1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Project going from wood to steel 2DOF platform

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by dedas, Apr 2, 2014.

  1. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ok guys,
    It's a very simple circuit, i found it using the google o matic :grin
    Well here it is,
    Fan Temperature Controller NTC.gif
    Use the 10K multiturn to set the offset temp.
    All parts are non critical, just use what u have.:nerd

    I also tested a other circuit i found using the well know LM317 (voltage regulator)
    PC-fan-speed-controller-1w-1366645282.png
    Components are not that critical, the circuit using the LM317 can be adjusted if you use variable resistor in stead of the 2k2 resistor.
    I used a 4k7 NTC that was available in my junkbox and and used a 10K multiturm potentiometer.
    I did some testing and used 4 PC fans with no problem.
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  2. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,011Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,662 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Ok so you just using the LM317 as a speed controller for the fan. Not using it to sense the temp of the H Bridge to turn the fan on and off or from fast to slow. So its not temperature controlled.
  3. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Sorry eaorobbie,
    But it is temperature controlled, in both circuits i used a NTC. It's a temperature controlled resistor, you mount it on the heatsink.
    When the temperature rises the fan speed increases until it reaches the maximum speed. Works like a charm :thumbs
  4. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Okay now a few months later i finally had some time to complete the racingsim rig (well... for now;))
    Painted al the parts of the rig black and welded heavier motormounts.
    The result:
    CIMG0542_resize.JPG
    CIMG0541_resize.JPG 2 x 350W/24V motors and electronics
    The electronics i used: 2 x IBT-2 H-bridges (low cost and no need to cool them! even after heavy load en several hours of riding)
    Arduino Mini pro (clone) with FTDI interface.
    Somehow i managed to kill the arduino so i replaced the defective board.
    Don't know what the problem was, but after a few hours it just broke (it only cost €2,5 so no problem)
    I also mounted a 22" lcdmonitor for better driving experience.
    For now i drive mostly Dirt3, witch has nice effects when driving.

    Things to do:
    making a sequential shifter, rally car style
    Making a digital dash (Arduino + TM1638)
    Make it work with other games
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2014
  5. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    small improvement, got my self a 4-point harness for a few euros :D
    keeps me from falling :grin
    seat and 4 point harness.JPG
    • Like Like x 3
  6. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I must say it give's the driving experience a extra dimension, you feel every little bump and don't get kicked of the seat when leaving the track :grin:thumbs
  7. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Just use duct tape...........
    • Like Like x 1
  8. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    :D can be a solution for the problem, but i'll got to use a lot of it:rolleyes: (i'll stick to the harness)
    • Funny Funny x 1
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,274
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,596Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,453 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    And watch out for your hairy chest ;)
    • Like Like x 1
  10. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The IBT_2's are doing well, even under heavy load but... after examination (separating the board from the heatsink you can see there is no heat transfer compound.
    So what i did is just put on a little layer of this compound to transfer the heat a bit better tot the heatsink :nerd
    CIMG0555_resize.JPG
    :)
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    After blowing up several Arduino's, i'd investigated what could be the problem.
    Did some decoupling with 100nf c's and elco's, but that doesn't seems to do the trick.
    Googling round the internet :D i found some info of somebody who is using the IBT_2 for a segway project and had the same problem. It has something to do with a groundloop. the solution to the problem is to disconnect the GND connection on the IBT_2's to the Arduino.:nerd
    Tested it and it works fine.
    IBT_2_grndloop.jpg
    • Informative Informative x 2
  12. MikeG

    MikeG Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Occupation:
    Semi retired
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    Balance:
    1,839Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    its pretty normal practice, when working with higher power systems, to take all commons back to a common point to avoid loops which can wreak havoc with high impedance circuits. No power wires should ever be connected from device to device.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes that's correct, so i think the circuit in RufusDufus his post (SMC3 with Arduino.....) needs this modification (no GND connection from the 2 IBT_2's to the Arduino.
    Works great here, with no problems :thumbs
  14. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Implemented the new V0.7 SMC firmware with the motion control option (you can now set the amount of motion)
    Nice extra and works great.
    CIMG0556_resize.JPG
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,031
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,995Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,065 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    great work! This feature is on the to do list, in short a must have.
  16. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    a other software tools to use (some kind of a must have ;)) is a Telemetry program.
    With this tool you can analyse your driving.
    I'm driving Life for Speed (LFS 0.6e) and i'm using LRA (because i cant get F1perfview to work).
    but no problem, you can load your replay files and analyse (like the real thing) :thumbs
    LFS_telemetrie_resize.jpg
  17. michto35

    michto35 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    nice job
    i like your seat
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ok next thing to do is to build a dash and a button box :cool:
    Collected some parts, like switches, pots and a large box.
    Made a printed circuit board based on MJoy 1.2 by TronicGr (24 switched inputs and 6 analog inputs)
    CIMG0564_resize.JPG
    • Like Like x 2
  19. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    - 40Coins
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    in the mean time, i blew up 2 of my IBT_2 h-bridges, after some examination it looks like the 74hc244 chips where gone :(.
    New chips cost €0,30 and a new bridge costs around €16,-. The challenge was the fact it's SMD!
    ordered new ones, and with much patience (and magnifying glass) got the job done :grin
    CIMG0565_resize.JPG
    • Like Like x 1
  20. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    why not use a bonar board?