1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question about DIY ffb wheel

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Wuzzy, Nov 11, 2019.

  1. Wuzzy

    Wuzzy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Latvia
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    So far im just googling the parts, this is what ive found:
    Motor:https://www.ebay.com/itm/JOHNSON-77...a=0&pg=2047675&_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851
    Leonardo:https://www.ebay.com/itm/Leonardo-R...924063&hash=item2eea47591c:g:miMAAOSwJf9c5Rug
    Encoder:https://www.ebay.com/itm/360-600P-R...hash=item2885874bea:m:mJegiNFMd3JzBKztDzycHfA
    if i need a driver:https://www.ebay.com/itm/New-L298N-...446668&hash=item2ca0adcc05:g:Jb0AAOSwESNZ7v2s

    If you couldnt already understand i dont understand most of this stuff, every video i watch is just the assembly not the actual electric work if i need anything else or change something im very glad with your input.
    Thanks in advance
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Chris Malcolm

    Chris Malcolm New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    That looks right to me. Except I'd use an IBT2 for the driver.
    Also you'll need a couple of resistors to make the encoder work. Then also a breadboard, DuPont cables and a power supply.
    As far as I can tell, that would cover the electronics side of it.

    For the mechanics side, I'd probably get a couple of pulleys and a belt to get more torque, as I imagine that motor that you have linked will provide much resistance at all.
    • Useful Useful x 1
  4. Wuzzy

    Wuzzy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Latvia
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  5. Chris Malcolm

    Chris Malcolm New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    You won't need extra capacitors for this build, as far as I know. At least I didn't.

    You need resistors. I'm not quite sure why they are needed to be honest but they are needed to get the encoder to work.
    I think I'm using two 10k resistors in my breadboard. Just search "10k resistor" in eBay or Amazon and you can use the first choice that comes up.

    I'd also buy more than one motor driver, as these can be easy to damage if you ask too much of them. I've gone through over ten in the last two years since I started this journey.
  6. Wuzzy

    Wuzzy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Latvia
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  7. Chris Malcolm

    Chris Malcolm New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Not sure if you saw my previous post but you need resistors, not capacitors.

    That type of power supply will be fine. I'd advise you to get the one with the highest wattage possible for your preferred voltage, as you will probably want to upgrade to a larger motor at some point in time.
    I have three power supplies now because the first one wasn't powerful enough, once I bought a larger motor.
    Also if you a 12v power supply and then decide in the future that you want to use a 24v motor, you don't have to buy a new 24v power supply. You can still use 12v without any problems. That was another thing that caught me out.
  8. Wuzzy

    Wuzzy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Latvia
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for all the help
  9. Ben Xie

    Ben Xie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    is the p/r on the encoder enough? I read that you want at least 1000 minimum for good resolution.