1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

nvidia vr sli games list flyinside.

Discussion in 'X-Plane' started by f1iceman, Jul 5, 2018.

  1. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,925Coins
    Ratings:
    +368 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Hi guys and girls long time no speak.

    hope everyone is awesome still.

    Quick Qestion.
    nvidia vr sli i have read there is a list of games supported for sli sdk from nvidia, one of them is flyinside,prepar3d and xplane 11.

    Anyone had this working or tried it ?
    As this is a very small games list they have i would think they would notlist it if no gains would be made or it would be very bad for what they have made for 1 gpu for each eye type thing.
    As vr sli is completely different obviously not much will even work but the the list says xplane11.

    cheers
  2. F22raptom

    F22raptom New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    My PC bottlenecks at the CPU (which is a water cooled delid 8700k running at 5.3ghz). My graphics card can go way harder (also water 1080 Ti) but I've already maxed out all the GPU settings on X Plane. Objects and reflections are all CPU.
  3. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,925Coins
    Ratings:
    +368 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Is that in vr ? ss1.8 ?
    theres not much in the two cpu out of curiousity what you getting from other games as i have no where near bottleneck from my cpu with 1080ti have you overclocked too much, i dont have this game yet why im looking into it atm.
    i take it the game hammering your cpu then if others are fine.

    i am trying to find out about the sli vr nvidia say they have done and the fact that the list has this in it.
    i can run 2 x 1080ti if i want too for vr sli if it is working or does anything positive.
    i have afst i7 7700k for the single core speed and at 5.2ghz if i want too also 32gb ram.
    i have no need to run that high tho so 4.9 is ideal or 5.0.

    but does sli vr work if so what are the stepsto test it.
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
  4. F22raptom

    F22raptom New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    X-plane smashes single core CPU if you want to see any objects, other planes, reflections of light off your aircraft, trees, shadows, water.. All cpu. You can turn them off but it takes away the realism more than anything else.

    You need to go ask at X-plane.org forum tbh but a 1080 ti handles VR fine - even the vive Pro - and a water cooled one OC even more so, 2 of them isn't going to make an improvement (that $1000 should get you). I don't know how good the VR engine X plane uses is but it's probably *okay* - or will be soon at the very least, irregardless, you'll get better results off spending the money on an 8700k, delid it and water cool than you will $1000 on another 1080 ti which some games or applications aren't even programmed to use (so it sits there doing nothing).

    How to test it? Buy one and give it a go. X plane demo is free and unrestricted for 15 minutes of flight.
  5. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,925Coins
    Ratings:
    +368 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    so is it a multicorecoding game cpu based not so much gpu based, i have another 1080ti but i gave a it freind to try and he said it didnt work bu then he never looked into the nvidia sdk either or flyinside or prepar3d either and from it says for the nvidia sli vr you would need them ?

    thats why i wanted to know more about the vr sli that nvidia was trying to impliment on games for vr sli rendering each eye per card.
    so why have they botherd if developers are not using it as vr needs it to work in my eyes for max results. vr is too much of a system killer so soon as you get the next headsets it going to need even more power i would think so vr sli makes sense if they can get it to work.

    i have no idea if it works thats why i am asking about nobody seems to know anything about it yet its supposed to have 10 games that implimented it vr sli.

    if i was to try i was wanting to know do i need the flying inside and prepar3d and the sdk from nvidia for it to work, have people done this.

    https://developer.nvidia.com/vrworks/graphics/vrsli

    https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/981472/-vr-sli-vr-sli-supported-games-list/?offset=11

    thats was the list see if it has a list i would think something positive should come out of it on those titles.
    i think eve valkarie is the game to try first see what dealing with.
  6. F22raptom

    F22raptom New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Um, theres some bullshit about multicore going around...vulkan or some crap...I dont know, but they are trying to or atleast plan to (X-Plane is the leader in flight sim software trust me) make use of all the cores available these days but apparently (ive asked the exact question) its a mammoth task because you have to completely rewrite the entire software or something to that degree. I think maybe they are trying to offset some particulars to the other cores (objects, shadows) etc to make it more efficient but again its not an easy task. They have a good reason for not having done it. A GPU is definitely needed for X-Plane but its the CPU which adds cars driving down the street, other aircraft and details like trees and TEXTURES (the most important thing) - that stuff isnt rendered by the GPU - which pretty much only job is to make frames up between shots - to my understanding, anyway. With 90FPS the general consensus for VR frame rate - that's obviously where the card comes in, but its CPU that brings everything to life. Apparently GTA V is just as bad (these dynamic games with heaps going on). Go point a shotgun at someones face in GTA V in VR - apparently it's way too real to be fun. Games with lots of dynamics need CPU, static crap like racing games where nothing else moves except you flourish with GPU.

