1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

PT-Actuators 3DOF system?

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by LukeBrown, Jul 1, 2019.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,994
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,600Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,959 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I agree, a traditional 3DOF actuator design is in my view the the way to go, though my comment was more lamenting that a non fixed 4 corner actuator design can end up with only 3 points of contact.
  2. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    822
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,138Coins
    Ratings:
    +706 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    You cannot use captive feet on 4 actuators rig, there is always possibility one of the actuators to be out of sync and cause mechanical stress or twist of the rig.

    You ARE encouraged to use captive feet on 3 actuator rig, as it will add stability and there is no chance to bind anything even, no matter the motion cues...
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,994
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,600Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,959 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My view exactly.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Blanes

    Blanes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Balance:
    961Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 3 / -0
    Are captive feet for 3 Actuator rig advised to fit even without TL ?
    Last edited: May 23, 2020
  5. Go68fastback

    Go68fastback New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    43Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    So that is probably the reason why most of the people go with 4 instead of 3 actuators
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,994
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,600Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,959 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I think for many it is the idea that an actuator represents each wheel, hence 4, but when it c0mes to motion simulation that does not translate 100%, because as noted it is possible for a 4 corner actuator driven rig to only have 3 points of contact, particularly with fast powerful actuators.
  7. Blanes

    Blanes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Balance:
    961Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 3 / -0
    So all things considered, just for 3dof, would you say a 3 actuator system will give as much enjoyment and immersion as a system with 4 ?

    And is there any significant differences between what is experienced between an SFX100 system and the PT-Actuator one ?
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,994
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,600Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,959 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I can't comment re comparison of the actuators, someone like @Thanos is in a better position to give a view, as his controller supports both.

    Yes, all things being equal in terms of effective design, performance and load carrying capacity, personally I do think a 3DOF give as much enjoyment and immersion as a system with 4 actuators, both provide 3DOF motion, just in different designs.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: May 25, 2020
  9. Blanes

    Blanes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Balance:
    961Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 3 / -0
    Ah ok Thanos is the guy then ... Yeah thanks also for your view on this Noorbeast.
  10. Alv

    Alv New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    43Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    pt actuator look more monster maybe look teem is also better ( d box HD is a bigger actuator which cost more ) if not wrong pt is the same size or bigger then the d box hd

    motion system have one system QS-L1 euro $6000. ( 4 actuator setup ) One box solution but spec of the actuator not much detail .

    regards 3 actuator set up

    2 front 1 back : will it give more wheel feedback feel ?

    Vs

    1 back 2 front : more thrust feel ?
  11. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +878 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Guys Just for Info as im at early setup Reconfiguration stage , but was intregued by the line of thought ref 3 DOF vs 4DOF using MY SFX100 Style Actuators...i have now reconfigued the actuator layout form 4DOF to 3DOF ( 1 SFX100 at Front , 2 At Rear ) today will be used to sawp My FLYPT MOVER Rig to 3dof so watch this space .. wont hog your thread but thought my input might add something to the discusion ..

    So far using the Loop Tests in Mover i have dialed in the Correct Actuator assignments and everything seems Fine in terms of Movement Pitch /Roll/ Heave .. also ran PCars in auto pilot Mode and NO real concerns about mechanical operation Ref Speed and front mounted actuator Lifting ability.

    Still waiting for part For my DD FFB Build Based on @Peacemaker105 Build notes so that will be final element of Extra weight for fornt Loaded actuator.

    will post video clip of Auto Drven Race with My Lard arse in Seat to show Movement and speed , My actuator can reach 150mm total travel but dialed back to 130 for video .. Keep it coming guys this is all ggod stuff ..was going to use my Now Spare 4th actuator for Traction Los But thanks to you Guys i Now realsie Tipping is a Concern with this 3 Legged option ... We Keep learning form each otrher so this is all good stuff

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: May 24, 2020
  12. Alv

    Alv New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    43Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Cool man

    what is FFB build base .. the one for TL ?
  13. Blanes

    Blanes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Balance:
    961Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 3 / -0
    @wannabeaflyer2 - Sounds good, very intrigued to see how it goes and your thoughts compared to original 4 leg configuration ! Would also be very cool id someone tried a 2 front / 1 rear configuration after trying the 1 front / 2 rear to compare how that feels.... probably too much mucking about swapping tho'
  14. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +878 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Alv the FFB is for Steering Wheel , Sorry i should have been clearer in description, As My Version Of the SFX Actuator is Push Pull Capable i was thinking of using That 4th actuator to somehow add a Traction loss Plate type base which the Whole rig would sit On ...

