1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question Power supply too noisy...

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Arazok, Apr 1, 2019.

  1. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    ...is it possible to make it more silent ?
    I am using the HP PS3701-1 but it is really loud.
    IMG_20180413_173331.jpg

    Has someone solved this problem ?
    Can a cage or a box placed over the power supply help ?

    Thanks for your tips.

    cheers,
    Dirk
  2. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    13,765Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,609 / 30 / -1
    I solved this once by opening the case and snipping a fan wire. You're taking a chance but if you're not pushing it hard all the time it may work, mine did. If worred you could always insert a quiter fan.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    ok, but are the fans normalized, so that a silent one fits into the HP power supply ?
  4. zapata_h

    zapata_h Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Check the fan voltage and measurement and replace it with a quieter one
  5. KingPommes

    KingPommes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    - 3Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    In most cases computer fan's fits in. I like bequiet fans. They are really quiet :)
  6. zapata_h

    zapata_h Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    As a rule, PC fans are usually very quiet, unlike an industrial fan
  7. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I will try it. I ordered a "be quiet!" fan with only 12 dBA of noise. The original had ~ 51 dBA.
  8. zapata_h

    zapata_h Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Very well, you will tell us the results
  9. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Unfortunately it's not working till now.
    What I did:
    I opened the HP power supply. Inside is a Sunon PMD1208PMB1-A (2).R with 9.1 Watt
    It has 3 pins: red, black, yellow.
    I assumed +, - and a PWM signal.
    I ordered the beQuitet! Pure Wings2 PWM. Unfortunately this one has 4 pins: +, -, speed and pwm.

    Anyway, the beQuiet! fan is running when red and black are connected to +/-12 V. The other cables/pins do not need a signal.
    But when connected to the power supply, it starts and goes immediately off (the power supply).
    Same, if I plug again the original fan and remove the yellow cable: With only + and - connected, the power supply goes off.

    So, it seems that the yellow cable of the Sunon is not PWM but rather a speed signal.
    Then I plugged the beQuiet! with +, - and speed to the HP, but same story. Goes on for a second, then off.
    I checked this several times. It only runs, when the 3 pins of the Sunon fan are all plugged.: Then the power supply stays on.

    Any idea what can be the problem ?

    cheers,
    Dirk
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2019
  10. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    13,765Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,609 / 30 / -1
    A four pin fan should plug into three pin connector and still work less speed control. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computer_fan . But a two or three pin fan will work without a doubt. However grounding the pwm wire instead of leaving it floating is worth a try.
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2019
  11. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes, thats known.
    I have tested with another fan, 3 pin, so same as the original: The same, runs only 1 sec, then power supply goes off.
    Maybe the power supply measures the watt / ampere and if it is below a threshold, it turns off ?
    As said, the original fan has about 9 Watt, the others far below...
  12. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I guess the problem is, that the original fan has a "rotation detection signal".
    All my other fans do not have this feature.
    I need to find out how this signal is generated and then try to fake it....
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2019
  13. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    13,765Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,609 / 30 / -1
    Or just connect the fan to the power supplies 12v output :!.
  14. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    No, as said, power supply is going off, if no or "wrong" fan is connected.
  15. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Gents, I got it !!
    It was - as I said - the rotation detection.
    Now I just give 0V / ground as rotation signal back and it is working ! :)
    I do not recognized it immediately, as the new fan is so silent ! But it's circulating and power supply keeps in ON state :)
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    see a video here
    • Like Like x 1
  17. zapata_h

    zapata_h Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino