1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

New to RIGs - SEAT MOVER 3DOF

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Martyn, Feb 15, 2017.

  1. Martyn

    Martyn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    31Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Hi guys, new to the forum, looking to build a SEAT MOVER 3DOF for racing and little flying,,

    Been studying very hard last few days and decided that this will be a go for my use:)
    Want to use aluminium profiles for frame and 3* SCN6 acurators and SimTools.
    As there is waaaay too much of information here, i would really appreciate links to your builds like this to gather, little inspiration:)
    Planning to run on triple 40" screen, would love to do 12K, but seems unreal for some "normal" bucks at the moment (maybe in march the GTX1080Ti will be released it will be possible?) - but is that really worth it over Full HD? No way i can try it myself anywhere around:(

    And one more thing, can you please confirm my "shopping list" is complete, or am i missing something?
    - 3* SCN6 - 040 - 150
    http://frex.xsrv.jp/gpshop/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=1_39&products_id=236
    -3* rod end set for SCN6
    http://frex.xsrv.jp/gpshop/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=1_39&products_id=284
    - SimMotion 4 - for control i would like to use this device instead of diy controllers..
    http://frex.xsrv.jp/gpshop/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=251
    - Wiring set for triple SCN6
    http://frex.xsrv.jp/gpshop/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=285
    Did not studyied power supplies yet, so i´m not sure if i will need something like this, or some cheaper (hobbyking) solution might by enough?
    http://frex.xsrv.jp/gpshop/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=1_39&products_id=276
    - Joint ball + wheels for Loss Tracktion

    Anything else am i missing except components, material and bucket of patience?:)
    Many thanks for your informations, links to your similar projects and this forum overall - GREAT source of informations!
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2017
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. ericRacer

    ericRacer You get old because you stop playing ! Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Occupation:
    Pilot
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Balance:
    - 35Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    3dof platform with SCN6 sound weird to me ! you should add a plan of your project . I think Scn6 actuators are not enough strong to lift to much weight.
  4. ericRacer

    ericRacer You get old because you stop playing ! Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Occupation:
    Pilot
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Balance:
    - 35Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    instead you mean 2dof ?
  5. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    3 DOF is 2 at the rear and 1 for traction loss i imagine in this build. Are You building a seat mover type?
  6. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    you can get a power supply a lot cheaper than that. i will find a link from my build
  7. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    • Old Old x 1
  8. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Boo erns for Loud Actuators.....Worm gear motor's FTW!!!!
  9. Martyn

    Martyn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    31Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Thank for replies guys..
    I actually probably used wrong term - probably correct one is 2dof + tracktion loss..
    Would like to make full frame - controllers attached to the TL frame. But monitors will stand alone stationary.
    Thanks for link to Power source!
    I hope i can borrow pictures from members whos projects i like - can not post links yet.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  10. PiaMan

    PiaMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, CANADA
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, SCN5, Arduino
    You must have most sensitive ears nick! Seeing your posts about this gives a wrong impression. Unless you play with the volume low enough for your wife to sleep in the same room while you race I have never once noticed the scn sound any more than the worm gear system. Neither has my girl
  11. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So then please explain why some users feel the need to build sound proof boxes for their Actuators ? And or why its Mandatory to run Headphones with actuators ?
    • Agree Agree x 4
  12. PiaMan

    PiaMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, CANADA
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, SCN5, Arduino
    Can't comment for other people but I can tell you that sound proof boxes are the last upgrade I've ever considered and I never wear headphones when I race. So they are definitely not mandatory To each their own and both have strengths and weakness but I hear the D.C. Motor whir as much as the scn squeak. My .02 as an owner of both
  13. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,875Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,423 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Every SCN I heard sounds like a herd of wild rats against worm gear motors which are pretty much silent like a couple of little field mice. That my tuppence worth :)
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Funny Funny x 1
  14. Martyn

    Martyn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    31Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Noise does not worry me too much.. Will race LOUD:D
    But at the moment i need to know - am i missing anything in my shopping list to build this? What do you guys say on design´s posted previously?
    • Like Like x 1
  15. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    I think its all there. actuators, ends, wiring kit, power supply and sim motion.
    you can do it a lot cheaper if you dont use the simmotion and use 3x usb boards but you have to do your own wiring. I made all my own cable and bought the connectors from farnells as frex refused to tell me what type they were and only offered to sell me ridiculously over priced cables. one of the connectors from frex worked out at £17 with 200mm cables on it. I must of got 60 plastic connectors and about 3 or 400 various pins for about £25 from farnells
  16. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Dont say we didn't warn ya. ;)
  17. Martyn

    Martyn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    31Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Ok, going to push the button on HW order from Frex today.
    Only i switched from SCN6 40kg to SCN6 20kg, for money save, from i´ve read it should be more then enough.
    Just not that sure in this dimensions on picture, anybody mind to provide me with correct numbers for my setup - SCN6 20kg?
    [​IMG]
    And one more thing can i use this Frex pivot instead of U Joint under seat?
    [​IMG]
  18. obobo

    obobo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I do not think the pivot frex can give the same result as a U-joint.
    For the angles taken and for the solidity in time

    je ne pense pas que le frex pivot puisse donner le même résultat qu'un cardan.
    pour les angles pris et pour la solidité dans le temps
  19. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    that pivot is just a mount to fit an actuator onto with the rod ends. you will still need a uv joint
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. Martyn

    Martyn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    31Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Ok good, i did not knew that, thanks for info! So i will take 2 of those pivots to mount acurators..
    Nobody can help with the dimensions on picture?:(
  21. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,608
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,581 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK