1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom Obutto R3volution (Revolution) 2DOF Simulator Conversion

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by rundmg, Oct 14, 2014.

  1. rundmg

    rundmg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Occupation:
    Web & iOS Developer + Marketing & Design
    Location:
    Pennsylvania - USA
    Balance:
    367Coins
    Ratings:
    +97 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Okay! So the motors came this last friday and I was able to get it all running Saturday morning around 3:30am. I have lots of pictures as well as a video of it in action and a time lapse of (most) of the build to post (all coming tomorrow hopefully when i'm on my other computer). Can't wait to show her to you guys.
    • Like Like x 4
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,766
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    103,636Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,610 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You have obviously had a busy and exciting weekend @rundmg, I am looking forward to both the pictures and videos :thumbs
  3. bosmeck

    bosmeck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Occupation:
    designer
    Location:
    USA - Texas - Fort Worth
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 1 / -1
  4. rundmg

    rundmg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Occupation:
    Web & iOS Developer + Marketing & Design
    Location:
    Pennsylvania - USA
    Balance:
    367Coins
    Ratings:
    +97 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    IMG_0312.jpg All right Below is the rest of the pictures I took, as well as a quick (very raw) video i took before I had all of the wires hidden, settings tweaked etc. I'll be posting a better video in the near future. I will post the time lapse of the build when i get home from work today

    Total cost to convert static rig to 2dof was $709.65. This included several tools, bits, etc as well though. Closer to $620 just for hardware itself.

    If you want to see anymore pictures or have any questions just let me know!

    Quick Video:

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2014
  5. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    that looks really good man! and well done on the cost of conversion.
    Motion looks good as well
    • Agree Agree x 3
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,766
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    103,636Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,610 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  7. bosmeck

    bosmeck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Occupation:
    designer
    Location:
    USA - Texas - Fort Worth
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 1 / -1
    you have done such a beautiful job here. The static rig is such a good looking rig to start with and your add on looks factory. Lovely work and a great thread. It would be great to hear what you have to say about going from static to motion. Look forward to hearing about that. From the video, it looked like you was in Germany. The cost was good in this as well. Well done and thanks for taking the time to share.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,122Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,490 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nice finished product Rundmg im sure you'll find some mods to add in the near future.


    Curious how wide is the monitor mount legs, Also how wide if the Revolution at the base ? Still haven't started on buddies revolution(which is still in the box after 6months**including a Full Clubsport setup including CSS shifter LOL oh peter peter) but the time is Drawing nearer, And of coarse I cant have anything he doesn't So Ill be doing Traction loss as well but looking at how narrow the monitor mount is in comparison to the Revolution front end.....hrmmmm has me thinking.
  9. rundmg

    rundmg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Occupation:
    Web & iOS Developer + Marketing & Design
    Location:
    Pennsylvania - USA
    Balance:
    367Coins
    Ratings:
    +97 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks everyone, to answer a few of your questions:

    @bosmeck I indeed was in Germany with the 70's Ferrari 312T. Love that car on that track. As for going from static to 2dof i kinda of already knew what to expect for the most part since my brother just converted his Ozone to a 2dof rig and i used the same core parts (Motors, JRKs, Power supplies). As for going to 2dof and having several hours in it now, i'm sure everyone else that has done so will agree, you wonder how you ever raced without it. For example I can't play F1 2014 anymore until a plugin for it comes out because it just feels dull. Definitely worth the time and money (esp if you enjoy designing and building stuff as I do).

    @Nick Moxley that is crazy, I left work early the second my Revolution came to try her out. As for finding other mods i'm already in the market to add 3dof..your video has got me seeing how well it compliments the 2d0f and makes the whole experience just that much better. I attached a picture with a tape measure of the the feet so you can get a idea of what the width of the wheel/pedal frame is and the monitor stand is. If you cant read it well the monitors are 30" apart from outside to outside. I also attached pictures of the back of mine to give you a little idea of what i plan on doing to get to 3dof...I am either going to mount the monitor mount to a wall or a wider stand since the legs for the stand come off individually (the mount acutally doesn't even get bolted to the legs its just the weight holding it where it is) and then mounting everything else onto a platform. Hope that helps if you have any other questions or I didn't answer that right just let me know

    Attached Files:

    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2014
  10. rundmg

    rundmg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Occupation:
    Web & iOS Developer + Marketing & Design
    Location:
    Pennsylvania - USA
    Balance:
    367Coins
    Ratings:
    +97 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    All right not sure if anyone will be interested in this or not but I felt like trying to make a time-lapse of my build just for fun and this is what I ended up with. I stopped recording when i was finished getting it working so there isn't any of me cleaning up wires wrapping base and all that.

