1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Professional Simulator in Australia

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by stowaway, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    15,114Coins
    Ratings:
    +434 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I watched the thread a couple of years ago on the platform "like a Ckas" - His sim name was "vulbas"...in fact, I think I saw him here recently???
    Good sim building fellows.
  2. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,041Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,663 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Not sure if he has ventured back to sims yet, but I know he built a couple of really good digital pinball machines a while back. Be good to hear from him.
  3. omniatlas

    omniatlas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    1Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi thanks eaorobbie -- will look at different ideas. The one I'm following now is here -- http://www.x-sim.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=335

    They managed to successfully clone the CKAS, and looks like they may have did it for under 1000 EURO too.

    Their platform looks a tad too small for a 2-man flight deck, so I am unsure if their specifications will hold the weight I require.

    I don't know anything about SEW drives, or rotary encoders (or even anything electrical for that matter), time to do some reading up!
  4. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,041Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,663 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Please realize most of the parts were donated to the school for them to build, its has a value of about 2.5k in parts. If I was to buy them here in Australia. 240v worries me if not done right.
  5. omniatlas

    omniatlas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    1Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    2.5 k should be fine as that is still within my budget.

    Looks like sending computer instructions to a pivot base is harder then I thought it would be!
  6. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,041Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,663 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    No its quite simple and cheap in 12v.
  7. glenche

    glenche DarkMan

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    61Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Hi Omniatlas,
    Where in Aus are you?
    Glenche
  8. omniatlas

    omniatlas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    1Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Brisbane, maybe moving to Sydney soon.
  9. glenche

    glenche DarkMan

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    61Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Well, When ur here, touch base with me.
    glenche