1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

RFR steering wheel - direct drive by RacingMat

Discussion in 'Direct Drive Wheels' started by RacingMat, Feb 7, 2015.

  1. abs

    abs Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    318
    Occupation:
    consultant
    Location:
    Montreal
    Balance:
    634Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    awesome tuto racingmat. I am on the second batch of the accuforce (unfortunatly or maybe not... ) :)
  2. kopper

    kopper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas
    Balance:
    3,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    Man, there is a LOT of terminology in this thread that I completely do not understand. Something tells me I may someday though since cool projects like this are like crack to me. Let me know when you guys get it all figured out - haha!
  3. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,369Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  4. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    looks like the IONO will be around 200 USD....looks like a PIC-E board....do you know @RacingMat if its supposed to have something it plugs into? Im trying to decide on the IONI for the VSD-E. IONI is less expensive but looks to need more bits to put it all together....Im also leaning towards the tutorials...im good with pictures and instructions....and I know the IONI wont have much of that for a while.
  5. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,369Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Connector is standard PCI-E 8X ;)

    Yes of course, no tutorial on Ioni yet...
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +380 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    But where do you connect the motor? From the picture of IONI it seems it doesn't have any connectors?

    [​IMG]

    It looks to me one will need that IONICUBE motherboard too, with connectors for motors and connect to PC.. Using only one board as one axis (one motor) to control?

    [​IMG]
  7. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Right, that does 4 though. I didnt know if I could just use the pc or would need a brekout board like the one above...then Im thinking about how you would send power to this thing,..woudl I need wires hanging out the back of my pc?
  8. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,369Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I think you should avoid to use this into a computer...

    Use it with a socket: you gather some pins for power supply and use some other pins to encoder reading and communication with Disco or Core.
    Just like VSD
  9. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    The only pics I see are those on the board that would fit in the pci slot....doesnt feel like a good solution to get stable power in. I think I am back to leaning against the Argon.....just looked at the schematics...o crap....im scared im going to blow up something expensive
  10. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Does this require a 220 volt outlet?
  11. Bobsyouruncle187

    Bobsyouruncle187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    12Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SCN6
    @RacingMat

    Firstly, thank you and the whole sim community for the wealth of information you guys have provided! Can't wait to jump in and build.

    Would I be correct in understanding that -
    The STM board CORE407V is used to directly wire up buttons too - so in essence a DIY shifter and pedal (mixture of buttons and pots) could all be hooked to this board along with the servo driver.

    Thanks again! (and the rest of you guys!)
    • Like Like x 1
  12. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,369Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Bobsyouruncle187
    yep! you can wire pedals, shifter and button box with the disco or core :)

    shifter in H mode is possible with the firmware as it uses 2 pots.



    967296branchementshifterMMos.png

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  13. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,369Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    news on Granite Device Facebook :
    The final IONI drives are here and alive! Sales can begin the next week. Stay tuned for introductory IONI Pro campaign!
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I grew impatient and figure there will be time needed for configurations and firmware so I just bought the Argon. All Parts should be here by next week.....did I really just Pay this much for a FFB WHeel?.....yup....I really hope its worth the hype...I believe! I believe!
    • Like Like x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  15. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @shannonb1 my optimistic button should be not negative the direct drive wheel is on my whish and I hope to see you succeed at least.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Swinny290925

    Swinny290925 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Uk
    Balance:
    7Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    thankyou very much for posting this,a new project me thinks :)
  17. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,369Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Do you make any difference between a toy and a car?
    ;)
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Swinny290925

    Swinny290925 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Uk
    Balance:
    7Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    It's getting a thinner line :)
  19. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    So remember when @RacingMat shared his STL file for a 3d print.....I didnt have a 3d Printer.....well I bought one for that....and other stuff too, but mostly for that...and now I started the mods...ordered rasberry pi 2, 7"Touch Lcd Screen and Im building out an L angle aluminum case with PLexi to store it in and I have some saucy blue led lights to fancy it up......next stage will be adding a secondary extruter and upgrading the primary that came on it. Where there is a will there is a way.......and finally have shipping info from Granite and the Argon should be here end of week and the discovery breakout board is on the way too...oh exciting times.

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  20. kopper

    kopper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas
    Balance:
    3,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    And I thought I had a lot of "toys"! -haha