1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question problem at the beginning with Arduino and IBT2

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Tomsix, Nov 17, 2019.

  1. Tomsix

    Tomsix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Németország
    Balance:
    124Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Everything based on the SMC3 tutorial already wired with the arduino uno r3 and two ibt 2.
    MODE 2 in code modified and uploaded to the board
    In the SMC3 program I set the initial parameters based on what was described


    if i rotate the knob moves the green line up n down and has a nice stable draw.

    the moment i turn on the power to the IBT 2 the usb connection seems to broken and nothing happens
    you hear some windows sound as the usb device disconnects itself and then reconnecting

    after that if I restart SMC 3 then I get an error message that it cannot connect to arduino

    does anyone have experience with a similar phenomenon?

    I would be grateful for any helpful advice
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Tomsix

    Tomsix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Németország
    Balance:
    124Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I forgot to write that if i connect everything and switch the power on to iBT2 and so connects to usb then it makes me black display for a moment.
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,571
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,509 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sounds like a hardware fault.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Tomsix

    Tomsix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Németország
    Balance:
    124Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I thought about it too, but how do I know that the IBT 2 chip is not working There is no LED lamp on it that shows ita communicates with arduino
  6. Tomsix

    Tomsix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Németország
    Balance:
    124Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    have to try another code with another wiring maybe i get something
    there are similar projects on arduinos website
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,571
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,509 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please post some pictures of your wiring and SMC settings.
  8. moaale

    moaale IAN MRTIN

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    NN
    Location:
    ARGENTINA
    Balance:
    - 141Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimforceGT
    lo primero que tendrias que hacer es buscar en el foro halguien que tenga tus mismas placas ... seguramente deben de aver unos pares. creo que las IBT 2 son unas de las mejores placas.

    The first thing you would have to do is search the forum for someone who has your same badges ... surely they must find a few pairs. I think IBT 2 is one of the best plates.
  9. Tomsix

    Tomsix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Németország
    Balance:
    124Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I can not post pictures at the moment but, I have some news. so the fact is i'm not an electrician and i don't realy understand how it's possible but i managed to get things working :thumbs

    What is happend

    I connected a little 3V electric motor and a battery to the IBT2 and tryed it out then Voilaa it works
    Than i connected an 18V battery from an old drill machine and a wheelchair motor
    Works also

    the only problem with it that, it rotates faster in one direction than in the other:eek: i need to figure out why

    .IBT 2 doesn't seem to work on 24 v

    :think
  10. Tomsix

    Tomsix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Németország
    Balance:
    124Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I can not post pictures at the moment but, I have some news. so the fact is i'm not an electrician and i don't realy understand how it's possible but i managed to get things working :thumbs

    What is happend

    I connected a little 3V electric motor and a battery to the IBT2 and tryed it out then Voilaa it works
    Than i connected an 18V battery from an old drill machine and a wheelchair motor
    Works also

    the only problem with it that, it rotates faster in one direction than in the other:eek: i need to figure out why

    .IBT 2 doesn't seem to work on 24 v

    :think