1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

PT-Actuators 3DOF system?

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by LukeBrown, Jul 1, 2019.

  1. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    942
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,537Coins
    Ratings:
    +792 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    I think the actuators come with U-shape mounts already... See:

    U-shape_mounts.jpg

    And here see how these mounts are used to attach the actuators:

    4DOF+TL.jpg

    Ignore the base... this is for traction loss...
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. Scblacksunshine

    Scblacksunshine New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    178Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF
    Ideally I think 8020 160mm profile would be the best for mounting these actuators but I think 80 will also work too, found this setup online and I plan on pretty much doing the exact same thing with the GT1 evo rig.

    https://imgur.com/gallery/omVmQW4
    • Like Like x 1
  3. djkc

    djkc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    I've been using my simlabs Evo with the monitor mount with 4 x actuators for nearly 2 months with no issues.

    de.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
  4. Scblacksunshine

    Scblacksunshine New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    178Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF
    Excellent, thanks for confirming the GT1 Evo will work with the actuators without issues. Are you using the Nanobox for the controller?
  5. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    Nice setup there!

    How do you find the combination of seat mover AND motion actuators? Does it make much difference vs. just having the motion actuators?

    Also the belt tension system, is that just working off the movement generated from the seat mover? Does it work well to simulate the braking forces? I'm looking to see if I can do something similar but I don't have seat mover only the motion actuators. I think for it to work I need to find a way to fix the belts to the actual floor.
  6. djkc

    djkc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    @ Scblacksunshine - no problems, Im using the Thanos AMC-AASD15A.

    I'm really happy with the actuators, the only issue with Putuo is that you get absolutely no instructions at all? And no help with a simtools setup. Also something I think they should address is there is no emergency stop button. I'm getting a Fanatec emergency stop button attached to my Thanos, thanks to Thanos emailing me back with the instructions. I've passed this job onto my mate George from Simcore who will install this weekend. https://simcore.com.au/. George is another genius Greek pioneer in our hobby.

    The problem with simtools if your new is it is very difficult to work out if you have no experience. The way that Dof reality has made an easy to use simtools interface is better.


    @ LukeBrown - Ive been using a seatmover for the past 6 years with a simxperience stage 3, so I really enjoyed being pushed into the steering wheel. Just the Putuo servos generating the pitch effect was not enough, I got motion sickness as my brain expected me to be pushed into the steering wheel when braking. The combination of seat mover and actuators is very good.

    Yes, the belt tension system is working off the movement generated from the seat mover. And yes it does work well to simulate the braking forces. Its also great at simulating g forces while flying in DCS.
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2019
  7. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    942
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,537Coins
    Ratings:
    +792 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    I think the manual helps with basic setup for simtools... need to be updated of course a little bit...

    https://github.com/tronicgr/AMC-AAS...r/AMC-AASD15A_ 4DOF+TL-Simtools_manual_v1.pdf
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  8. djkc

    djkc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Thanks Thanos.

    FYI - See video of emergency stop button attached to my Thanos thanks to George at Simcore.

    edit- not sure how to send video?
  9. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    942
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,537Coins
    Ratings:
    +792 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    You can share on dropbox, or just post unlisted on YouTube if don't want it public, and share link here...
  10. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    IMG_20190728_144836.jpg It's arrived! Just a shame my SimLab chassis is still at least 3-4 weeks away.
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,374
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,009Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,090 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  12. Scblacksunshine

    Scblacksunshine New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    178Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF
    Cool, keep us updated, which chassis did you go with? GT1 evo or p1x?
  13. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    HOOo really good stuff! I am curious to see the result because I have a rSeat like yours and I think seriously about Sim-Lab P1-X or Trak Racer TR160.

    The only disadvantage I see here is the AMC-Nano Controller which can only receive 3 actuators, counter to the AMC-AASD15A Controller who can handle 6 actuators.

    Please, can you detail the costs, if it is not too indiscreet (price of items, taxes, shipping)
  14. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    In the end I've placed an order the P1-X, just because it's a known product rather than being in the first batch of 'test' customers for the new Trak Racer chassis. Also when I was comparing the two, I actually prefer the Podium DD mount that the Simlab has. It seems like it would be more rigid compared to the Trakracer which is a metal plate bolted onto the aluminum profile. That plate could potential have some flex around it's pivot point for the angle adjustment (a bit like the RSeat wheel mount where the bolts for setting the wheel angle are also the main structural points of attachment for wheel plate). It's hard to say for sure without there being any reviews on it yet, just my gut feeling from looking at picture.

    Yes the controller Iv'e got does limit it to 3 actuators, so if I ever wanted to expand I would need to consider upgrading the controller as well as an extra actuator. Hopefully I'm satisfied with just 3, haha! The price for my 3DOF system was $5,000 AUD including shipping, GST and import tax.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Yeah, the Sim-Lab P1-X seem to be a great choice and 3 actuators should do it! Look forward to seeing your final installation (photos and video, if possible).

    Merci for the infos ^^
  16. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    942
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,537Coins
    Ratings:
    +792 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Actually the AMC-NANO can be plugged on a 4in1 unit as well for 4DOF, and there is an expansion addon available for up to 8DOF support if you need more...



    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. Scblacksunshine

    Scblacksunshine New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    178Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF

    Yeah, still waiting for them to release final US pricing on the TR160 vs P1-X. Right now I do like the P1-X more but that shipping cost to the US is pretty steep. Trackracer might be doing free shipping in the US, will have to wait and see. Like you, I am not sure about the DD1 mount on the TR160, I rather have a side mount option. The one I am leaning mostly towards is the GT1 Ev0, being lighter and very slightly smaller and cheaper. Judging from the pictures from another user, doesn't look like an issue with the actuators either.
  18. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Ok it's good to know, but the AMC-Nano Controller that LukeBrown has received is limited to 3
    ... unless he adds options ($)
  19. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    942
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,537Coins
    Ratings:
    +792 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    True, but he could get later 4in1 or 3in1 or even 2in1 drive depending how many additional actuators he needs and the 8dof addon...

    Just saying there is room for expansion... ;)
  20. LukeBrown

    LukeBrown New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    420Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    Video below of initial testing on a mock frame. This video just shows the standard up/down testing using the buttons on Thanos controller but I've also since tested it with Simtools and it all seems to be working correctly once I had figured out the correct axis assignments. I'm definitely impressed by the strength & speed of the actuators and also they are quieter than I had expected.

    The only thing I need to get some advice on is the grounding. I have a friend who is electrician so he will have a look at it for me later this week. It comes with an Australian 3 pin plug but the ground/earth wire is wrapped up and does not connect to anywhere on the MDBox. I think I need to connect this ground wire to an earth terminal on the MDbox and/or run an earth cable from a metal part of chassis to an earthed pole/pipe/socket somewhere in the room. If I stand on the floor and touch an actuator it's fine, but if I sit in my race seat (so my feet are off the floor and in contact with metal heel plate and pedals) and then I touch an actuator I can feel an electrical current/vibration. Not a shock as such, but enough not to be able to hold it for more than a few seconds.

    • Like Like x 1