1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom ODrive Turnigy 190kv BLDC 6DOF - Here we go again

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Oct 12, 2019.

  1. Wagnard

    Wagnard Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,097Coins
    Ratings:
    +282 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hey bud, I see you are using PLA filament.
    Have you ever tried PETG? It is more resistant and is a little more flexible than PLA (PLA will break easily on small part that you try to flex, but PETG will tolerate more).
    I have a lot of 3d printed part on my rig and PETG last longer for me.
    Only downside, it is a little harder to print than PLA. (at least on my ANET A8)
    You may want to try if you haven't yet.
    Just my 2 cents.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I'm using "PLA Plus" supposedly as strong as PETG but soo much easier to print with not as flexible but not brittle like normal PLA

    I did try PETG did a couple of spools but didnt really take to it
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Because all my 3D printed parts are building blocks, child is there for size reference. @Pierre Lalancette he is 7 and half years old just so you know 20191207_194231.jpg
    • Funny Funny x 3
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
  4. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    8,621Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,159 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Liar, by the clothes, it's an elf, they are smaller! :p

    So is this going to be wood again?



    Edit:... elf or gnome... where is my English dictionary...
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Haha yes Elf !!

    The base will be wood but the frame aluminium, the top wood frame is just temporary to see how big its gonna be and decide how I'm going to build my frame as I have not designed it yet.
  6. yellofella

    yellofella Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Occupation:
    builder
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SimforceGT
    Hi Craig
    I think you have given the secret away now mate as to being able to build a great sim in such short time, you just need to get the elf's to help lol.
    No seriously I see on your parts list there is 15 meters of 30mm aluminium box section (guessing this is for your frame). I was just wondering if you were going to tig weld the joints as i cant see you using nuts and bolts ect. If you don't have a tig welder and was going to pay to get it done then I thought you might try the aluminium flux cored rods.

    you would probably have to v out the ends of the box fairly well and maybe use some gussets in places but you could build the whole frame for a sim with just a hacksaw, file, wire brush and a gas torch and should be strong enough for sim use.
    I would build the whole frame out of 30x30mm timber (same as the aluminium box section) using superglue and activator for quick drying on the joints. get the frame/platform working with sim tools as your motors would prob break the frame if something isn't right rather than something more expensive. Once you feel the frame is right then re make the frame in aluminium box using the timber one as a drawing/example.
    Im sure a man of your sim building experience has already got all this worked out but just tryin to help a fellow uk sim racer out.
    Matt
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Great minds think alike ! That's exactly how i'm doing it ! :D

    I have bought some brazing rods and some gas, I'm really hoping it will work because I wont be able to fit the frame down into the basement if I have it TIG welded by someone
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 3
  9. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    741
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,139Coins
    Ratings:
    +746 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    7 and half years old or an elf, they are about the same size. It's a good reference.

    Man, I was laughing my head off.

    Good idea to film a full build. It will avoid many questions in the future.
  10. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Balance:
    1,375Coins
    Ratings:
    +130 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    Wow really a great job! .. Thanks for sharing it.
    Some questions...
    Do you put grease in the worm and also in the plastic part that flows and crawls in the actuator sheath? At the end of the video install the joint ... how do you fix it to the stem?
    Wich is the actuator excursion and what is its total length?
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2019
  11. JAD

    JAD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    824Coins
    Ratings:
    +105 / 2 / -0
    I once tried this welding with rods and gas but it didnt go so well for me.
    I used regualr propane and also tried the MAP gas which supposedly runs 30% hotter.
    But I really needed to mix with oxy to get the hotter flame for it to work. I didnt go with this in the end for various reasons.
    I havent watched the video and you may be already aware of this.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. PeterW

    PeterW alias Wickie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    Occupation:
    Dipl. Ing. Mb (FH)
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    670Coins
    Ratings:
    +184 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi Craig,
    may I call you MASTER from now on? :grin
    I love your fantastic actuator design!
    I think if you manage to make a good working and reliable simulator with this 3D-printed BLDC actuator you will revolutionize the DIY - sim building szene. Great!! I love to see people walking an unknown road.
    Wish you a great success!
    :popcorn
    Wickie
  13. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    No no, I've just copied you but in plastic, well kinda but yours inspired mine to be honest .

    Thanks for the compliments though :D
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Finally we have 6 ! So much to do so little time

    20191209_215515.jpg
    • Like Like x 8
    • Winner Winner x 1
  15. thecures

    thecures New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    nice work !!! i like your actuator...but the stl file are available?.tks
  16. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Once I have it up and running and tested to make sure it's all strong enough I will share them, I dont want to waste anyone's time printing a failure
    • Like Like x 3
  17. thecures

    thecures New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    you're right...!!!!!
  18. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,446Coins
    Ratings:
    +851 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    hey @SilentChill enter expletive here , mate jsut saw your youtube vid part two ...Gobsmacked would be understatement . i knew you did not hang about . BUT DAMMMMM man theres progress and then there is warp-speed ...Gotta say mega well done good buddy . great work and progress .. im thinking your def a not let grass grow beneath feet sorrta guy thats fast work by any standard :cheers:popcorn
    • Like Like x 1
  19. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Part 2 :)


    • Winner Winner x 5
  20. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,438
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,124Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,727 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    You don't stuff around, it's like you have built one before :).
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Funny Funny x 1