1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

OpenVR-MotionCompensation

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by Dschadu, Apr 19, 2020.

  1. Marco Annunziata

    Marco Annunziata Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    85
    Balance:
    640Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Please some other idea?
  2. prime97

    prime97 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    137Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    [RF2, HP Reverb G2 with Windows Mixed Reality] Earlier this year, my start sequence was always:
    1. start WMR
    2. start Steam (admin)
    3. start OVRMC using a desktop shortcut to the .bat file; which of course launched SteamVR
    4. start RF2 from Steam (via Desktop)
    Since the updates that necessitated OVRMC release 0.3.7, step 4 now fails:

    "rFactor 2 will launch into an environment in your VR HMD as well as on your desktop. Performance may not be acceptable ... "

    And it is not possible to get pass this.

    The above steps did not require VR to be used until the RF2 car was in the pits and ready to go.

    I have tried now to do the latter steps in VR:
    1. start WMR
    2. start Steam (admin)
    3. inVR, start SteamVR
    4. in VR, bring up SteamVR Dashboard (right controller little button)
    5. in VR, bring up OVRMC (little cog on bottom of Dashboard) and enable MC
    6. in VR, start RF2, select car, etc.; ready in pits
    But now I am looking at the pits (with the headset) looking through a hole in some black layer. It is like I have a black helmet on my head with a slot to look out (i.e. the VR headset), and another helmet over the first one and I am trying to look out through the two of them. This seems like the warning given about: "rFactor 2 will launch into an environment in your VR HMD".

    What start sequence should I be doing?
  3. Wagnard

    Wagnard Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    4,659Coins
    Ratings:
    +628 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi,
    In steam, right click the mixed reality for SteamVR , properties and under beta, select the LKG version. It should fix the black stuff
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2023
  4. Marco Annunziata

    Marco Annunziata Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    85
    Balance:
    640Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    These are all workarounds
  5. prime97

    prime97 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    137Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thanks, that fixed the black stuff and service has been resumed.
  6. Michail

    Michail Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2022
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    697Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 1 / -0
    which motion software do you combine the motion compensation? Flygpt mover, or is it possible with simtools too?
  7. Michail

    Michail Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2022
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    697Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 1 / -0
    Hello Guys, I have a Reverb G2 and I toyed both virtual tracker and HP controller. Virtual tracker is to difficult to setup with the ovrmc plug-in output for flygpt mover and the results was over compensation. With the hp controller I had better results. But when my rig is rolling for sway effect the compensation comes back with a notisable lag.
    The other problem is, that even when the controller is located on the table so it is laying stll, I have in the view drift and up and down drifts. So it can’t be the vibrations of the rig. Tried out even when motion rig is disabled. Is there an issue in wmr or what else can I try?
  8. Michael Mariacher

    Michael Mariacher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    65
    Balance:
    626Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Simtools 2.x
  9. Michail

    Michail Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2022
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    697Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 1 / -0
    with HP controller??? May you can share the settings please?
  10. Michael Mariacher

    Michael Mariacher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    65
    Balance:
    626Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hi, no,
    I don't own HP stuff. I'm using a HTC Vive Pro.
    Michael
  11. J-1775

    J-1775 Aviator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    1,507Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    FlyPT Mover has a virtual tracker that you can use for either OVR compensation or OXR compensation tools.
  12. InTheory

    InTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2023
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Not sure What I am doing wrong. I installed OpenVR motion compensation as directed. Set up my FLPT OVRMC output. But the virtual compensation device does not show up in my list in OVRMC settings in Steam VR.. Any help? Using a Quest 2.
  13. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    On your steam VR dashboard there should be a little cogwheel for the OVRMC settings. You need to activate it there, and set the center of rotation of your rig.
  14. InTheory

    InTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2023
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I got into the settings but my virtual motion device (Fly PT OVRMC) is not showing up. Just the 2 controllers for the quest.
  15. dureiken

    dureiken Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,182Coins
    Ratings:
    +165 / 2 / -0
    Hi guys,

    would like your expert help : I just try to make OVRMC works with my Crystal but I don't achieve to do it.

