1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Project going from wood to steel 2DOF platform

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by dedas, Apr 2, 2014.

  1. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 34Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    it seems that upgrading to Simtools V2.4 is the solution.
    Now he's much more responsive and the movements are smooth.
    Going to do some Tests with other games now to see how the're doing :cheers
    • Winner Winner x 1
  2. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 34Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Okay, tested Dirt3, rFactor2 & Assetto Corsa,
    the difference is unbelievable, Simtools V2.4 is a day and night difference.
    everything is now more adjustable and much smoother. :thumbs

    What I do notice is that when I use SimUtil V1.1 my arduino doesn't save the correct settings.
    V0.63 has no problems (but I'm going to test that extensively).
    :nerd
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. susocalfail39

    susocalfail39 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    GALICIA, ESPAÑA.
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I use smc3 v1.01 and if it saves the last one automatically and you can also save several configurations manually.

    Good job, keep it up. It's great. Simtools works very well.
    i use traslator.
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2020
  4. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 34Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    looks like everything is working fine now. :thumbs
    Made a prototype with a analog hall sensor to replace the potentiometers (sensitive to wear).
    had some problems with the oscillation of the motors but I fixed that too :)

    Having a lot of fun with the sim now,
    Making a bracket to hang a 40" and two 24" monitors.
    I remove the monitor that now moves with the chair, that is just too much :nerd
    • Like Like x 1
  5. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 34Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hmmm i blew up one of my h-bridges (IBT-2),
    so i bought some bts7960's via Aliexpress, with my smd station replaced the defective chip and now it works properly again (i'm happy again:grin)
    218cdec4-109a-4b76-8a70-1ffb31772c5b.jpg 47c872b0-b029-4490-b264-3d83fa7b8457.jpg
  6. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 34Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    CIMG0838.JPG
    Updated my rig, 3 x 23" screens on a bracket (made myself :))
    it give's simracing/flying a new dimension and experiance :grin
    All my friends are enjoing the sim:thumbs, it's great fun (with a couple of beers and chips)
    • Like Like x 2
  7. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 34Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    An extension for my sim :cool:
    Okay build my own F1 steer (posted in another article)
    This is how it looks like on my Logitech G27 rig :thumbs
    CIMG0839.JPG
    • Like Like x 1