1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

OpenVR-MotionCompensation

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by Dschadu, Apr 19, 2020.

  1. Dschadu

    Dschadu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 1 / -0
    No, the whole idea is to have a reference that moves with your rig, otherwise it would not work. You have to mount your controller on the moving part of your simulator, as close as possible to your head.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Dschadu

    Dschadu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 1 / -0
    Hey everyone,

    the Discord Member cubex helped me to take a deeper look into the original motion compensation. The goal was to add the possibility to enter an offset to place the controller where ever you want.
    The conclusion is the following:
    There is no need for an offset.

    In the current state it is already possible to place the controller everywhere on the motion sim.

    The calculations behind it already compensates for any offset between reference and HMD.
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,711Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks for letting us know, did not make any other experience. Your app is working like a charm without any issues so far (Pimax 5k+ and VIVE Base Station Version 1)
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Hocky

    Hocky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    32Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 1 / -0
    This sounds really promising!
    Anyone got any ideas how to mount the Index controller to the rig?
  5. kparkin

    kparkin Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    137Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Just installed it and it's working very well.
    My Index controller is fastened to a piece of profile with the hand strap and a cable tie.

    Attached Files:

  6. Hocky

    Hocky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    32Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 1 / -0
    Ok, I did read something that it needed to be mounted real solid.
    Very good that you can mount in a more loose way!

    I was looking for a fancy 3D print model :)
  7. kparkin

    kparkin Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    137Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    It's pretty solid and easy to remove if needed.
    I have 150mm travel and it seems to stay on track.
  8. Graham J

    Graham J moving while sitting

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Motion platform
    Hey all, first time poster. Just got a motion rig and loving it so far!

    Just wanted to thank Dschadu for this as I was disappointed when I tried InputEmulator and it didn't work. This is much better!
    • Like Like x 1
  9. kparkin

    kparkin Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    137Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Agreed, although openvr emulator worked for me. this is much easier to implement.
  10. Graham J

    Graham J moving while sitting

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Motion platform
    I got lots of lag and stuttering in the Index HMD when enabled, and the cancellation vector seemed somehow off from what it should have been.

    I actually experienced that latter problem with MC too but thought I would try to nail down the exact problem before filing a bug report. It seems that if I move the tracker (Vive wand) around a bit before enabling MC it works fine but if I turn the wand on and immediately use it the cancellation vector is off. Initial guess is that without having moved OpenVR is relying on a Lighthouse-only position lock and the lack of accelerometer data messes it up somehow.
  11. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    654Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thank you so much, now i can fly with all shakers on in my P3 in full motion!
    I tested it first with a controller strapped to the chair, but now i have bought a dedicated tracker and this works even better. Tested it with basestations 1.0 with Vive hands Vive 2018 tracker, Valve Index and the Pimax 5k+

    It works great, verry happy with this :)
  12. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    654Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    UPDATE:

    I sold my Pimax yesterday and tried to make the index work with it (i already did shortly and it did work)
    It seems hit and miss and it just stops working after a couple of minutes.

    Really strange that it work so great with the pimax but not very realiable with the index.

    I will try to move the lighthouses in different corners of the room, i also suspect my two side tv's are interfering with the lasers. I use a dedicated tracker for MC. Will post some pics today
  13. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    654Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok, after some more testing it does work for me now with Elite and X-Plane. For some reason it does not feel right with racing sims, but i am ok with that since the movements are not so big as with flying games.

    I relocated the base stations and tracker and i can run it with proper volume on the buttkicker :)

    Don't mind the mess

    IMG_2143.JPEG IMG_2144.JPEG IMG_2145.JPEG
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Graham J

    Graham J moving while sitting

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Motion platform
    Ya those screens look pretty shiny; might be worth throwing a cover over them while using VR. Nice setup though! Looks much easier to mount a tracker than a wand, which is what I've got. Haven't tried the latest version yet but previous definitely didn't like my shakers.