    P.s. sorry in advance for my chair being in the perfectly wrong spot so much as well as my ass at the end. Also there are cats.

    • Like Like x 4
  11. Ben Selph

    Ben Selph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    531Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Great build! This is very close to the sim I'm planning on building except that I'll be using off-the-shelf parts from SimXperience since I don't have a workshop or really any building skills, lol. I think I'm going to bolt the starter setup actuators to a plywood board reinforced with 2x4's then bolt the obutto to the front and have the 2DOF on the back. I'll then bolt the entire frame to their traction loss unit for the 3DOF although I'm not sure how the pivot point fits at the front of the frame for the traction loss...any thoughts? Also, how do you like the shifter being connected to the seat? Is that the better option than having the shifter attached to the floor separately so it doesn't move with the seat? I would think having it attached to the seat with motion would be more realistic...Thanks!
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,766
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    103,636Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,610 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You are so neat and tidy @rundmg, I had stuff everywhere during my build!

    I think your cat likes the idea of being the project manager and seemed to enjoy the final part of putting your sim together as much as you did ;)

    The time lapse was a really cool idea and I really appreciate that you took the time to put it together!
  13. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +384 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Nice and clean build.

    Love the cats supervising :)
  14. bosmeck

    bosmeck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Occupation:
    designer
    Location:
    USA - Texas - Fort Worth
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 1 / -1
    (grin) - Unfortunately, the time lapse video is about as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike. Having said that, you are forgiven because you have great photos as back ups;) Next time, setup with this in mind… imagine what you would want to see. Sorry for the criticism brother but hopefully if you do another one of next installment, just aim down on the bench;) Time lapse video is a cool idea.
    Wow, you have so much space to work. Great light. Like the Audi and cat.

    So motion is the way to go. That seems to be the norm with the people. I’ll be checking out what you do next for sure. Brilliant job my friend.
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
  15. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,122Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,490 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  16. rundmg

    rundmg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Occupation:
    Web & iOS Developer + Marketing & Design
    Location:
    Pennsylvania - USA
    Balance:
    367Coins
    Ratings:
    +97 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @Ben Selph Are you planing on having all of your rig attached to the 2 SCN 5s or just the seat like mine is? If its just the seat then you build a similar build that i did with their parts instead of what i used, then you mount that board and everything else (Except monitors if it were me) to a platform that is on a swivel..for more info on how to do that I'd suggest looking at @Nick Moxley 's 2dof to 3dof build and my brothers initial posts on taking his 2dof to 3dof on his thread here. Because of the weight of the Obutto's i would recommend not having the entire rig hooked up to the 2dof. @scalhoun and i tried to do it with his and it was clear that you would have to sacrifice speed of the motor for power; however, with a SCN 5 you may not have those problems, I haven't gotten a chance to mess with them much to be honest. As for the shifter being mounted to the seat instead of static, I would say it's personal preference, i prefer it attached to the seat so I know exactly where it is which I believe will be very helpfully when the Rift Consumer version comes out.


    @bosmeck yeah the time-lapse angles were pretty wrong the reason for that was i just used my iPad and set it in random spots to see how the time-lapse worked on it for long projects (this was more of a beta run of the software). If/when I go to do another project i want to get a few mounts and stands for it so it can be placed in spots that actually show the build more clearly
  17. rundmg

    rundmg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Occupation:
    Web & iOS Developer + Marketing & Design
    Location:
    Pennsylvania - USA
    Balance:
    367Coins
    Ratings:
    +97 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
  18. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,122Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,490 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Isn't Same plugin as all the rest of CM's F1 games ?


    And thanks for the picture's and measurement's.....Im forcing buddy to bring me the rig. Lol

    I dont wanna try and build off pics and measurements





    I honestly dont know what SimX uses as a pivot point at the front, As for the shifter' Imo in a seat mover it should be moving With the seat, Pending the Car/Profile. That Shifter might Not be where you last left it and might cause some issues if the mounting position isn't 100% perfect.

    My shifter mount

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. rundmg

    rundmg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Occupation:
    Web & iOS Developer + Marketing & Design
    Location:
    Pennsylvania - USA
    Balance:
    367Coins
    Ratings:
    +97 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK

    It seemed like it was the same plugin, I installed the f1 2013 plugin to 2014 and it said plugin installed successfully (and patched) but alas no motion; however, now thinking about it I can't remember if i changed any of the values in the Tuning Center. Ill have to take a peak at the when i get home. and ah damn that SQ looks nice, I can't decide if I want to save the $200 and use it toward a V2 Base on just order the SQ and get the base later.
  20. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,122Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,490 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What size do you need ?