1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Q : AQMH3615NS versus BTS7960

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by cx5my, May 17, 2022.

  1. cx5my

    cx5my Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 4, 2022
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    Loudspeaker Manufacturing
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi guys, I'm newbie, don't know motors and controllers, hence a lot of questions and curiousity, upon studying found AQMH3615NS seems like a good 36volts upgrade versus BTS7960 24volts.

    but AQMH3615NS max only 20amperes and requires massive cooling informed by seller = https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z0d.7625083.1998302264.6.5c5f4e69r9pV8i&id=555823724958

    Under 10amperes don't need extra cooling. A 6DOF scenario of 36v*10A=360watts each motor * 6 = 2160 watts to push HEAVE upwards a 100kg load, ..... should be enough right?

    Adds lot of cooling just incase and make sure PSU has lots of headroom too.......
    i.e. 500watts motor have 30% headroom also.... etc etc etc

    Apart from 3x more expensive than BTS7960, what other problems or incompatibility with SMC3+Arduino?

    Thanks.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,427
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    131,886Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,200 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hardware has to be able to talk to software, I don't recall anyone using a AQMH3615NS, so am not sure how it my go with the likes of SMC3.
  4. cx5my

    cx5my Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 4, 2022
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    Loudspeaker Manufacturing
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi @noorbeast,

    I think the AQMH3615NS has IN1 and IN2 are forward and reverse, then PWM as in ENABLE, seems to be able to take Arduino's signal just as a BTS7960. PWM shortest pulse width is 200ns = estimated 5khz

    funny it has a 5V_output instead of input.

    and below no part number motor controller also has same input pin connections, I think, at least to my inexperienced eyes seems they are completely interchangable with BTS7960.

    https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z0d.6639537.1997196601.102.ac847484jW5iqP&id=670587272460

    both are at least 3x more expensive than BTS7960 ......... sacrifices for higher voltages ......... not sure which is more important or directly useful to us, voltage? ampere?

    Voltage gives fast response, ampere carry heavy load..... or is not as simple as it seems???