1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

PGsaw motors

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by drzmat, Dec 28, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi guys, i am testing my 2dof rig with the pgsaw motors now and everything is ok in smcutils when my levers are disconnected from the rig but, when i connect my levers to my rig and do some test on smcutils, the opposite side from the running motor (motor with no current) cant hold the weigth of the rig and the lever just drop putting it in the wrong range of operation.

    Is that a normal behavior of electric motors without current or my rig is to heavy(100lbs) or i should just not test it in smcutils with everything connected?

    Thanks in advance for your help.
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2020
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Mike Stuart

    Mike Stuart Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Washington State
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Mine isnt 100lbs but its close. You need to find the balance point without you in it, or you need to be in it. Correct balance is everything with these motors, I shoot for no more than 20lbs of positive or negative weight on the motors. Are you using the 50:1?
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,041
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,360 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Can you please post pictures of your rig and settings, as it could be a design or settings related issue, or a bit of both.
  5. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I have the 50:1 yes

    I balanced the rig before with me in it.

    Ill send pictures when i am back home.
  6. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    20201228_165540.jpg 20201228_165616.jpg 20201228_170121.jpg

    Please note everything is in "test mode" not final.

    The levers are 90 degree with the rods when at rest witht the pots at 2.5V.

    Everything works ok in smcutils except for the problem described earlier when the rig is connected to the levers.

    Any help would be really appreciated.

    Thanks a lot!
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,041
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,360 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So can I just clarify, one motor won't hold the weight of the rig when powered off and nobody is in the rig, is that correct?

    Normally when new a 50:1 is hard to back drive, which means it is very hard to turn the lever by hand when unpowered, is that the case for both your motors?

    What is the Center to Center (CTC) distance on your levers?
  8. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    1 motor wont hold the rig weight(without driver) when running smcutils, the opposite motor from the one running, only when the running motor lever is up, putting more rig weight on the other one.

    didnt test it in a game yet.

    Motors are in fact really hard to turn by hand.

    CTC is 3".
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,041
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,360 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What control boards are you using?
  10. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I have an arduino and a dual VNH5019 driver board.
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,041
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,360 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    There is something seriously wrong with the hardware somewhere, if a 50:1 won't hold the rig without yourself in it when the rig is powered on.

    It really does not help when you have scattered posts and issues across multiple threads, rather than a dedicated build thread, as it makes it really hard to pin down possible causes.
  12. drzmat

    drzmat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I presume its because in smcutils only 1 motor is powered on at a time, so the other one is not and may have a hard time keeping the weigth when the other motor makes the rig move up and down. ( my assumption only)

    Yeah i know about the multiple threads, thats my mistake i just started a new thread in "projects"

    Ill continue working on this issue on my project thread.

    You can close this one if needed.

    Thanks Noorbeast.
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2020
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.