1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom **RIP** - 6DOF project using 12v DC Motors, Sabertooth 2x60's (was MM's) and Arduinos + OSW

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,981
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,684 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just the motor would make a lot more sense, do you have a link to the motor specifications?
  2. Jamburglar

    Jamburglar Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Occupation:
    Controls Engineer / Software Engineer
    Location:
    Michigan
    Balance:
    149Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    It's a internal motor made at work. I need to dig up the specs. It's part of a column Electric power steering unit. The gearing isn't part of the normal unit. That was scrap for some other projects. Sorry for my ignorance. Ive always struggled with motors. Still learning. :)
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Patric

    Patric Too poor to buy a plane.

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Occupation:
    Aerospace Engineering
    Location:
    Munich
    Balance:
    190Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hey Craig,
    would you be willing to share your initial sketchup model? I'd like to write a new plugin for the Flightgear flight sim and need a decent 6DOF visualization.
    Cheers Patric
  4. MagicEdge

    MagicEdge Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    114
    Occupation:
    Aircraft Technician
    Location:
    Justin' TX USA
    Balance:
    1,155Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Craig, Thank you for time study of center of rotation. Clearly seen now for design of platform. trongr? to be commended.
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,548
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,490Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,318 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @SeatTime to be commended for his excellent work and me being able to copy him ;) I couldn't visualise this without.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. loco_339

    loco_339 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Belgium
    Balance:
    101Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @SilentChill , big up for your massive 6DOF project. Impressive. Maybe a source of inspiration for later projects!
    • Like Like x 1
  7. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    279Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    This is serious Sh#$@^T you build man, wow i'm impressed.
    No half work, great gear, specialy with the VR set.
    Don't you getting nauseous using the forces of your rig and the use of a VR set? :confused:
    anyway great stuff :thumbs
  8. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,057Coins
    Ratings:
    +996 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    It works the opposite way: motion helps in tricking the brain in believing that what the eyes see is real and add to the immersion.
    I get nausea if I use VR without motion.
    The more accurate is the motion the better the experience.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  9. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,444Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hey @SilentChill, so your motors draw 13.5A according to the spec, Why 2 MMs per motor?

    Also what guage wire are you using. Thanks
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2016
  10. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,548
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,490Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,318 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I just over powered it so it just generates less heat and does not have to work as hard. The motors are rated at 13.5amps but it is easily pulling 20amps+ constantly, that's why I have had to drill holes and put fans on my motors and also use the gas struts as they would just overheat.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,444Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks @SilentChill, one last thing. Your power supplies, do they have any heat sinks on them underneath those blue LED fans? Is that the only way to cool them?
  12. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,548
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,490Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,318 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The psu's have 2 fans 1 blowing air in and 1 sucking the air out seems to do the trick nicely they never get hot.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,444Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Did you have to drill the holes yourself?
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,548
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,490Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,318 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yeas lots of them ;)
  15. phisado

    phisado New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    bangkok
    Balance:
    249Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
  16. GusBiz

    GusBiz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Occupation:
    Sales IT
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    438Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thank you for the inspiration it was your video on youtube that inspired me to begin the 6DOF element of my simulator.

    Did you consider doing the structure in metal?
    • Like Like x 1
  17. lrogerorrit

    lrogerorrit New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Barcelona Spain
    Balance:
    102Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    @SilentChill Amazing work :thumbs . Im finishing year 10 (school) and I've decided to do a motion simulator like yours. I have a question, how many gas springs do you use for each motor. Where do you put them, are they attached to the motors - platform? Thanks
    • Like Like x 1
  18. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,548
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,490Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,318 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Pictures are in the thread somewhere
  19. lrogerorrit

    lrogerorrit New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Barcelona Spain
    Balance:
    102Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    @SilentChill Yes, Yes I saw them but I still have those doubts, thats why I asked.
    Thanks
  20. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,548
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,490Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,318 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I just use 3 struts, 1 at each corner between the arms