1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

New to the community 2DOF seat mover (1st build)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by navarrma, Dec 14, 2013.

  1. navarrma

    navarrma Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineering Student
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Balance:
    651Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-12V-5A-1...arts_and_Accessories&var=&hash=item2a355ffd66

    I had a car battery explode on me once, so I try to avoid having them in my projects nowadays...although the likelihood is small I know...but the above seems to be the same and I can get two for 60usd with free shipping...
  2. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    go 40 amps each at least. Always have too much power handy. I use 12v 40 amps x 2, on one of my sims and they work fine. Some cheap PSUS fry under sim load conditions, but I have been lucky. Sorry, cannot find the ebay link I got them from.
  3. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,833Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,656 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  4. navarrma

    navarrma Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineering Student
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Balance:
    651Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Excellent. I think ill do that

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
  5. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    30 amps per motor seems to be pushing the power supply on teh ebay equivalent motors. A few people in the past burnt out there 30 amp PSU, but it could have been a crappy PSU bought. The big worm gear motors can operate well under 30 amps continuous draw, but they can really kick at 32-38 amp peak I found in the beginning of testing the AU motors.
    Maybe I am overkill at 40 amps per PSU. I thought too much power is never enough.
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/500W-Uni...cal_Test_Equipment&hash=item256fb4a8bf&_uhb=1 I run 2 of these on the foot motor mount all in one sim to power both motors and 4 fans. They work perfect.
    On the other sim I run a 12v 32 amp PSU and car battery, mind you, I disconnect psu to battery when not in use.
  6. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,833Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,656 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    I look the other way the Jrk can only really handle up to 30 amps , but a little extra doesn't hurt , but running a power supply to each Jrk, I cant see a problem. If only using one then yes it will not like it if both motors draw hard.
  7. navarrma

    navarrma Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineering Student
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Balance:
    651Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    I forgot to bring the gear back up from my car and I forgot to email myself a set of the frame plans we drew up but here's where we're at. Ive got everything at the shop now and the frame all cut to be welded in the morning. Moving pretty quickly now. Ive got a 10k 3w 10turn potentiometer for feedback...will that be satisfactory? Lemme know what you think.

    Where should I mount the motors at...location wise?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,911
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,830Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,795 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Which winches did you decide on?
  9. navarrma

    navarrma Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineering Student
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Balance:
    651Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Those are the masterlock style. ..duro something

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
  10. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,833Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,656 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Myself I would have place a TBar at the back behind the seat, its the most optiumal point at which we can move the sim. Plus it gives you a balanced motion too as the roll angle will be close to the same pitch angle, if forwards of the sim the roll becomes bigger than the pitch.
    Depending on space will depend on where you mount the winchs, beware not to make the sim too high off the ground the higher they go, the more unstable and power required to move them, gravity is a bitch.
    If tight for space move them to about 300mm(1foot) in front of the pivot.
  11. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,833Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,656 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    They are a std generic range I got the same here in Australia just different reseller, lol.
  12. navarrma

    navarrma Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineering Student
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Balance:
    651Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So apply motion in the same way as just a seat mover"

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
  13. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,911
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,830Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,795 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Interesting, it looks exactly the same vis-a-vis the configuration but the gears themselves look better than mine. Mine are actually three stamped pieces of steel riveted together to make each gear and are an anodized color (gold) rather than black. Are those gears solid or three piece?
  14. navarrma

    navarrma Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineering Student
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Balance:
    651Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    One of the gears has anodized plates that are on the gear closest to the blue plate. They seem to be the clutch or brake

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
  15. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,911
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,830Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,795 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I just looked at the full photo, the gears are indeed solid. Much nicer than the Master Lock winches that bought. The GudCraft winch was exactly like mine as well. I would rather have the winch gears that you have. Can you give a link to the exact winch that you ordered from? I assume Amazon?

    Also, you might have an issue with getting enough resolution with your potentiometer choice depending on which gear you are connecting it to. The main gear (off the motor) will turn far too many times for even a 10 turn pot and the second tier follower might not turn enough. I mounted mine to the back of the winch so it could connect to the main follower. I just copied Earobbie's design for mounting the pots.
  16. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,833Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,656 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    I used the main cog off the motor cog 1 with a 5 turn pot that gave me a perfect ratio with the Rc Heli gear. Almost 180 deg on the cog on the opposite side equaled 5 turns of the big cog, that motor connects too. I actually ended up welding the clutch plates together plus tig welded them to the shaft, after about 2 years of hammering them with the Jrks at high speed the clutch plate centres began to spin a little so , i welded them together, about the only thing i could pick on. But after 2 years and hundreds of hours use , not bad at all.
  17. navarrma

    navarrma Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineering Student
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Balance:
    651Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Do you think my placement will overturn the pot?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
  18. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,833Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,656 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Basically what you need to do to work this out is mount or mark where a lever will be , use the last cog on the other side (large one) ,now move the motor counting the teeth/revolutions for when your mark reaches its top position to its bottom position.
    This will tell you what ratio or gear size will be need for you to use 80%-100% of the pots travel.
  19. navarrma

    navarrma Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineering Student
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Balance:
    651Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Finished up the frame. .. starting on the good stuff tomorrow

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk

    Attached Files:

  20. navarrma

    navarrma Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineering Student
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Balance:
    651Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Do you mean a t-bar that extends up to near the shoulder height? Or just out from the back of the sim?