1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

RFR steering wheel - direct drive by RacingMat

Discussion in 'Direct Drive Wheels' started by RacingMat, Feb 7, 2015.

  1. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,045
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,701Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,945 / 17 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Nice! what is the printer's name?
  2. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,825Coins
    Ratings:
    +597 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Lol...right now its POS because the firmware is jacked up lol. Im working to get it fixed.
  3. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,825Coins
    Ratings:
    +597 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Sending that thing back. Its a pain in the arse.

    So i ordered this...

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. telfel

    telfel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Balance:
    4,729Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 3 / -0
  5. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,045
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,701Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,945 / 17 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @telfel : I know that STM32F401 does not work
    and that only STM32F407 works

    Nucleo is STM32F401 and STM32F411 I bet it would not work... but only MMos coudl answer to you
    Why are you looking at this references? Do you have one? Are they much cheaper?
  6. telfel

    telfel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Balance:
    4,729Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 3 / -0
  7. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,045
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,701Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,945 / 17 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi!

    The driver you linked cost 300$... the IONI from Granite Device will be much more cheaper!

    About motor, the torque 20N.m is fine.
    You have to check the inertia: if it's over MIGE's, it's not worthy... I haven't see this information on http://www.leadshine.com

    452071MIGE130STcaractristiques.png
  8. ericRacer

    ericRacer You get old because you stop playing ! Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Occupation:
    Pilot
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Balance:
    14Coins
    Ratings:
    +142 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    @RacingMat
    Very good idea to put a tutorial here to benefit more people.
    Can you help me how to use the API BBerger. Since I have my DD servo wheel I find the FFB of AC a bit unrealistic (spring effect too strong) and I think the BBerger API uses telemetry and should be more realistic.

    I wonder if I need to change the firmware of my discovery ?
    I also know that I need to add a plugin.
    Does it only works with argon or it works with VSD-Xe too ?

    thank you
    Eric



    http://www.assettocorsa.net/forum/index.php?threads/self-aligning-torque-sat-why-so-high.19485/
  9. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,045
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,701Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,945 / 17 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello @ericRacer

    As I have no experience about BBerger API, I cannot advise you... sorry

    Argon and VSD are only the driver which drives the motor: the API deals with the USB board. It should work in both setups.

    You should ask him on his dedicated topic: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/posts/69321/
  10. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,825Coins
    Ratings:
    +597 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. Bobsyouruncle187

    Bobsyouruncle187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SCN6
    Any idea if the pro is better suited or the standard ioni is enough? @shannonb1
  12. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,825Coins
    Ratings:
    +597 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Not certain. But I would go pro for the resolution and the encoder rate. The indi project will get you the pro for less then the standard. I think the standard is good for CNC milling but not an expert.

    comparison
    http://granitedevices.com/wiki/IONI_vs_IONI_Pro

    FeatureIONIIONI Pro
    Max encoder count rate0-4 MHz0-18 MHz
    Encoder resolution100-65535 P/R100-15000000 P/R
    Pulse/dir setpoint frequency0-4 MHz0-8 MHz
    Quadrature setpoint frequency0-1 MHz0-2 MHz
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Bobsyouruncle187

    Bobsyouruncle187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SCN6
    Thanks, took the safe option and went for the pro.
  14. ericRacer

    ericRacer You get old because you stop playing ! Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Occupation:
    Pilot
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Balance:
    14Coins
    Ratings:
    +142 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
  15. slingshot

    slingshot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    419Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Hi Racing Mat,
    I have been following this project on iRacing with the Argon.
    I have just made a deal for a VSD-E and I already have the small mige and disco.
    Is your wiring diagram between the VSD-E and the Disco for the same disco that I have attached a pic?

    Also the breakout board that you have on the 25 pin connector. Where did you purchase that?

    Thanks,
    Joe

    Attached Files:

  16. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,045
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,701Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,945 / 17 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @slingshot you bought a Disco
    (I recommand a Core because it's simplier: only 1 cable)

    but Disco is fine and here is wiring diagram!

    494916MosFFBVSD.png
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  17. slingshot

    slingshot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    419Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Hi RacingMat,

    Yes I already had bought the Disco for the Argon or the IONI.
    The VSD-e control project ended up happening before the others!

    Thanks for your quick response!
    Joe
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,045
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,701Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,945 / 17 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello!

    yes, pinout is different but pins serve the same function

    disco.jpg Core407V.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. Rkulp89

    Rkulp89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    174Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Does the servo motor require 220VAC? If so, what if any options are available for 120VAC?
  20. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,045
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,701Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,945 / 17 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The servo motors require tri-phases power supply.
    This is given by the driver:
    - VSD or IONI
    The driver itself is supplied in 48v DC
    - argon (in 230v)

    If you choose IONI you have to find a 120v PSU. It should be the cheapest.
    If you want to go argon way, maybe check in its spécifications if it can be supplied in 120v

    Yours
    Mat