1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom Prototype 6dof

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by NjMotion, Jan 13, 2014.

  1. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,633Coins
    Ratings:
    +227 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    A year ago or so I made a 2DOF simulator and then I added the loss of traction , and now wanted a new challenge, see the behavior of a 6DOF , but after reading and saw that he had read much spent a lot of money so I I been collecting recycled materials to prototype and the result is much better than expected.

    I used three Arduinos unoR3 and three monstermoto shield .
    6 wiper motors (not the 6 equal , there are 4 equal , and 2 different ) .
    Software XsimCtrl " Prilad " and SimTools .

    I want to thank all the community for all the selfless help and especially Prilad who offered me their help and Historiker for caring about my project and help me SimTools settings .

    I have to keep working on it because I think it can get better results with a little more angle effects but it'll take a while to restart the project , for now I'm very satisfied with the results .


    I hope that with this project is removed the idea that we must gastarle thousands and thousands of dollars to make a 6DOF because these engines are about 12v 50w , so putting them at 12v rather larger , or better 24v I would work well and fairly angle.

    Spanish.

    Hace un año mas o menos hice un simulador 2dof y despues le añadi la perdida de traccion, y ahora queria un nuevo reto, ver el comportamiento de un 6dof, pero despues de leer y leer veia que habia que gastarse mucho mucho dinero asi que he ido recopilando material reciclado para hacer un prototipo y el resultado es mucho mejor del esperado.

    He usado tres arduinos unoR3, y tres monstermoto shield.
    6 motores de limpiaparabrisas (no son los 6 iguales, hay 4 iguales, y 2 diferentes).
    Software XsimCtrl "Prilad" y SimTools.

    Quiero dar las gracias a toda esta comunidad por toda la ayuda desinteresada y en especial a Prilad que me ofreció su ayuda y Historiker por preocuparse por mi proyecto y ayudarme en la configuracion de SimTools.

    Tengo que seguir trabajando en él porque creo que se le puede sacar mejores resultados con un poco de mas angulo de efectos pero tardaré un tiempo en retomar el proyecto, por ahora estoy muy satisfecho de los resultados.

    Espero que con este proyecto, se quite, la idea de que hay que gastarse miles y miles de euros en hacer un 6dof, porque estos motores son de 12v 50w aproximadamente, asi que poniendolos bastante mas grandes en 12v o mejor 24v creo que funcionaria bien, y con bastante, angulo.



    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 16
    • Winner Winner x 5
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  2. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,633Coins
    Ratings:
    +227 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    Some pictures of the connection (through a Prilad)

    Configuration of simtools (through a Historiker).

    Connections.


    ARDUINO----------MONSTER

    M1PWM-----------PWM1
    M1DIR1------------INA1
    M1DIR2------------INB1
    M2PWM-----------PWM2
    M2DIR1------------INA2
    M2DIR2-----------INB2



    Arduino------------Motomonster

    Motor 1
    pin 8 --------------D7 Dir1
    " 12--------------D8 Dri2
    " 9---------------D5 Pwm

    Motor 2
    Pin 11---------------D4 Dir1
    " 13--------------D9 Dir2
    " 10--------------D6 Pwm

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 5
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014
  3. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,633Coins
    Ratings:
    +227 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    In action.

    In a video I put more aggressive, with more rapid movements and another for the smoother.



    • Like x 13
    • Funny x 1
    • Winner x 1
    • Informative x 1
    • Creative x 1
  4. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,615
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,560Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,146 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    Amazing!!! I am really impressed about using cheap wiper motors, directly connected and not using any bungee cord, or other compensation helpers because of having the need to move too much weight.

    Did you already measured the maximum payload? Whats the power consumption when you sit on the platform, not more than 50W for a single motor?

    :cheers
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  5. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,633Coins
    Ratings:
    +227 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    Thank :cheers

    I will measure the power consumption of the set and show you here.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,003Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,584 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Bravo! Excellent job! I have enjoyed seeing your progress and thank you for letting me be part of your project.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    464
    Balance:
    4,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +165 / 2 / -0
    woow, this is really a change of paradigm... i have asking for some time, for a project like this, and the "physic" answer was, not posible because of the amount of weight... keep testing it, lets see how long does the wipers last... (i hope they last a lot)

    best regards

    fer
    (where are you from?=)
    • Like Like x 2
  8. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,462Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,626 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    With 6x wipers working in unison they should hold the weight easily, this is one of the things I got hammered on with the other forum when I suggested using Jrks and big wormgears who have twice the torque of a wiper, the thing would have worked like a treat. Think the other guys in the other forum must be smoking something, lol.
    Thanks for sharing.
    How have you got the Axis Assignments set , very interested to see.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,633Coins
    Ratings:
    +227 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    The power consumption ranges from 10 to 40 amps but I guess there will be more peaks.

    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  10. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,633Coins
    Ratings:
    +227 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    I do not pretend that this is an official 6DOF, it's just a prototype that is doing better than I believed, and I am going to work more on it to get more performance.
    I am from Spain.


    The work of assigning axes in SimTools is Historiker.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    • Informative Informative x 5
    • Like Like x 2
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  11. Kevin thee Bajan

    Kevin thee Bajan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Balance:
    821Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Nice Project! you guys here really takes it to a whole new level, keep up the good work.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,926
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    17,881Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,837 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello merchan-e!
    Congrats for your works!

    Could you tell us how long exactly is your motor's rod ? (I'm talking of the one which looks about 5 cm)
    Thanks
    • Like Like x 1
  13. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,633Coins
    Ratings:
    +227 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    Thank.
    I have two holes in the rod engine, 3,5 and 5cm. In the video is in the 3,5 cm.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,003Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,584 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    You have inspired me to get something done on my own project Merchane.
    • Like Like x 2
  15. RufusDufus

    RufusDufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Balance:
    12,484Coins
    Ratings:
    +833 / 7 / -1
    Excellent! thanks for sharing, gives us more to think about. :thumbs
    • Like Like x 2
  16. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,067
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    32,438Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,144 / 10 / -0
    Really Nice Work Buddy!
    • Like Like x 1
  17. danalog

    danalog Motion Sim Wannabee

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Occupation:
    WordPress Geek, Virtual Reality Nut
    Location:
    Bussum, Netherlands
    Balance:
    468Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  18. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yes I am impressed at this setup. Wipers will do ok for a while, the may actually even last. thrash them till they break!
    • Like Like x 1
  19. danalog

    danalog Motion Sim Wannabee

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Occupation:
    WordPress Geek, Virtual Reality Nut
    Location:
    Bussum, Netherlands
    Balance:
    468Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    Sorry to pollute your topic @merchan-e but your work got me thinking about removing actuators altogether and inverting the platform. I found some research into the matter here: http://www.iri.upc.edu/people/ros/CableDriven/

    hexacrane-krd-iri-lowres.jpg

    There are some issues with cable slack as you can see in this video:


    But they fixed that:


    Inverted cable driven Stewart Platforms removes some weight from platform and the power needed from the motors will be less! Using winches instead of wiper motors in such a system looks like the perfect solution as they already have the proper... well... winches :)

    What do you think?
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  20. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,633Coins
    Ratings:
    +227 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    It's much mess, but you have much inclination angle. Good thinking.