1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

[PIMAX] All about the VR headsets

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by Pit, Sep 19, 2017.

  1. born2bslow

    born2bslow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    281Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    The 4K was the equivalent of the Dk1/2 for Oculus and wasn’t a mass produced unit. They are effectively a new startup building infrastructure as they go.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,124
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,481Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,427 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Received my new replacement cable from Pimax today. Have been running it for over a Hr and it has fixed the 'sparkle' issue completely :). Happy customer.
    • Like Like x 4
  3. anton_Chez

    anton_Chez Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    335Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Good to hear :)

    Is anyone doing anything about motion compensation? I've got a base station now and was wondering if it was worth exploring. I'm going to test my Rift again to see if there is any noticeable difference with tracking. Now that I have 3DOF motion, the heave can be quite brutal on the viewpoint. Even with full tracking and a pretty good fit on my face. I need to do more testing and maybe tune the heave to work better with motion. I never had a problem on my NLR V3 seat mover and I have limited experience with my Rift in the new motion platform. I don't have access to trackers or controllers so I would have to invest further if I were to pursue it.

    I wonder how much you can avoid the HMD bouncing slightly on your head on bumpy tracks, even WITH motion compensation?
  4. RiftFlyer

    RiftFlyer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Balance:
    1,540Coins
    Ratings:
    +116 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Mine is boxed up for the long trip back to China. They want to inspect it to see why I’m getting such bad warping and eye strain. They said they will replace it if it’s faulty or else offer me a refund. I’m also told I have to pay for shipping to China (€80) and that I will be reimbursed! I’m hoping for a full refund as I don’t believe they can deliver a quality product.

    The Pimax housing developed two hairline cracks at a corner and now the bit between the cracks has fallen away. It has never received any knocks. I never got the promised cable replacement. So far the entire experience has been a big let down.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. born2bslow

    born2bslow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    281Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Demand an rma for the cracking as it’s a common issue. My rma after a teamviewer session with them advising the hardware problem was turned around in 12 days and I only paid for the return to the uk warehouse. They refunded that the day after I uploaded the receipt.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. anton_Chez

    anton_Chez Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    335Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    I believe the eye strain is caused by a combination of incorrect / inability to set correct IPD and also a low frame rate. I killed my eyes testing out resolution settings that were too low in hz (50 -55, no smoothing) and was wondering how I was so sore after a short time. Another forum member suggested the low hz was an issue and that's one of the only times I've ran it that low for longer than like 5 minutes. I went back and fixed that up and I was able to drive so much more comfortable, like all the times before. I still am getting used to the fit and I think it's a little tight still because I use motion, but I have some new face cushions coming Monday so I will try to readjust the strap when they get here.

    Many users have reported the eye strain issue but I think there are a few things at play here.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,124
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,481Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,427 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Mine looks fine.. although they have made the plastic thicker in later models.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. anton_Chez

    anton_Chez Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    335Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yeah I think mine is labelled P2 or something? Something 2 anyway, showing the newer release.
  9. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,124
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,481Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,427 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes, there is a video I linked to later back in this thread, 'Model:2' . They fixed a few things.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. RiftFlyer

    RiftFlyer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Balance:
    1,540Coins
    Ratings:
    +116 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    model P2 has nothing to do with the cracking issue. Mine is p2 and still cracked. It’s obvious that the sharp angles are resulting in stress risers.

    I don’t think it’s any coincidence they have just announced an upgraded ruggedized version. The current one is bound to fail.
  11. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    77
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    623Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    I agree with you that there are many things at play here: framerate, HMD position on the face, brightness level, IPD setting, PP compatibility mode, smoothing. I also noticed strange thing - yesterday I tried to pay close attention to how image looks and at what angle etc, my eyes got tired. But today I just relaxed my eyes and was focusing on racing itself, and noticed no issues whatsoever. Spent like 3 hrs driving.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. Robdog

    Robdog Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Balance:
    97Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    I have finally managed to get my headset working. I am currently only using it to play Assetto Corsa but when using the headset it is displaying the image on my screens as well as the Pimax display. How do I stop it displaying on the screens and overloading my video card?
  13. anton_Chez

    anton_Chez Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    335Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    There is an option in SteamVR that says 'show VR on screen' or something like that. Uncheck that. It should be off by default though. Also, AC might have this built in by default so you might have to dig into the ini file and disable 'mirror texture' or something like that.