1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom **RIP** - 6DOF project using 12v DC Motors, Sabertooth 2x60's (was MM's) and Arduinos + OSW

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,372
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,677 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Love the 3d print stuff :thumbs, always interesting to see the different solutions to the same problem depending on what equipment you may have at hand. Yea working with carbon fibre can be a challenge, with curves and the slight rigidity of carbon cloth it wants to pull away from the job, a vacuum system really helps.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,385Coins
    Ratings:
    +837 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Mate that is some decent work you have done there good buddy , very nicely done , Great photos and workmanship , Love the Ballscrew Carrier design .. nice thinking by the way , Well Done @SilentChill quality stuff that man . :)
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Always wanted a Handbrake I'm waiting for bits for the actuators, so I printed one off thinguniverse. Not as good as most on here but it will do for me :)
    upload_2016-10-13_17-30-19.png upload_2016-10-13_17-31-2.png
    • Like Like x 4
  4. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,385Coins
    Ratings:
    +837 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    That 3D printer has paid for itself and then some , another example of making the most out of our boys toys , Very nicely done , you def are not hanging about .. im seeing threaded rod and 3d Printing combined with a mega dose of inspiriation = good stuff magic :)
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Nearly there, room us an absolute shit tip lol :D

    Leaving old motors there until I know this works ;)

    1476997729585783827917.jpg
    • Like Like x 9
  6. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,385Coins
    Ratings:
    +837 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Safe to say mate your not hanging around , lol you weren't kidding about possible motion this weekend .. Niiiiiccccce :) and once again innovative take on solution to UJ anchor ....Yes I def like that method Great stuff @SilentChill
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  7. cfischer

    cfischer Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Colorado
    Balance:
    779Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    So awesome to watch your progress. Cant wait to hear your reaction to the new actuators!
    • Like Like x 1
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @wannabeaflyer2 think I may need to extend my top platform as the angle is too little. I will see once I get it all sorted.

    Think my head may touch the ceiling also :rolleyes: got 350mm range and 350mm clearance above the seat and my head is a bit above the top of the seat lol DOH !!
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  9. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,372
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,677 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Looking great :thumbs, cannot wait to see it in action. You mustn't sleep :).
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Nathan Older

    Nathan Older Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    174Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Just been reading through the tread. A very long read I have to say.

    But mostly I must say , well done! great work! and very well documented.
    As others have said, cant wait to see this in action!
    • Like Like x 1
  11. yumianhuli1

    yumianhuli1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    singapore
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hello,did you use stepper motors before?
    And what kind of motors which you called six bad boys?
    Best Regards!
  12. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,372
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,677 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Its all in this thread, you just need to look ;).
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,385Coins
    Ratings:
    +837 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @SilentChill my system just had hour of running and yook a battering but held up well , just thought I give you the heads up for lessons learnt, seeing as your gonna be at this point very soon knowing your work rate ,
    Actuators seem more than man enough to chuck me around nicely
    double check the coupler screws to make sure they are well secured against motor and actuator shafts .
    Check for Belt alignment ref POT gearing
    Be aware that too much belt tension can damage the pot .
    Under extreme .
    Limit switches should be mounted so that even if the actuator overruns it will remain triggered .
    KEEP FINGERS AWAY form pinch points when actuators are powered ( they move bloody quickly )
    Limit actuator travel during initial testing to minimise mechanical clash in the event of and issue..
    on a less doom monger note ... your gnona be well pleased when these babies lift you for the 1st time . lol
    oh oh and the current consumption according to my in line amp meter blips at 75 - 90 amps for all 6 motors combined is when the unit is motoring along with my 95Kgs of lard sitting in the seat and add another 25 for seat frame and perihperals ish .. so dependant on the shared actuator load it seems the rig is maxing and circa 15 -25 amps per motor only for momentary peaks .. my sabertooths are not even warm and the motor casing does not seem much above ambient no heat per say form the cables and the only annoying thing bearing in mind im deaf is the fan noise LOL .. now got any forced cooling fitted yet but things looking good even at this stage .. will copy this to my post but just wanted to pass on my short term observations ...
    • Informative Informative x 2
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hiya @wannabeaflyer2 I have been very busy getting mine moving should have a video later today ;)

    thanks for the tips I will keep them in mind especially the limit switches, wont say what I have done accidentally but its put me back a bit in time having to sort it lol DOH !!! :D

    Had to extend the platform quite a bit to get the right angles but all looking good I hope.
  15. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @wannabeaflyer2 and @SeatTime , got my rig all built and moving but with some minor issues. I keep tripping the PSU's out all the time, do either of you use SMC3 and if you do could you share a screen grab of your settings, i'm at work now but anytime today would be nice ;) ?? Would much appreciate it so I can compare what I have got on mine. Seems any power above around 150 will trip the PSU's on fast movement.
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,372
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,677 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I don't run SMC3 now - so unfortunately no screen shot, but I did. Remember running standard SMC3 setup parameters with PWMmax stopping around 200 with no problems. FI, @wannabeaflyer2 also uses the AMC1280 card as well.
  17. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,372
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,677 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    As a comparison on my AMC1280 settings, my online motor speed is set at 242 out of a possible 255. So I'm driving it pretty hard. I use 6 x 40amp 12VDC Led power supplies (originally had 5 of these that ran my old sim) - purchased new years ago. I have found these to be basically bullet proof. Never needed to run them in parallel like you do.
  18. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,542
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,300 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Bugger lol :D

    Hmm no idea why its tripping as I can move the ballscrews easily enough by hand so its not drawing too much power, I have put the clamp meter on and its not going above about 25 amps.

    Will have to investigate more , I have tried all the PSU's in parallel and also individually but no go. Ahh well .....
  19. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,372
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,677 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Is it fast movement under a good load, or just fast movement under the weight of the rig itself? I would try Big electro capacitors close as you can to the Driver input power terminals, or even a small lead cell battery to try and smooth out the load on the power supply. The protection system on some computer power supplies can be quite sensitive to the spikes produced by inductive loads.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  20. Johan Soegiharto

    Johan Soegiharto New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Balance:
    176Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi @SilentChill, could you give the specification of your motor? I would like to know what kind of motor that you used (such as power, voltage, torque, etc). Thank you in advance.