1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

OpenVR-MotionCompensation

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by Dschadu, Apr 19, 2020.

  1. twack3r

    twack3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    42Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for the detailed reply, I really appreciate it!

    I also have a G2 on preorder and spent yesterday switching back and forth between Index and 8KX. As much as I love the low friction of the Index setup, I just cannot accept the comparatively low resolution anymore.

    again, thanks for your help on this!
  2. Bjarte Myklebust

    Bjarte Myklebust New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Balance:
    77Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi, thank you for a great software.
    Installed V0.3.2 yesterday, and was working like a charm.
    I do have HTC Vive Pro with 2 basestations, and a Vive tracker.
    The tracker is mounted on top of the back of the seat.

    It is so much smother than the Open VR Input emulator.
    The Open VR input emulator caused the picture to flicker when moving the head. This was happening by installing the software even without enabling motion cancelation. (Even in the "Home" environment of SteamVR).

    Thank you very much!
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Özden Büyüksanalan

    Özden Büyüksanalan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I tried to find some informations about oculus Go.

    Is there anyone with experiences with the Go. It is a very low price VR entry goggle.
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,085
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,352Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,386 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The Oculus Go is only 3DOF and is not suitable for VR simulation, it is being discontinued by Oculus.
  5. janio

    janio janio from brazil

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    state employee
    Location:
    belo horizonte
    Balance:
    133Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    in case anyone has the same question, know that i tried with my non steam dcs and it didn't work, even if i was running from the steam platform, so i had to download the DCS steam version again to make it work.
  6. janio

    janio janio from brazil

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    state employee
    Location:
    belo horizonte
    Balance:
    133Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    20200925_150329.jpg 20200906_103047_002.jpg Dschadu, greetings, my simulator rotates 90º to each side of the roll axis and the ovrmc has not adjusted, my head rotates out of the plane because I use the rift s with the right control attached, even though I am trying various filter adjustments. is there any information about the ovrmc working well with 180º simulators?
  7. Dschadu

    Dschadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,751Coins
    Ratings:
    +105 / 1 / -0
    This is an Oculus specific issue. Somehow they bypass the OpenVR functions for position and use their own rotation.
    No way to fix that from my side, sorry.
  8. janio

    janio janio from brazil

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    state employee
    Location:
    belo horizonte
    Balance:
    133Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    thank you my friend, soon i will receive the hp reverb g2, i hope it works, otherwise my platform will be useless.
  9. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    450Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I still experience crashing of steam VR when using OVRMC.

    I have tried both the Vive tracker method as well as the PTMover tracker.

    With the Vive tracker this started happening after the september updates.

    In case of the PTMover tracker, it crashes as soon as I try to set the Z offset of the center of rotation beyond -1. Other dimensions are OK. I am using a single lighthouse, which is taken as the coordinate origin.
  10. Patte83

    Patte83 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    15Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Can start OpenVR-MotionCompensation at all dont work for me... Did reinstal steam vr but same.. startdesktopmode dont start not even in steam vr. No idea what to do.
  11. Dschadu

    Dschadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,751Coins
    Ratings:
    +105 / 1 / -0
  12. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    450Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Today I have some more time trying to get things working. I have completely uninstalled SteamVR and OVRMC. Then I reinstalled both. I didn't help. There are two scenarios where it crashes:
    -When I set the Z offset for the PTmover tracker to more than approx -0.7
    -When I enable motion compensation and click "Apply"

    I am very much puzzled what this could be. Can anyone confirm this works? It worked for me prior the September update to steam VR. After that I was not able to get it running any more.
  13. Dschadu

    Dschadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,751Coins
    Ratings:
    +105 / 1 / -0
  14. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    450Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  15. Dschadu

    Dschadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,751Coins
    Ratings:
    +105 / 1 / -0
    The SteamVR logs do not show a crash:

    Thu Nov 12 2020 13:33:20.186 - [vrserver] Graceful exit

    However I see a lot of IPC connection issues. I need to take a look if there might be a hole somewhere for a crash to happen.
  16. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    450Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  17. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    450Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    FWIW, with a backup I was able to roll back to Steam VR 1.12. I also rolled back OVRMC to 0.3.1. With that setup, everything started working again.

    So we can exclude any external causes outside of SteamVR 1.14 and OVRMC 0.3.2.
  18. Patte83

    Patte83 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    15Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  19. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Balance:
    643Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello
    Very nice to find this post.
    Awaiting Reverb G2 in the coming weeks and wanted to ask a couple of questions.
    With regard to inside-out tracking HMD's like the Reverb G2, will I need to find a way to secure one of the hand controllers to my motion rig, or will this function without needing to affix a controller to the motion rig?
    Thanks.
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,085
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,352Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,386 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A controller mounter to the rig so that it is always visible to the Reverb will be required.
    • Like Like x 2