1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom **RIP** - 6DOF project using 12v DC Motors, Sabertooth 2x60's (was MM's) and Arduinos + OSW

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,999
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,498Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thank you speedy but I am too stupid to build such a controller. Perhaps @SilentChill would be able to solder such a monster.
    • Funny Funny x 2
  2. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,586Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,339 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I really cant be arsed to make them lol :D I am way to lazy for that !!

    edit: @speedy I have priced up all the compnents needed for your DIY HBridges and its comes to around £100 for 6 !! Thats good and a serious powerful bit of kit. So if my replacement MM's are bad then I think I will order all the stuff and make my own, then at least I have only myself to blame if they dont work :)
    • Like Like x 3
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2015
  3. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @SilentChill ...
    Just start with testing the new MM's this time ...
    so you have the chance to be refund if they are DOA .

    Android-KitKat-fingers-crossed.jpg

    :grin:grin:grin
    • Agree Agree x 2
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2015
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,586Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,339 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ok so 4 more MM's landed today so I gave them a quick test see if they work ..................... and the results are well 100% faulty. Not bad eh grrrrrrrrrrrrr

    #1 Both sides do not output in reverse
    #2 A2 has no output in reverse
    #3 A2 + B2 are shorting internally no output at all
    #4 B2 is only outputting at half or less what it should be.

    I think buying any of these from China is a bad idea now lol, thats 16 out of 16 that dont work properly or dont work at all. Absolutley shocking.

    Hopefully I will get a quick refund on the last 4 I bought Im still fighting to get something from the other 12.

    That DIY HBridge looking more and more like a reality.

    @SeatTime have you tested your MM's with a motor or just the voltages. 3 of these I got were out putting 12.15 on every output it wasnt until I put the motor on that they all failed in different ways.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,281
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,423Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,765 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Seems there is a serious lack of quality control...it is more like a lucky dip than consumer grade electronics!
    • Agree Agree x 2
  6. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,586Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,339 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes @noorbeast it's ridiculous how so many can be faulty.

    I think I won't ever get 12 working ones lol. :(
  7. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,999
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,498Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    That is not awesome...unbelievable. In my case 2 of 6 MMs have been faulty, unimaginable what happens if you have only ordered 4 and all are sh**. IMO (and I think I am right here) not all dealers sell the same sh**. Meaning there are some dealers we should ask (warn) before or send them an email and we will wait who gives us the best (conditions and hopefully working) MMs.
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2015
  8. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,948Coins
    Ratings:
    +607 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Holy Jesus Christ! 6 out of 6. Did you run over a black cat that was under a ladder or did you go through a mirror factory and break everything there? Never heard of such bad luck.
    • Funny Funny x 4
  9. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,586Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,339 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hahaha, no it was 4 out of 4 but in total now its 16 out of 16 lol I think it's just very poor chips on them
  10. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,586Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,339 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @Pit I think they must be all coming from the same place or using the the same batch of chips. the boards are perfectly made its juts the chips which are poor.

    I have 15 more on order will have to see how they work out. I have bought all from different sellers so looks like they are all bad.
    • Informative Informative x 2
  11. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,591Coins
    Ratings:
    +493 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  12. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,449
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,200Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,732 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    This is not sounding good:(.
    No have not hooked them up to a motor yet (been busy fixing a toilet:rolleyes:), I although have exercise them with the pot for changes in direction. Will see if I can connect a motor up to them today.
  13. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,586Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,339 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @SeatTime hope they are all ok for you.

    I have to make videos now of each one failing to get my money back from aliexpress ..............................
  14. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,449
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,200Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,732 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    So finished test the 7 'working' MMs and 4 of these now show up as faulty Ie one chip does not drive in both direction. What is interesting is if I had just wired them up as per the schematic you would never had known, as wired together they actually will drive a motor in both directions. Interesting was that one of the MMs that I was using for testing was also faulty - never knew as it 'seemed' to worked fine wired up. So out of the 10 I have at the moment only 3 work..:mad:. I'm really am going to have to re-assess using MMs:think .
    • Agree Agree x 2
  15. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,586Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,339 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Oh shit................

    I am thinking the same :(

    I think once my next batch arrives and they are all faulty, I will make my own. The only ones which work are the ones i bought in the UK for £16 each all the chinese ones are faulty. Unreal

    The onese which i have that work have the green LED for motror direction all the ones with the orange LED's are faulty which are chinese
  16. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    OMG ... that is a very bad news @SilentChill & @SeatTime ...
    leaving a bad feedback is not enough for these guys even if they refunded you ...
    They are even using your time to make them a video to proof their F**ked up products ...WTF :mad: .


    I had a lot of errors earlier with my HPMC H-bridge due to the Fake Chinese IRF3205 MOSFET's that they aren't up to what the datasheet says ... burning my fingers some time or blowing in my face .

    Until I've learned my lesson ... they are lower MOSFET's numbers with the higher IRF3205 label on them .

    I'm ordering my electronics now directly from Farnell authorized distributor GS Components Egypt as trusted source for quality electronics parts .

    I suggest deleting China from the ordering map :blush ... shipping and time worth a lot of money .
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2015
  17. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,586Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,339 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Here's the video proof I had to send to try and get my money back. FAULTY FAULTY FAULTY FAULTY !!!! :mad::mad::mad::mad:

    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  18. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Good job @SilentChill ... one little advice ... just prepare another video with the working MM's "Green Leds " so to proof that the Arduino code and everything else is working that will prevent them to fiddle with you .
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,586Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,339 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks @speedy I will do then see what their response is hopefully they will just refund.
  20. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,999
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,498Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    So bad news at least... we have to find alternatives at low cost
    if they do not give a refund we should make the disaster public. That said, we will warn everybody to buy any units from these resellers. BTW IMO we should do so in any case of refund...
    • Agree Agree x 2