1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

P3D / FlyInside and the Oculus Rift.

Discussion in 'Prepar3D' started by Archie, Jul 12, 2016.

  1. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,678Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,368 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hello fellow VR pilots,

    I'm getting conflicting information when it comes to setting up P3D for the Rift.

    Do I..

    a: Fire up P3D as normal, and when actually in a flight, the cockpit will be visible on the Rift
    b: Do I need to the buy FlyInside to ENABLE VR in P3D, or is it more a "helper app" for the P3D menu's

    If you have P3D working, can you let me know what you did?

    If I fire up P3D with the Rift connected, it crashes as the flight loads. Take the rift out and P3D loads fine, but then putting the Rift back does not switch the display.

    I'll admit I've not tinkered with it a lot as it was late last night I was doing all this.

    I'm using the latest build of P3D.

    All advice welcome :)

    Thanks.
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I recommend you get Flyinside, in my view it simplifies and adds many useful VR features that are worth every penny, including its own ATW.
  3. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,678Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,368 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So P3D should render in the HMD without FlyInside?

    FlyInside is certainly on my purchase list, once I figure out what going on with P3D.
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    P3D had basic VR support back around V2.2 but I have not messed with it since FlyInside was released, as it adds superb VR support.
  5. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,678Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,368 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Ok... Maybe I'm stupid. :) I'm still confused :confused:

    Do I need FlyInside to enable P3D to work in the Oculus, or will the Oculus work with P3D without FlyInside being installed?
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    P3D 2.2 native VR support was built against old runtime versions, so I doubt it works with Oculus home unless it has been updated since.

    I have not looked at native VR support since, as it was clunky and very limited.

    I can confirm flyinside does work, including with v3 of P3D.
  7. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,678Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,368 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK