, what CPU are you running with?
  17. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    200Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    im planning on the same, but i have a 4790k I7 cpu . im running with a RTX 2070 super but my rig doesnt run so well with my rift CV1.
  18. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    109
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    AMD 3700x. I previously had an intel 2500k overclocked to 5ghz. This 3700x performs much much better in VR.

    My system ran pretty well with the Rift S. No super sampling or anything but it did the job
  19. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    200Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    That a photo of your rig? Oh thats nice. Is it all DIY?
  20. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    200Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I really should take some photos of my rig and upload them to here.
  21. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    200Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    My rig is way to big and takes half my garage.