1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Oculus setting that will change your (VR) life

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by Blame73, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,173
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,030Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,030 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have to share this with you, my friends.
    It's a game changer, the best thing that happened to VR games so far.

    I just tried and... WOW!!! You have to see with your own eyes!

    https://www.reddit.com/r/simracing/comments/56b7og/psa_for_vr_racers_new_oculus_asynchronous_space/

    Quick and dirty how it works: Game has to reach at least 45fps by itself. The oculus runtime will work its magic and create new artificial frames (not just reprojection) and send those to the headset for a smooth 90FPS experience. Games that were a mess before like pCars or euro/american truck sim will be as smooth as any other game. And you can now turn on settings that would slow the action down like ground cover in Dirt Rally and even set the supersampling to 2.0 in Assetto Corsa. All with the previous minimum spec of a GTX 970 (the new minimum according to Oculus is a GTX 960 since this tech is so good).

    For now you need a Geforce card (AMD coming soon) and make sure the game is using the Oculus runtime instead of steamVR/openVR

    To enable it, this Registry key needs to be set to 1. If you don't have said key, you can just create it yourself. Here are instructions:

    • 1: Run regedit.exe
    • 2: Open the following path: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Oculus VR, LLC\LibOVR
    • 3: Create a new entry (DWORD 32-bit) in LibOVR and call it: AswEnabled
    • 4: Set the value of the new entry to Binary 1.
    • 5: Exit regedit and give it a try. No reboot is necessary.
    If the path above doesn't exist:
    • 1: Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software and Create a new key under Software named: Oculus VR, LLC
    • 2: Create another new key under the Oculus VR key you just created and name it: LibOVR
    • Informative Informative x 5
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2016
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,365 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yeah just seen this morning sounds awesome. Asyncronous Space Warp sounds like something from Star Trek :D

    Shame I have no rig test on for a little while .
  4. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,022
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,737Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,033 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    589
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,272Coins
    Ratings:
    +392 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    My new oculus are a pair of days away, got a new gtx1060 and I'm happy now that I got this one instead of a 1070 to save money for my wip new sim :) Great timing!
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  6. HoiHman

    HoiHman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    321Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 1 / -0
    It's amazing. I just spend the whole morning playing Dirt Rally on high with 4AA and PPD 150%.

    Super smooth
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. steveh2112

    steveh2112 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Occupation:
    semi retired
    Location:
    Phuket, Thailand
    Balance:
    1,024Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    i'll try it, i found that increasing the pixel density setting in DCS makes it look amazing, is that the same thing you are talking about?
  8. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    589
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,272Coins
    Ratings:
    +392 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    No, it is tottally different thing, what it does is to get that games running below 90fps in your pc, to run silk smooth as long as they can run at least at 45fps, so, you now can up your pixel density some more.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,950
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,945 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just a slight correction, you can up your super sampling and game settings, pixel density is actually a physical property of how many pixels per inch or centimeter the screen has: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pixel_density
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. mjgutie2

    mjgutie2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    California
    Balance:
    141Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Sadly this doesn't work for Windows 7 :(
  11. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,173
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,030Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,030 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    With latest Oculus update you're getting ASW without the need of the registry trick.
    Time to rise your games' settings guys!
    • Agree Agree x 2