1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom **RIP** - 6DOF project using 12v DC Motors, Sabertooth 2x60's (was MM's) and Arduinos + OSW

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    They are 15:1 @BlazinH.
  2. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,372
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,677 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Just to check, did you check all your MMs separately before now? DOA, or did they fail during use? I'm certainly going to check all mine before they are wired in place. Have found one DOA so far.
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,815
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    103,960Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,623 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I was a bit stupid and wired everything up without checking. I have learnt a big lesson here to check before.

    When I turned them all on with no motors connected they all turned on fine no issues it was as soon as I connected motors 4 tripped out straight away.

    I have one that is splitting the positive and negative on one half of the mm causing an instant short with the other side of the mm. Some show voltage output but as soon as you connect the motor it just drops the voltage to zero. Some a1 a2 b2 work but connect b1 and it shorts out or it turns the motor very slowly. All different combinations of problems lol

    Lots and lots of different issues all down to the vhsp30 chip or whatever it's called.

    Cheap chinese crap unfortunately you get what you pay for. And I left good feedback before I checked them so trying to get a refund or replacements is being difficult to say the least.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,372
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,677 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I used a oscilloscope on the output of a suitably configured ARD/MM to test them. From @SilentChill results will also make sure to test them individually on a load (likely just use a free running spare motor). I will post up my results when finished.
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. Atlas974

    Atlas974 old school

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    Physics chemestry
    Location:
    Reunion island
    Balance:
    273Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Your sim is really cool looking, good luck with the part your looking for, regenerative current can be dangerous that's sure......
    • Like Like x 1
  7. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ok I finally give up with these MM's they are all shite . Think I will just have to order more as the seller is messing me around saying he has no stock even though it says they have 952 in stock.

    Maybe a few weeks till I get it sorted :(
  8. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,999
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,416Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    From which store you did buy the MMs? I am sorry that you have so many issues.
  9. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,081
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,020Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,747 / 30 / -1
    I wish you the best of luck with those @silentchill!;) I really hope my opinion is wrong (it wouldn’t be the first time:p) but I think you are going to have many issues getting those to work well with that ratio. My belief is that you will either need quite a bit more power or a higher ratio gearbox when under full load. Have you tested the torque these put out using your current levers length so calculations could be done to verify validity?
  10. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,526Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    @SilentChill sorry to read about all the problems with the MMs.

    Is it possible to use Sabertooth instead? They seem to be more reliable.
  11. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @BlazinH my very technical torque test was me standing on the lever with one foot (all my weight);whilst the motor was doing the sine motion and it worked ok .

    My MM's are the problem and I'm pretty sure it will work once I have dual MM's per motor. Especially with 6 motors taking the weight of it all
    • Agree Agree x 2
  12. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @Leo Burton the main issue is the cost and that I have no experience with them either. I'm very confident using Ards and MM's I know what I'm doing I think lol
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,526Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    @SilentChill , I totally understand. Cost and stick with what you know.

    How much are the MM's?

    I think 1 x Sabertooth module can run two motors (depending on specs etc..) So you would only need three.
    But you need 2 x MM for each motor with those? Worth looking into cost perhaps?

    Might be worth sending Dimension Engineering an email to ask about compatibility. They look a look easier to setup than the MMs as well.

    Just a suggestion, if the next batch of MMs also arrive faulty.
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Well I can get 12 MM's for the price of 1 sabertooth which is a massive difference and the MM's if they actually work properly can handle a lot more power :)
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,526Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Wow, yes that is quite a difference in price!
  16. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,999
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,416Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    ...even if some samples will be D.O.A
  17. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @Pit I bought the MM's on Aliexpress sold by Shenzen Yida Technology Co. and the seller for them is Jeney Gao

    I have 19 more coming so will have to see how they do i spent a little more with someone with more orders so will have to see how it goes :)
  18. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,081
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,020Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,747 / 30 / -1
    The biggest difference between MM’s and sabertooths is the MM’s are h-bridges only while the sabertooths are microcontrollers with h-bridges on them. MM’s can only be controlled with a varying PWM signal whilst sabertooths are controlled via other methods. Below are the key talking points for the sabertooths (2x60).
    Yes, they could be considered pricey compared to MM’s. But for me, the reason I use them is to avoid this:
    But I guess as long as you are able stay within the “sweet spot” on the MM’s you are good to go!

    Btw, one sabertooth can control two motors speed and direction using simple serial mode with only one line of code on an arduino; Serial.write(byte). If a Mega is used, it has 4 UART’s. So one can be used for communications with your PC leaving three others free to control up to three sabertooths and 6 motors.
    • Informative Informative x 3
  19. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,999
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,416Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I agree with @BlazinH. The situation is a mess. We could use the MMs as a cheap and versatile motor driver but if so many are faulty I think I will switch to the Sabertooth next time. In your case @SilentChill 3 Sabertooth 2 x 32 should be enough strong to power your motors. Three of them cost totally $375 instead of $120 using MMs. If you add all the faulty ones you spent more than 200 bucks. The Sabertooth is way more expensive but less worry for sure and Dimension Engineering offers a great warranty :

    "Dimension Engineering offers a full 1 year manufacturer's warranty. If any product fails within one year of the purchase date we will replace the product at no charge. After 1 year we will either repair the item or the item can be replaced for 50% of the retail cost."
  20. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,592Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,266 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1