1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

newbie with some questions..

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Swets, May 6, 2008.

  1. Swets

    Swets Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    PLC Programmeur
    Location:
    Holland/Krimpen a/d IJssel
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi,

    I'm new here on this forum .
    so let me introduce myself:
    I'm Arjan Swets.... 40 years old (pfff) married with Karin, one Daughter.
    I work as PLC programmer.
    Hobbys: Robotics,electronics,programming,cnc

    more about me on my homepage: http://www.arjan-swets.com

    first my english is not very good, but i do my best...

    I bought on a Flea market a secondhand logitech wingman formula force GP , but without the adaptor...
    so i search internet, and i found it... and everthing works alright.

    but i also found this forum....

    and after reading for 4 evenings I have some questions about DIY motion simulation..
    because I think to build something....

    First what is the best system for car simulation? 2 DOF or 3 DOF? ( i know there is 6 dof too but i want to start not to difficult)

    and then 2 dof like this:

    [​IMG]
    (i have also see something like above, but with a 3 axle . see http://www.jimspage.co.nz/pictures.htm
    , is it than 3 dof?, and is this better?)

    or 2 dof like this:

    [​IMG]

    or 3 dof like this:
    [​IMG]

    or 3 dof like this:
    [​IMG]

    I think the last one... ?

    and now more questions....

    what do I need for software?
    works it with all simulation games? or games with DirectX.
    what cost the software?

    What do i need for electronics?

    eeehh here on the forum i see some ,where the monitor moving with the simulator, and some where is the monitor standing still in front of the simulator....
    i think it is better (?) when the monitor is moving with the simulator?


    i stop now, maybe i have more questions later....
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Swets

    Swets Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    PLC Programmeur
    Location:
    Holland/Krimpen a/d IJssel
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    nobody? hmm
  4. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Arjan,

    Welcome, sorry that nobody replied back until now. We are busy building our simulators... 8)

    For car simulation its better to use 2DOF that is more simple to build.

    You can build something simple like this:
    tronic-s-full-motion-car-racing-simulator-using-x-sim-t471.html

    And my site with full instructions:
    http://ptyxiouxos.net/greekbotics/user_ ... ulator.htm

    OR build a SimforceGT type simulator:
    ego-s-simforcegt-with-dc-actuators-t547.html

    For electronics you can use those I mention on the above site, or build the new better ones that I describe here (DIY):
    tronic-s-amc-motor-motion-controller-with-pwm-servo-output-t559.html
    tronic-s-diy-dual-mosfet-h-bridge-t820.html

    For software you should use x-sim software located here:
    installer-x-sim-beta-1-6-9-t787.html
    The x-sim software is free!

    As you can see its all here, just a little search is needed! :thbup:


    Best Regards, Thanos
  5. Swets

    Swets Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    PLC Programmeur
    Location:
    Holland/Krimpen a/d IJssel
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  6. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Arjan,

    Its your choice!

    Some prefer the SimforceGT type as its more simple. But it can be used only with car simulation games! Its advantages is that it can be used with projector screen as the screen in front of the driver stands still. And the footprint of the construction is a lot smaller, actually two DC motor actuator behind the seat!

    On the other hand the joyrider type can be also easily converted and used as Flight simulator! :fly: When I originally made this motorized joyrider sim I was using it only for flight simulation until I tried the x-sim software and realized the possibilities with car simulation! And the immersion, in my opinion, is much better since everything are following the cockpits motion (screen, steering wheel, pedals). BTW, I used simple car windscreen wiper motors to move it... Did you seen the videos?

    Regards, Thanos
  7. Cubane

    Cubane New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    279Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I would be interested to know how the motorised joyrider compares to something like Force Dynamics 301. Since it has that extra dimension of movement.
  8. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    No simulator that I know can compare with FD301 (or the more new FD401!!). Its a professional commercial simulator that costs $$$$$ after all!

    We are making just cheap home motion simulators here (yet).

    Regards, Thanos
  9. Swets

    Swets Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    PLC Programmeur
    Location:
    Holland/Krimpen a/d IJssel
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    ehhh... Do the DIY simulators not move forwards if you press on the brake? ( for the g-forde feeling )?
    thats why I thought it is beter that the screen is moving with the machine ...
    because you see the horizon on the same place, so the movement feel as g-force....
  10. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    The SimforceGt does smaller angle motion and it doesn't affected too much from the stationary screen... It mostly simulates the stress on the hand muscles (when holding the wheel) during acceleration... It tricks the mind using body stimulus that combined with synchronized optical stimulus gives you the desired immersion.

    And its true that with the screen moving along the motion path the immersion its way better! And it gets even better if you fully enclose the cockpit to block all the external reference visual cues! I wish I had the courage to try enclose my joyrider cockpit too this way...

    Regards, Thanos
  11. Swets

    Swets Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    PLC Programmeur
    Location:
    Holland/Krimpen a/d IJssel
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  12. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  13. Swets

    Swets Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    PLC Programmeur
    Location:
    Holland/Krimpen a/d IJssel
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    to bad, the where cheap... :D
  14. Swets

    Swets Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    PLC Programmeur
    Location:
    Holland/Krimpen a/d IJssel
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    so for 3 motors i need one tronic-s-amc-motor-motion-controller-with-pwm-servo-output-t559.html and two times tronic-s-diy-dual-mosfet-h-bridge-t820.html ?
  15. Swets

    Swets Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    PLC Programmeur
    Location:
    Holland/Krimpen a/d IJssel
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  16. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,644
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,874Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,574 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    Hi Arjan,

    soory that we haven´t answered your question, yet. I think your thread is overlooked everytime, because your title of your thread isn´t very precise ;) Better you rename it in something like swets DIY 3DOF simulator - the beginning
    Maybe, it makes other users curious and increase the chances to get an answer.

    Later you can use that thread to describe your whole project status ... with many pictures and videos, please :D

    BtTopic: Yes, thats right. This compilation is designed to work perfectly together. The motors are dependable of your platform design.
    I know that 10A current is safe for the H-Bridge, but i don´t know the maximum currents with massive cooling for Thanos H-Bridge. So you should ask him, if you decide to use larger motors than car whiper motors for your 3DOF platform. When your platform is work in progress and there are some serious results you also have to ask him for a modified 3DOF firmware.

    Kind regards
    René

    B.t.w. i like swets 3D :D
  17. Swets

    Swets Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    PLC Programmeur
    Location:
    Holland/Krimpen a/d IJssel
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    and the hexfile for the avr?... can i download it ...or buy it?
  18. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    The hex (firmware) is free. Have a look at the corresponding thread. You will find all you need at the starting post.
    As well this thread is the proper place to ask about the controller.

    Regards
    Christian
  19. Swets

    Swets Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    PLC Programmeur
    Location:
    Holland/Krimpen a/d IJssel
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0