    Sli is just wank factor, I'd honestly not even bother and when the new cards come out like 2080 Ti which have always been like a 40% increase in performance over the previous Ti or something - theres no point when that single card will probably outperform any INCREMENTAL increase (sli doesnt "double" your graphics from what I've read, 30%? 40%? No idea tbh) sli would have - on the few games that have gone through the effort to implement it.

    Vive pro is a next gen headset and 1080 ti apparently handles it ok. By the time Oculus or other crap brands release theirs, the 2080 line will probably be out because nvidia will want to ride that wave
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2018
  7. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,925Coins
    Ratings:
    +368 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    i appriciate everything your saying as i am very new to the flight sims.
    will be building a 6dof rig if i can get decent vr out of it but atm it seems very poor on my system.

    im getting very low fps like 36 or around that in vr.
    visual effects - medium
    text quality - medium
    antiliasing - 4x

    number lof world objects - low
    reflection detail - minimal

    fov89

    i7 4790k
    16gb dominator ram
    1080ti gigabyte extreme.

    oculus rift for vr. set to 1.5 ss.

    my setting are from luna on youtube as a general rule.


    this is not my sim rig pc but my mess about pc so prob bugged up crazy, but is this about right what i am getting.
    it is stuttering abit aswell
  8. F22raptom

    F22raptom New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    You got X plane working in VR so at the very least you know its operational. That's all you needed to know. For building your sim, just use a monitor off to the side for testing and sort the peripherals out at the very, very VERY last. By the time you finish, better everything (and X-Plane verison) will all have been released again anyway, including solutions for VR performance issues and motion cancellation and all sorts of fancy crap.

    I was exactly in your shoes with my sim, but you got a way better taste then when I started my rig with only hope of X Plane releasing native VR or more VR headsets even coming out, so I'm happy with this news. I had no idea if either was going to happen when I started building. Now soon i'll be reaping the rewards. happy days
  9. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,925Coins
    Ratings:
    +368 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    yeah its woprking but not very well atm
    i did run fsx and the flyinside with dk days and that was good with the leapmotion.
    but as its native now yes it works but the vr sli is not worth doing or trying atm.
    on my setting i dont think thats quit right now.
    gunna play later see what i can solve.
    i just had a small issue with oculus booting i am wondering nowc if its oculus giving me low fps and glitches, so re-installing trying later.
  10. F22raptom

    F22raptom New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Throw that in the bin and get a HTC Vive Pro and download Steam VR (free) to use with X-Plane. HTC have better equipment and are investing more than any other company so they are kind of like the iPhone of VR at the moment and likely will be for the foreseeable future, having been the first to release a second gen headset etc I wouldnt look at any other provider for the visual quality you and me are after when we finish our expensive ass motion platforms.

    Sli has never been "worth it", it's got a 1% real use case IMO - honestly I would get to work on your 6DOF and upgrade your PC to suit THAT, when its finished. It'll be much easier than building a sim to suit a PC you will eventually upgrade anyway. End of the day, an 8700k is cheap if picked up second hand, $20 will get it delid so you can easily hit 5.3ghz (what my PC is fixed to atm) and with a 2080 Ti hopefully out in the next year or so...30-40% better than a 1080 Ti... it'll cream VR applications.
  11. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,065
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,485Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,336 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The single biggest improvement you can do for Xplane 11 is not to actually throw more hardware at it. It's moving CPU affinity.

    I use a program called Project Lasso and followed this guide on Youtube. (The program is so good I bought it!)



    I get buttery smooth VR experience on a single GTX1080 running an 8700K at 5.0Ghz.
    In essence, you stop XP11 from using the first two cores/threads and it does not have to wait for the OS to complete tasks.
    There is also a LUA script you can run that is outlined in this video and that locks your FPS by tweaking XP11 on the fly. It's excellent.
    • Informative Informative x 1