1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom Prototype 6dof

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by NjMotion, Jan 13, 2014.

  1. Mike-xu

    Mike-xu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Chile
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi, I am planned to build 6 DOF simulator also, now I'm looking for motor. after I read all the FAQs I still don't know how strong motor should I buy.
    you mentioned your motor are 12 V 50W, how much torque can the motor provide?
    have you tested the maximum weight your simulator can support?

    your information will be very helpful for me, thanks in advance.
  2. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,489Coins
    Ratings:
    +190 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    Hi Mike.
    My engines are very small for a 6DOF, with 3.5 cm rod motore move well 100kg but as I said many times, it is only a prototype, for a final 6DOF makes better engines, and better electronics.
  3. sonjungin

    sonjungin New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    korea ulsan
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    very good !!!!! umm it is so cheap and very good
    • Like Like x 1
  4. ericRacer

    ericRacer You get old because you stop playing ! Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Occupation:
    Pilot
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Balance:
    - 31Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    @NjMotion congratulations for your work ! i am thinking i should upgrade my 2dof for 6dof .....soon.
    keep your good work.
  5. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,489Coins
    Ratings:
    +190 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    Thank you!!! :cheers
    I am glad that this project opened the doors to as many people as there are now with its 6dof under construction. :thumbs
  6. Coop

    Coop New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    England
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Any progress with the 6dof prototype? @NjMotion

    I have been looking at your SV2 and SV3 but would be really interested, as would a lot of other people, if you manage to bring this low cost 6dof to a finished product.

    I've got a few questions about the other models you build but will ask them in the relevant threads.

    Great work you are doing!

    Thanks

    Coop
  7. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,489Coins
    Ratings:
    +190 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    Hi @Coop
    I would like very much to start with the 6dof and see where we can get with it but now I do not have time, I'm very late with the models I already have and I do not know when I can start the ones I have pending.

    Thank you for your comments :thumbs
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Coop

    Coop New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    England
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Well that's fair enough mate, it is almost certainly a sign of your good work that you are so busy @NjMotion

    I look forward to any progress you make and am keeping an eye on your other builds while I make my mind up regarding my own rig, which I intend to start very soon.

    You and many others here are inspiring a lot of impressive simulator builds. :thumbs

    Thanks
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
  9. Mpmo

    Mpmo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Balance:
    402Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    hey
    hey! did you finish your project?
  10. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,489Coins
    Ratings:
    +190 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    The truth is that the 6dof I have not started yet and I do not know when I will do it.
  11. Mpmo

    Mpmo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Balance:
    402Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    ahh i see
  12. andre747

    andre747 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    St Maarten
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Great job! I live on St Maarten which had a direct hit by Irma. A lot of totaled cars so I have plenty of wiper motors. This is my first project. I was going to build a 2 DOF for xplane 11 but you you encourage me to go for the 6 DOF. Could you show me how 3 arduino and 3 monster moto are wired including potentiometers? Thank you. Andre
    • Like Like x 1
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    9,590
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    78,721Coins
    Ratings:
    +6,580 / 32 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please start your own thread rather than use other member's thread: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/forums/diy-motion-simulator-projects.22/

    You will find the FAQs cover most common questions: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/
  14. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,489Coins
    Ratings:
    +190 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    Hi @andre747

    If you start your project safely you will do it in a new thread.
    You connect an arduino to two motors and the same thing twice more.
  15. andre747

    andre747 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    St Maarten
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Ok thank you NjMotion. I'll start a new tread.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,489Coins
    Ratings:
    +190 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    I'll be there in case I can help you :thumbs
    • Friendly Friendly x 1