1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom **RIP** - 6DOF project using 12v DC Motors, Sabertooth 2x60's (was MM's) and Arduinos + OSW

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,935
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,546Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,824 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I agree Pit.

    But I really have to ask myself; when did I become such a snob to say "merely a G27" lol :grin I used to drool over owning one someday, now I can't imagine using one. :blush (not to say that I do not still drool, but I am taking medication and therapy for that issue)
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  2. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,877Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,388 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @Pit maybe one day ............. ;)
  3. MagicEdge

    MagicEdge Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    111
    Occupation:
    Aircraft Technician
    Location:
    Justin' TX USA
    Balance:
    1,213Coins
    Ratings:
    +84 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Silent,
    Thanks for updates and your my hero! CNC table build slowing down simulators. Be back Tuesday to make progress!
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2015
  4. mrbeginner

    mrbeginner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    What ever come in my way
    Location:
    Finland Niinisalo
    Balance:
    20Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1 / -0
    Hi! Nice to see that project is still in prosess and you still upgrade it. How much those gas struts help and have you try is those get any hot?
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,877Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,388 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @mrbeginner no heat at all the motors now barely get luke warm. The gas struts were 6 for £20 at my local scrap yard. Awesome addon to the sim its great now I dont have to worry about heat I played for hours straight and all is good :D

    And if I get a heavy friend round I can just add another strut to help with the weight
    • Like Like x 2
  6. mrbeginner

    mrbeginner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    What ever come in my way
    Location:
    Finland Niinisalo
    Balance:
    20Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1 / -0
    Good to know if some day 6dof is in my home too. Now we just wait how long lifespan they have.
  7. paulg100

    paulg100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Balance:
    1,330Coins
    Ratings:
    +90 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    i finally bit the bullet and upgraded my from fanatec shifter (even worse than the g27 one) to a thurstmaster th8 model. Honestly cant fault it and would definitely recommend, best shifter ive ever had by far,
    and dosent break the bank.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,877Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,388 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I don't crash !!! Had an awesome few hours tonight great rallying, getting to grips with it now I'm more time to play rather than tweak and fix the damn thing !!

    • Winner Winner x 11
    • Like Like x 7
  9. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,724Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    where is the Awesome rating guys ? :grin
    11.jpg
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2015
  10. Rocket man

    Rocket man Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Wow!! very nice!!!!
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Bruce Brown

    Bruce Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Occupation:
    CAD mechanical designer
    Location:
    Montclair, New Jersey - USA
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello SilentChill. How did you interface your SketchUp CAD model with SimTools?
  12. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,798Coins
    Ratings:
    +893 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Craig . gotta ask :) , you mentioned gas struts to assist the motors ? can you show a pic or quick sketch as to where they are fitted in your system , Could not see them in any pics / Vids I have looked at , and seems anything that would ease actuator load cant be a bad thing in our projects :) Got My system running again so lots of fine tuning coming up just to get the basics right
    • Like Like x 1
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,823
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,607Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,232 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. Bruce Brown

    Bruce Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Occupation:
    CAD mechanical designer
    Location:
    Montclair, New Jersey - USA
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  15. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,877Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,388 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Winner Winner x 1
  16. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,798Coins
    Ratings:
    +893 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Craig much appreciated good buddy . My sim is up and running again ( major relief) so gonna try some load testing tomorrow (2 bags of sand in the race seat ) , hope the issue with intermittent control errors have reduced or better still gone (dreaming I know LOL) cheers as all ideas help one way or another .. have to ask again though ,can you manually backdrive your units when the power is disconnected or is the reduction good enough to self lock / hold position without power?
    • Like Like x 1
  17. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,877Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,388 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Good news cant wait to see videos of it up and running @wannabeaflyer2 :)

    There is no hold on my motors , when I turn the power off it the gas struts raises up to the top . Before it just use to drop down to the bottom.
  18. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,877Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,388 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    have you created a preset and the saved it ??
  19. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,798Coins
    Ratings:
    +893 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Craig thanks for the info , wow those gas struts must be the business , I racking my brains to know how you connected them on a 6dof platform . Nicely done .. Im using Ians BFF at the moment so don't have sim tool Presets as yet, But if this next round of trials does not come good then I may reconfigure the system to run using simtools to emulate your setup seeing as how your getting great results and demonstrated a working system . Cheers
    • Like Like x 1
  20. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,724Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    • Like Like x 1