1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom ODrive Turnigy 190kv BLDC 6DOF - Here we go again

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Oct 12, 2019.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,479
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,750Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,158 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Time for me to upgrade so I have been watching and reading to see who I can copy next :D and it has to be the ODrive path.

    I was going to go 24DC but after seeing @PeterW and @Carelsbergh_Stijn projects my mind was made up.

    So I'm in the early stage and just wanted to get my head round the ODrive and how all this shit works and I have got it working with FlyPT mover (video below)

    Reason I chose these is they are very small and I can make a very small compact actuator for my limited head room.

    I thought about the SFX servo motors and Thanos AASD but that's just not for me and that horrid whine would drive me crazy.

    So here's what I have so far and a plan in my head which I will have to make in sketchup at some point because I will be 3D printing a lot of my parts.

    20191012_211242.jpg 20191012_211237.jpg 20191012_211020.jpg 20191012_210910.jpg 20191012_211353.jpg 20191012_211348.jpg 20191012_210945.jpg 20191012_211012.jpg 20191012_211004.jpg



    Cheers all and here's to the next one !!
    • Like Like x 8
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. JAD

    JAD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    774Coins
    Ratings:
    +92 / 2 / -0
    Now you got me thinking of a do over!
    I'm liking your hardware choices, will watch with great interest.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. PeterW

    PeterW alias Wickie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Occupation:
    Dipl. Ing. Mb (FH)
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    286Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Man, you really did it!! :thumbs I can hardly believe how fast you got this far!
    You will see the great potential in the BLDC motors and in the Odrive and I am glad that someone that is as famous as you would like to go this way.
    With the setting of the Odrive parameters I can help you and maybe also Stijn and Zennix (in the Odrive forum) .
    I already walked through the Valley of Tears - and think you don't have to do same. The basic work is already done.
    I once created a table with some important Odrive settings that can help a lot understanding the syntax of the setting-commands:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/0j904viqwh77yyb/Odrive-commands.ods?dl=0
    If you want to use limit switches - and I think so, you have to use a Odrive-Software branch that supports the Endstops. I could forward you a version I got from Zennix that works stable with the endstops.

    Wickie
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  4. PeterW

    PeterW alias Wickie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Occupation:
    Dipl. Ing. Mb (FH)
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    286Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I have just seen that you ordered 190kV engines. Weren't you going to order the 290kV engines? The 190KVs are little slower but could work anyway
    Wickie
  5. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    effin awesome.. i like this community inspires each other..
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  6. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,479
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,750Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,158 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes I will need the end stops I have read the forum over at Odrive is it Watermelon whos branch that has the end stops built in ? I'll be sure to give you a shout as soon as I'm somewhere near having to flash the new firmware

    I changed my mind and went for more torque and higher voltage so I have a 42v PSU which I will turn down hopefully to a max of 37v to match the motors. I will still have a over 6000rpm to play with which is more than enough but I will have more torque, I think will be close to 3N.m a motor. Maths never my strong point lol

    P.s. Famous ?? Haha make me blush :p
    • Like Like x 1
  7. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    jeez 6000 rpm? me thinks @SilentChill is making ejection seat simulator.. :p
    • Funny Funny x 1
  8. hideki

    hideki Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    122Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    just WOW!! Those litle motors cost just 88 euros in Spain. Are you sure they will take all the load of your rig? this forum is always surprising. Honestly, what a Great work SilentChill...
  9. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    6,821Coins
    Ratings:
    +757 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    HeyHey @SilentChill early days yet mate and already showing the hall marks of a man on a mission , Nice work matey :) and so here's to you paving the way to another generation of Sim platforms ...very nicely done :)
  10. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,009Coins
    Ratings:
    +121 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    love to see your dedication to the sim ! this is your third go at actuators

    what is it about your current actuators that made you decide to change

    are you using a 1605 pitch ball screw ?