1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice
value1

rFactor2 Plugin 2.0.4.0

SimTools game plugin for rFactor2

  1. MrSmurgle

    MrSmurgle CTO @ gagarin.is

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Occupation:
    CTO & Software developer @ gagarin.is
    Location:
    Reykjavík, Iceland
    Balance:
    252Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hi,

    I am not sure if this helps the developer of the plugin but I get this error every time I exit rFactor and the Game Manager crashes. I have a vanilla rFactor2/SimTools setup but added the rFactor2 plugin and Game Dash.


    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at rFactor2_Plugin.Plugin.ShutDownCommands()
    at SimTools_GameManager.Mod_Lib.GameStoped()
    at SimTools_GameManager.frmMain.tmr_IsGameRunning_Tick(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.TimerNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.34014 built by: FX45W81RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    SimTools_GameManager
    Assembly Version: 0.1.2.0
    Win32 Version: 0.1.2.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SimTools/SimTools_GameManager.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 12.0.20806.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.34003 built by: FX45W81RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.34107 built by: FX45W81RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    PluginAPI
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SimTools/PluginAPI.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    LiveForSpeed_Plugin
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Sammi/AppData/Local/SimTools/GamePlugins/LiveForSpeed_Plugin.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    rFactor2_Plugin
    Assembly Version: 3.0.3.5
    Win32 Version: 3.0.3.5
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Sammi/AppData/Local/SimTools/GamePlugins/rFactor2_Plugin.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.GeneratedCode
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.GeneratedCode
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.GeneratedCode
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,174 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    • Like Like x 1
  3. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,716
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    31,833Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,781 / 10 / -0
  4. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,174 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    • Winner Winner x 1
  5. MrSmurgle

    MrSmurgle CTO @ gagarin.is

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Occupation:
    CTO & Software developer @ gagarin.is
    Location:
    Reykjavík, Iceland
    Balance:
    252Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hi,

    I have two questions regarding this brilliant plugin.

    - Can the ShiftUp & ShiftDown properties be used as shift indicators? What are these properties for?
    - What can be the problem if the plugin does not seem to work at all? On my home computer the plugin icon ( top left corner ) does not show up at all - and hence no data gets reported in Game Dash.

    Best
  6. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,174 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Did you patch the game at home?
    Yes, the ShiftUp turns on when the RPM are above the MaxRPM. That's the way, the shift light is defined in rFactor2.
    The ShiftDown goes on, when the RPM is below 20% of MaxRPM. This is just my definition
    ;)
  7. MrSmurgle

    MrSmurgle CTO @ gagarin.is

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Occupation:
    CTO & Software developer @ gagarin.is
    Location:
    Reykjavík, Iceland
    Balance:
    252Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hi,

    Yes I did patch and got a "success" message. I really have no idea what could be wrong. I even uninstalled everything and installed again ( the game, the plugins and Game Dash ). I can't image what I am doing wrong because it isn't exactly rocket science to install it :) I will try to patch again.

    Great to know that I can use these two properties for my shift lights. However, I guess it would be super useful for those that are using LEDs to create an RPM indicator if your plugin would output "mEngineMaxRPM". I saw the following code in the example rFactor2 InternalsPlugin so the game must be reporting it.

    // Vehicle status
    fprintf( fo, "Gear=%d RPM=%.1f RevLimit=%.1f\n", info.mGear, info.mEngineRPM, info.mEngineMaxRPM );
    fprintf( fo, "Water=%.1f Oil=%.1f\n", info.mEngineWaterTemp, info.mEngineOilTemp );
    fprintf( fo, "ClutchRPM=%.1f\n", info.mClutchRPM );


    I am not sure what mClutchRPM does but it sounds useful. I also thought that it would be useful if our Arduinos could know which car is being driven. Then we could have the Arduino customize its output based on the car.

    fprintf( fo, "Vehicle=%s\n", info.mVehicleName );

    I wish I knew C++ because then I would be happy to help you with the plugin. But unfortunately I am really bad at C++!
  8. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Question about 64bit.

    I'm now testing the 64bit unstable version of rfactor 2, is there a 64bit update planned ?
  9. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    With the release of Build 770 this week rFactor 2 goes definitely 64bit.

    Is a 64bit plugin to be expected or are you guys working on such a plugin ?
  10. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,174 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    I will see if I have some time at the weekend
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Nice one, I can't wait :cheers:grin:thumbs
  12. domsai

    domsai New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    - 66Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Cool, hope at the weekend
  13. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,174 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  14. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,174 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Done :)
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
  15. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Very nice work and fast.

    I will give it a go today gna gna gna
  16. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    First of all great work for releasing this plugin so fast :cheers

    I have a little trouble with unwanted movement of the simulator.

    When parked in the garage the seat has unwanted movement. (same as in the early days of Simtools). Every few seconds the seat shakes a bit. when a car drive into me will parkes in the garage the seat moves (very realistic, but very unwanted :grin )
    The movement becomes worse and more often when I select and view another driver.
  17. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,174 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  18. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
  19. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    The plugin works like a charm, keep up the great work
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Crowdpleazer

    Crowdpleazer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Torres Novas
    Balance:
    260Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    works with x64 rf2 version??