    Case 1 : 1/2 it doesn't launch (I don't see it in dashboard, but SVR settings panel shows it's launched, and SteamVR\drivers\00vrmotioncompensation\bin\win64 log file doesn't update)

    Case 2 : steamVR crash at startup, and have to reboot and unblock extension.

    I tried SVR and SVR beta, maybe it does'nt come from pimax ...

    thanks for your help
  16. HugoB

    HugoB New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    I followed the steps to install OVRMC, but the cog doesn't show up.. I tried all the troubleshooting advice ("If you cannot see the small cogwheel on your SteamVR dashboard, check the following:"). I am running the latest SteamVR (1.26.7) and not beta. I am using OVRMC v0.3.7 I tried restarting SteamVR, restarting Steam, the PC, uninstalling OVRMC and uninstalling SteamVR with a clean uninstallation deleting all traces of SteamVR and OVRMC and doing a fresh SteamVR install and initial setup then reinstall OVRMC. No luck, the 'cog' won't show in the overlay menu. Of course I tried activating it: [​IMG]

    Here are my logs, hope someone can help?

    driver_motioncompensation.log

    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:33: VRMotionCompensation dll loaded...
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:33: CServerDriver::Init()
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:33: IVRDriverContext::GetGenericInterface hook is enabled (Address: 00007FF696EEC1F0)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:33: IVRServerDriverHost006::TrackedDeviceAdded hook is enabled (Address: 00007FF696EED110)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:33: IVRServerDriverHost006::TrackedDevicePoseUpdated hook is enabled (Address: 00007FF696EED130)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:33: Install Dir:C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\SteamVR\drivers\00vrmotioncompensation
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:34: Found device LHR-91FC5054 (deviceClass: 1)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:34: ITrackedDeviceServerDriver005::Activate hook is enabled (Address: 00007FFBE5C48300)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:34: Successfully added device LHR-91FC5054 (OpenVR Id: 0)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:34: Found device SimRacingStudioVirtualTracker 1.0.0.1 (deviceClass: 2)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:34: ITrackedDeviceServerDriver005::Activate hook is enabled (Address: 00007FFBFCC7B120)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:34: Successfully added device SimRacingStudioVirtualTracker 1.0.0.1 (OpenVR Id: 1)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:37: Found device LHB-F025FF2F (deviceClass: 4)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:37: ITrackedDeviceServerDriver005::Activate hook is enabled (Address: 00007FFBE5C42890)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:37: Found device LHB-996D761F (deviceClass: 4)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:37: Successfully added device LHB-F025FF2F (OpenVR Id: 2)
    [INFO] 2023-08-23 21:56:37: Successfully added device LHB-996D761F (OpenVR Id: 3)

    and here is vrserver.txt:

    Attached Files:

  17. Wagnard

    Wagnard Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    4,659Coins
    Ratings:
    +628 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The ddl seems loaded.
    no idea why the cog is not there but you could try to open the desktop version of it. there is a desktop. bat file in the OVRMC installation folder. if lucky it may work.
  18. HugoB

    HugoB New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    I tried the 'startdesktopmode.bat', nothing happens.. In task manager there is no program started.. here are my settings:
    [​IMG]

    I tried turning them on and off and restarting SteamVR and restarting the PC, no luck, no OVRMC 'cog' visible.. I tried uninstalling OVRMC and reinstalling it multiple times, it just won't seem to run. I have Windows Defender turned off completely, during installation and during running. Is there any other log I could look for?
  19. HugoB

    HugoB New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Well, if SteamVR is not running and I start 'startdesktopmode.bat', SteamVR with launch, but nothing is visible.
  20. Wagnard

    Wagnard Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    4,659Coins
    Ratings:
    +628 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    you can use startdesktopmode.bat when steamvr is started. On my side it's what I always do.
    If it still fail you could try reinstalling steamvr and steam maybe.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1