    Just a Mad idea at moment .. but that s where all the best stuff comes from ...us members with our Mad ideas or tweeking freely shared stuff we have seen and applying them to our own needs..win win in my book
  15. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +878 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Blanes after much consideration i opted for 1 up front because of my large Rear end ( and im not talking Sim cockpit) swaping ? Movin Actauator was Not as bad due tothe flexibility of the Extrusion and fittings ( quite litraly Undo 4 Screws and Move Each actuator . Thats the Beauty of Aluminium Profile ..

    Cant drive for Toffe as thety say ( i Have aspirations though ) so for stay on the track and get some milage i generally Opt for Autopilot driver so a can check out the mechanics of the sim during Operation with Heavy Load on Board ( oh oh that'll be me then ) . Tuning whist using a Mouse when in cockpit is lets just say crazy LOL :)

    Just did Quick test video and can say at this early stage my fears as to wheter the sinlge actuator up front would be man enough were unfounded as she took a licking and just kept on Ticking ( Worked a charm and was abused but handled it well )

    The Trick will be in the Fine Tuning FlyPt Mover interface for optimum mech motion / Speed / Effects and glad to say things are looking good . Still at dialing in parameters stage but with each step im liking this 3DOF Setup for how its performs

    Sorry @LukeBrown for adding to your Thread just thought there might be some mileage in my initial findings , will post any other progress under my 4DOF actuator design Thread, Cheers Guys
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Alv

    Alv New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    43Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0


    Luke set up

    I recalled I saw 2 in front but I can’t find it at the moment .
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Alv

    Alv New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    43Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Balance:
    449Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    @wannabeaflyer2 - thanks for your input!
    This thread is going to be my go-to for setup advice - not sure when my 3xactuators will turn up, hopefully not too far as Shao put in the order to powder coat (needed them in black to match the black P1 chassis) last week.

    I was in on the OSW DD wheel movement earlier on (2016), and what was a mostly DIY enthusiast area has now become a mainstream higher end consumer option with the Simucube2 and Fanatec's 'Podium' series - you can get a DD wheel solution for not much more than most would pay for a Fanatec belt driven option only a year or so back, so there are viable options for those who take their hobby a little more seriously.

    Motion IMHO has been kept in a place for the minority due to some sellers choosing to keep prices simply out of reach for the majority (sorry D-Box, but your gear is fantastic but just not affordable enough for motion to ever get off the ground as a viable option for most). I understand Thanos/SimTools will have the option for vibration/tactile actuator feedback almost ready, which is an area that I liked about the D-Box solution.

    I spend literally 100% of my sim time in iRacing (all VR), and with the global pandemic and things like real racing with crowds grinding to a halt, it's driven iRacing's business to unexpected heights!
    When I joined iRacing in 2016 there were about 50K subscribers to the service, a number that had stayed pretty static.
    As of last month that number was over 170K and growing, given the publicity of having real world drivers racing competitively in the virtual world. The competition has spiked so it's a much tougher crowd, but that's good for the genre.
    I'm planning to do a full build and discussion review which I will post in the iRacing forums, which I am sure will result in more business for PT. The more common motion becomes, the better pricing will be if suppliers have more volume.

    I'm still deciding between 2 front/1 rear or 2 rear/1 front configs so keen to see your results.
    Thanks for everyone's input!

    PS - I'm unsure how to go about mounting the actuators as my rig is probably 200lbs and right now it's just on industrial casters (supplied by Sim-Labs) that have it about 2-3" off the ground. Looks like it will be a lot higher with the 150mm actuator, so hopefully there's a guide to doing this without having to dismantle much of my rig. How easy was it to fit the actuators to your existing extrusion rig? Is there a preferred method?
  19. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Balance:
    449Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Has anyone heard from Luke Brown?
    I DM'd him a few times, and asked some questions on his Youtube video but haven't heard a thing.
    Hope he's alright.;
  20. Alv

    Alv New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    43Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0