1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

News Prepar3D 3.4 released, including VR support for Rift & Vive

Discussion in 'Prepar3D' started by noorbeast, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Prepar3D 3.4 has been released and now supports the consumer versions of the Oculus Rift and HTC Vive: http://www.prepar3d.com/news/2016/09/113700/

    A new Cinematographer control mode is now available and new Navigation Visuals screen can be used to toggle facility and airspace overlays directly on the 3D world.
  2. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,678Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,368 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Awesome! Might re-ignite my love of flight sims again.

    Oddly, using VR in a flight sim like P3D just sucks when you need to flick switches and dials etc.
    Even Leap Motion does not really help here, it far too cumbersome at the moment.
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,139 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Don't know why they bothered with flyinside being so good.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I agree FlyInside is awesome but I think flight and race game makers are starting to work out that for cockpit style games VR support is a market expectation.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,678Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,368 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Wonder if the frame rates will improve with VR being integrated and not having to make "nice" with a 3rd party app?
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Theoretically yes but one of the great FlyInside features was its own ATW implementation. FlyInside is actually more sophisticated than most game developer VR implementations, so P3D devs have a high bench mark.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,139 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    TBH there is no issue with frame rates with flyinside ATW is implemented brilliantly. What Lokheed need to do is sort the VAS issues out which has been a problem with the core FSX code for the last 10 years nearly

    64bit only would help but that brings a lot of other issues with it
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. yjgogqqq

    yjgogqqq New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    河南省禹州市
    Balance:
    175Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SCN5, SCN6, SimAxe, Arduino, JRK, Joyrider, SimforceGT, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Does the FSX_P3D_Plugin support the Prepar3D 3.4,please?
  9. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,678Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,368 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes - It works fine. All minor releases (3.x) of P3D work with this plugin.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1