1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Racing 6DOF stewart platform

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Gadget999, Feb 15, 2019.

  1. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,286
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,660Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I weighed the 3 corners of the base

    The two rear corners were approx 65 kg each
    The front corner was approx 70kg

    Without me in it all corners were closer to 35 kg

    That is complete weight of the rig including the base, motors and arms

    Total unloaded 105kg
    Total loaded 200kg

    Conclusions:
    The rig is quite heavy and is of a strong industrial contruction
    The motors have quite a bit of power
    I am heavier than i thought !


    On the plus side the rig seems well balanced

    --------------------------------------


    I looked at the tuning and the rear motors were doing quite a lot of work in surge, sway and roll
    I reduced the % and tested a powerful car on a fast circuit. The car had a lot of movement particually under braking and acceleration.

    The motors did not really get hot with temps between 25c and 35c

    Regardless I will implement a cooling solution to allow endurance racing
  2. ryanosman

    ryanosman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Commercial Recreational Sim Owner/Operator
    Location:
    Western Canada
    Balance:
    235Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Your motors are 400 watts ea and you have commented that they are plenty powerful... I've sort of gathered that a reasonable plan is about 100 watts per motor... what do you think?
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,286
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,660Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    100 w will not be powerful enough

    my motors are 400w but my gearbox is only 25:1 so they are working quite hard and after a while get hot

    since last week I have upgraded to double motors so each arm has 800w

    it does not make acceleration faster but each motor is now doing half the work and is cooler
  4. ryanosman

    ryanosman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Commercial Recreational Sim Owner/Operator
    Location:
    Western Canada
    Balance:
    235Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    It would be a big help for me if you could share the model / source ( / price)
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,286
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,660Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    they are made by Parvalux - used for many purposes often used for wheelchair and winches
    around £300 each iirc

    pick a wheelchair that has decent motors and buy them 2 at a time when they crop up
  6. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,286
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,660Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  7. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,286
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,660Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    made some progress on the sim today - i now have 2 x 400w motors per dof

    so each motor is effectively 800w

    i have joined the end of the motors together where there was a brake flange and the original motor still is connected to the 25:1 gearbox

    i found after extended testing the motors were getting hot and installed a powerful aquarium air pump that pumped air into the motors

    now with the twin motors I am seeing about 35C

    the original DC motor drivers are now driving 2 motors instead of one and do it with ease

    Today we added a VR headset

    I went for a FOVE VR headset -- https://www.getfove.com/

    2560 X 1440 DISPLAY
    42% more pixels than other PC VR HMDs

    it has eye tracking so you can see where the driver it looking and it can also be used to interact with games by following your gaze etc

    So far i have only tested it with RF2 but it is quite impressive - the screen area seems quite large and I like the way you can adjust your focus to look at the dash and then again out through the windscreen

    So far I am very pleased with the Fove it seems to have good performance
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,286
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,660Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    video of the sim here







    Yesterday I was lucky to have a real racing driver try out the sim

    We were using a logitech wheel and he had some praise and some criticism

    The turn rate of the wheel did not seem to match a real car
    The brake pedal was not repsonding as a real car

    However the motion on the sim did feel like a real car and he was able to use the feedback to adjust his driving.

    He wanted to make changes to the car setup and see how the car felt

    The track was RF2 brands hatch in a btcc ford focus he wanted to change the rear bump from 12 to 8

    Immediately the car changed and he was able to push it harder and he felt the feedback enabled him to feel the limits of grip.

    He felt it was the best simulator he had ever driven and attributed it to the movements being very fast and in sync with the real physics as they happened in real time

    Some of the sims he had tried previously were damped and smoothed resulting in a different less precise feeling.

    I was beaming from ear to ear that the sim was doing a proper job, and feeling very proud of what we have achieved.

    I have a Thanos DD wheel on order and have built a set of hydraulic pedals to go with it so I am hoping the wheel and pedals will match the motion in terms of fidelity

    :cheers


    Thank you xsimulator for all the help and support
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 2
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2020
  9. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    260Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    hi bro, great build, i use 2x ibt-2 for one motor to give enough power, i ordered 1x 100a driver like you use, but i didnt found anywgere how to wire it could you help me how to wire it by diagram or some photo?
  10. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,286
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,660Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    you can see the wiring diagram attached

    basically 5v and gnd

    a1 / a2 - direction for M1
    b1 / b2 direction for M2

    pwm motor1

    pwm motor 2

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  11. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    260Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    thanks for help bro, but you have any photo for your connection? real photo? becuase i'm lost with wiring to arduino , sorry its my problem
  12. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,286
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,660Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    how you wire it depends on which arduino sketch you are using

    if you are using smc3 - the diagram will be on that thread

    you may need to create you own build thread to get help
  13. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    260Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    i have my own thread but no one answer so i message you, i use smc3 but i dont know how to wire the board to arduino exactly
  14. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,286
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,660Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    The wiring diagram is on the first page of the smc3 thread
  15. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    260Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    yes i know but its for ibt-2 and MM not 100a? sorry for annoying
  16. Stefan4DOF

    Stefan4DOF New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    hi Gadget999

    Very nice build you have, and it is a good thread.

    How did you make the rods?
    they look like aluminium pipes, and then somehow you have mounted a nut in each end.
    they look lite and durable.
  17. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,286
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,660Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Yes they are ally tubes with a thick wall thickness, the ends are drilled and tapped to take m18 rod ends and a locknut is fitted. There are stronger than they need to be. You could use a smaller diameter rod or kart track rod
    • Like Like x 1