1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Red Bull simulator

Discussion in 'Breaking News' started by Gadget999, Mar 21, 2019.

  1. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,665Coins
    Ratings:
    +240 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    a nice article about the new Aston and how it was developed on a sim


    https://www.pistonheads.com/features/ph-features/aston-martin-valkyrie-driven-virtually/39845
    • Agree Agree x 2
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2019
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,665Coins
    Ratings:
    +240 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    common now. lol i think im happy with my DIY and my rift s. Still very nice but im poor. :think
  5. DotComRich

    DotComRich Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Balance:
    490Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 1 / -0
    Looks like their driving on F1 2001, graphics look incredible...
  6. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    if i had the cash but this is one of those gold nuggets that would be in the 10's of thousands.
  7. Caveman

    Caveman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    473Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    That is very old and common place now and they only use that for the Aston cars (although that will also change in the future too). The newer F1 sim is a 360 degree visual with their own motion platform.
  8. Lesmore222

    Lesmore222 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    205Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Amazing how that can be considered outdated. Now :thinkIf I can get a press pass I wonder if they would let me in to give it a go too....
  9. Caveman

    Caveman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    473Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    Older technology in projection and such a small FOV too - although it was all mounted on the motion platform so it didn't really matter too much. They have moved on to a much larger system with a larger envelope for more precise movements in all axis with a faster response time too. Visuals are all now off-board so a few more projectors added into it now. Very much in keeping with what the others teams have and use....but as usual the upgrades keep coming so even their 'newer' one is out of date now.
  10. Lesmore222

    Lesmore222 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    205Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanks Caveman for the info. Would you happen to have a link showing the new one?
  11. Caveman

    Caveman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    473Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    Oh jeez no. There would be lawyers crawling over me for sharing stuff like that. Sorry.

    Closest thing you might be able to get hold of is a copy of Racecar Engineering where they go into some basic detail of the latest gen driving simulators. Pics are of the Sauber (Alfa Romeo) F1 sim...
  12. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,665Coins
    Ratings:
    +240 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF

    which month / year did Racecar Engineering do the feature on the F1 sim, I may have it :)
  13. Caveman

    Caveman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    473Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    last month or the month before.
    • Like Like x 1