1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Oculus Quest 2 - Nearly 4k @90hz $299

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by Javo5, Sep 18, 2020.

  1. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    296Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    https://www.roadtovr.com/oculus-quest-2-announcement-pre-order-release-date/

    But no Displayport for PCVR :( only USB compressed oculus link
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,610
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,581 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. lysa elec

    lysa elec LYSA ELEC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Balance:
    - 114Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    facebook has made great efforts with this headset with a resonable rate
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,610
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,581 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Unfortunately Facebook has created a PR nightmare for itself, with automated bans locking people out of their HMD and content they paid for supposedly breaching the Facebook TOS, when many have not. Oculus Support has been tasked with sorting the mess out, but the actual problem is automated Facebook algorithms.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. lysa elec

    lysa elec LYSA ELEC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Balance:
    - 114Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    this helmet vr is thery good solution the last update is a solution for the PC
  7. Pojo

    Pojo Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    You can also use Virtual Desktop to stream to the Quest 2 without the need to use the link cable. I find that the the Quest2 is very uncomfortable out of the box, coming from the Rift CV1. I've upgraded mine with the HTC deluxe audio strap, vr cover and have an extra battery in the back to extend the battery life by 8hrs and also acts as a counter balance since the headset is front heavy. After these changes it's comfortable enough for a few hours at a time and the screen is a huge step up from CV1. I usually use the link cable for sim racing, but the virtual desktop does work almost as well.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hey I was wondering what your setup is. I have been working on getting link/VD working for a few months now and cant seem to get anything to work without immersion breaking stuttering. I have tried all types of setting configurations, different computers, and even got my headset replaced.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,610
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,581 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sounds like your computer is struggling, what are its specs?

    Most simulation style games are not particularly well optimised for VR.
  10. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have an RTX 2060 and a Ryzen 9 8-core. I’ve tried it on my friends laptop who has a 1080 TI. When tested with steam VR performance test, it says that both are more than ready for VR.
  11. noSaint

    noSaint New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2021
    Messages:
    25
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    but the GAMES are lagging behind
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. Pojo

    Pojo Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    You need to make sure you are connected to 5ghz range. I had to split my 2.4ghz band off onto a seperate SSID because it seems like the quest2 will connect to 2.4 if it can. When connectd to 2.4 it was very jittery. I also have my PC wired to the router and my router is in the same room I play. If you have PC connected via wifi then the latency is compounded and it may be more noticeable. I'm running a 3800x and Gigabtye RTX 3080 at stock speeds.
  13. Pojo

    Pojo Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Oh also when you do the speed test with the oculus link cable connected you should see speeds > 1gbps. When I tested mine the first time I was getting speeds under 400mb. I flipped the usb connector on the side connected to the PC and it jumped to 1.2gpbs. So if you are getting low speed when you test try to flip the cable.
  14. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I use a hotspot to communicate with the headset and it is locked at 5 ghz. It shows 1200 mbps in VD.
  15. Pojo

    Pojo Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Try selecting H264 as the video codec, some people have issues with HVEC. Otherwise I don't know what the issue could be, it works flawlessly for me.
  16. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have tried that. I’m basically just getting a bunch of stutters. My GPU is only operating at 40%-60% and my cpu is at 20%z
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,610
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,581 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What are the corresponding game settings and frame rates?
  18. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Changing game settings from all low to all high yields a 10% increase in gpu usage in XPlane 11 I’m not sure what the frame rate is but if I had to guess it would be around the target frame rate of 72 when it is not stuttering.

    Project cars two is pretty much the same except when I turn super sampling on it destroys performance.

    When I down sampled the headset all the way in the oculus link settings, it made performance worse then when it was on 1.00.
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,610
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,581 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can give OVR Metrics a go: https://developer.oculus.com/documentation/tools/tools-ovrmetricstool/?device=QUEST

    You can't presume a simulation game framerate, particularly because such games have poorly optimised VR. In fact for things like flight games where you are in the game, and what plane you use, can have a very significant impact of framerates.

    There are also potential external factors, Nvidia has advised its next update will have a partial fix for some stutter issues in the current drivers.