1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

PT-Actuators 3DOF system?

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by LukeBrown, Jul 1, 2019.

  1. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    920
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,393Coins
    Ratings:
    +789 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    The third wire that is not connected, is the earth ground. Connect that to one of the PE terminals, which is the earth connection for the motors...!

    Also read about my tests and conclusions abouts ground issues on my thread on Racedepartment (keep reading on next pages there):

    https://www.racedepartment.com/thre...motion-controller-thread.168360/#post-2969583
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2019
  2. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    Thanks a lot Thanos, appreciate your help. I will try that later and report back.

    Assuming that does solve the problem, then I think PT Actuators should update their wiring diagram (see below) to also include the ground wire from the power cable, as currently it only shows two connections for live and neutral. Also on the 3 pin power cable they supplied they had cut and wrapped the earth wire so that it's not visible and I will need to strip the wire back to access it.


    20195274549703187.jpg
  3. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    Ok striping back the wire and then connecting the ground wire has completely solved the problem. Thanks a lot.

    Pic for reference for anybody else reading this. The yellow wire is earth from power cord, which is now going to one of the actuator earth terminals.

    IMG_20190730_121527.jpg
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2019
  4. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    ....and this is about as far as I can get until Simlab P1-X arrives in a few weeks time. I'm happy everything is tested and working correctly, and I will update again when it's all mounted properly onto the new chassis.

    • Like Like x 3
  5. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    @LukeBrown , did you use SimTools for your test?

    With 3 actuators, I wonder if the front actuator will obstruct with the pedals!?
  6. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    Yes I used Simtools for the setup and testing, seems very good and highly customisable.

    For the pedal mounting I've already checked the dimensions of my current rig and because I'm not particularly tall I'm able to mount them without needing any front overlap. You're right though, for somebody with longer legs it could be an issue depending on how far backwards the seat could be mounted.
  7. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Thanks for your answer. Look forward to seeing your final assembly!
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Hocky

    Hocky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    32Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    Some videos could be found at Youtube of my son driving my simulator.
    Its a 3DOF + TL + extra surge. PT-actuators and AMC-MDBOX.
    Very mixed feelings about the surge but TL is a must :)
    Still work in progress!

    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 2
  9. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
  10. DotComRich

    DotComRich Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Balance:
    488Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 1 / -0
    Why the mixed feelings? Have you tried it in vr maybe the effect would be better suited for that? Also have you tried flipping it so it move backwards on acceleration just to see? I get that its supposed to move forward to simulate acceleration gforce by pushing the seat into your back but I would be curious to feel both ways.
  11. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    Wow looks great! Did you design the traction loss platform yourself or did that come from PT-actuators?
    • Winner Winner x 1
  12. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    @LukeBrown

    I sent you a private message on August 16th ...

    Did you see it?
  13. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    Sorry only just saw it, have replied.
  14. Hocky

    Hocky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    32Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    The extra surge effect is really good time to time when doing racing where there its alot of acc/braking like rally or such. When doing other racing where longer acc/braking is done the effect is to short and fades to quick when the limit is reached (adds some immersion but maybe not so natural).

    I did try making the inversed surge but the regular surge and the extra surge even out the feeling, as it should :)

    I really want to try VR but I have been waiting for the Index...and now for the Cosmos :)
  15. Hocky

    Hocky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    32Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    Its my design combining surge/TL in one layer.
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,549
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,523Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,814 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Very nice :thumbs. Certainly some engineering and dollars have gone into that :). Tried a surge table back in 2013 and yes it does have its limitations, although the software to control it is way better now. Can really recommend fitting G systems - Ie. active harness, paddles etc if you want to get closer to the real thing.
  17. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    The Simlab motion rig build begins!

    Out with the old....
    IMG_20190821_141615.jpg

    And in with the new.....
    IMG_20190820_165412.jpg
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  18. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Oh good news! I follow you ...
  19. Hocky

    Hocky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    32Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    I agree, you can tune the extra surge separate from the regular surge now, axis a and b.
    Is designing a simple belt retraction and hope it will make it even more real.
  20. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    IMG_20190826_205833.jpg

    Just a quick update that I've now got everything built and working. Just a few smaller things still to do like mounting the buttkickers, attaching seatbelt and also fitting the DD1 when it eventually arrives!

    The only major problem I had was related to EMI from the actuators. It was causing maasive problems with my pedals. The signal from the load cell brake was bouncing around all over the place (+/-20%) to the extent that it made cars impossible to drive. Eventually I discovered I had to run a ground wire from a metal bolt on the brake pedal to a ground pin on the pedal controller board. Doing that completely solved it. Sounds simple but took me days to figure out, trying all sorts of things and nothing was working!

    Haven't done too much driving yet, but initial impreaaiom is that I'm very impressed with PT actuator motion system. They are much quieter than I was expecting and also the road detail you can feel is fantastic. Also having just the 3 actuators is working out just fine and I'm glad I didn't go with 4 actuator kit.

    I'll post some videos and more pics soon once everything is properly finished.
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 2