1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

Showroom ODrive Turnigy 190kv BLDC 6DOF - Here we go again

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Oct 12, 2019.

  1. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,112
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,498Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,789 / 31 / -1
    The good is that you can still have VR like in games released before VR since most of the popular ones have 3d Vision support. And with TrackIR you can add head movement too. There's also not the issue of needing motion compensation. :)

    The bad is Nvidia discontinued 3d Vision support in their drivers soon after VR became viable. Also I thought old used stock of 3d Vision equipment would be cheaper now but the opposite is true and prices are higher on used equipment than is was new in most cases. :(
    • Like Like x 1
  2. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,363 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Oooo goodies

    20200121_172956.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,363 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Oh shit, think I went overboard with the 27's lol 22 or 24 would of been fine

    15796302245726949304780840432803.jpg
    • Like Like x 5
  4. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    9,462Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,271 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    :eek: Do you think the central post can handle it?
    I have to say, that using the monitor close, is not VR, but easy to get immersed.
    And I'm having fun with BeamNG. There's no VR. I'm trying to trash the rig with collisions! Frighting to go head to head with a truck! Just imagine it in VR.
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,363 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    No Iwill need end supports but I knew that before I bought it i just couldnt be arsed making my own and for £40 it was just easier.

    And i want the screens for GTA and FS2020 because it wont have VR at launch as much as we wish it
  6. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,526Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,739 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF

    May do something similar, as my capsule came originally with screens, so all the mounting points are still there. Weight/inertia is now not a issue as it does not move :). Could also be good for adding motion to 4K videos - roller coasters etc.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,363 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Added a couple of supports and the triples are totally solid ow, no flex at all

    20200122_205047.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
  8. JAD

    JAD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    1,222Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 3 / -0
    Are those 27in monitors 1440P?
    Im looking forward to see how these run with your 2080ti.

    Now you got me thinking of going triple also.
  9. MagicMunkyNuts

    MagicMunkyNuts Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Occupation:
    Disability Support.
    Location:
    Maffra, Victoria, Australia.
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    @SilentChill I downloaded a few plastic end caps through Fusion 360 when I was designing an 8020 chassis. They convert to .stl for 3D printing and it could end up saving you a bit of cash if you're considering adding them to your rig at any point.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  10. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,363 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    No they are just standard 60hz 1080p. I'm not too bothered about the fancy screens as I will still do most of my gaming through VR.

    That's great if ya can share the file :) I didnt think of 3d printing them I need a shit load of them
  11. MagicMunkyNuts

    MagicMunkyNuts Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Occupation:
    Disability Support.
    Location:
    Maffra, Victoria, Australia.
    Balance:
    196Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    @SilentChill

    Yeah no worries, just grab a few measurements of the internal and external dimensions of the square tube you've used and I'll do some online hunting for the right bits, convert them to .stl and send them your way in the Discord chat.
  12. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,112
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,498Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,789 / 31 / -1
    The reason I started using 3d Vision years ago was for FSX. I was blown away with how much more immersive it was just like those that are using HMD's for the first time that have never experienced 3d before are. Considering FS2020 is being built from the old FSX code it would be awesome if we could invoke 3d vision with a renaming hack or something but probably wishful thinking.
  13. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,363 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I'm not sure there will e enough people who would want it now VR is here but you never know
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. misoswan

    misoswan Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Balance:
    849Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, JRK
    hello AMC1280 work with bldc motor? thanks
    you i cant used on you project thanos AMC1280 ? or amc not work with bldc motor? thanks
  15. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,112
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,498Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,789 / 31 / -1
    Since you stated it won't have VR support initially though it would be fantastic if those of us that already have 3d Vision could just rename it and get it to work until it does (if ever) ;). I'd rather have a large screen with 3d Vision and TrackIR over triple flats myself.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,363 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I don't know you would have to ask Thanos best asking in his Discord channel habits veryvactive there
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +869 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It's really easy. Make sure your meter is configured for voltage and one lead on one ground connection and the other on the ground you want to compare to. You’ll get a positive or negative voltage if there’s a difference.

    Also handy for checking household appliances for ground fault issues.
  18. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    763
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,044Coins
    Ratings:
    +653 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Short Answer is no.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,363 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Slowly getting there have a few more teething problems to sort but I'm nearly there

    • Like Like x 8
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  20. oppie

    oppie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    Mech. Engineer
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Balance:
    25Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi Silentchill,

    I've been following your (and FlyPT, Wickie's and Stijn's) work for quite some time now and I am really impressed by your results.
    Just want to let you know that your dedication to the simulator and this thread is highly appreciated and is inspiring me to start a similar project.
    Keep it up!

    Regards, Oppie
    • Like Like x 1