1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

New: Pimax 5K+ with 6DOF, Motion Cancellation tests.

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by Flash66, Nov 7, 2018.

  1. Flash66

    Flash66 6DOF Motion over the ocean in DCS FA/18-C Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    Balance:
    77Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I just wanted to contribute some Pimax and tracker info here.. I just received my Pimax 5K+ and found out the hard way coming from an oculus setup that Vive Lighthouses cannot be mounted on a platform for the obvious reasons. I just now mounted a Vive tracker to my 6DOF using Matzman666's Motion control/OpenVR and it works great! At first, I thought this would be a failure, but now totally stoked with this addition. Primarily I use my 6DOF for DCS and the added FOV on the pimax is incredible in DCS despite some warping distortion along the edges that's mostly noticeable to me so far only in DCS as theres'alot of eye turning involved in flight sims. Not a deal breaker, but a little annoying. Now I have to try and persuade my hardware to get a much better FPS in DCS. The Pimax HMD is very much a resource glutton as I went from 50FPS with Oculus - AA 8x MSAA 1.5 SSAA 2X to everything off and now getting around 30FPS with a lot of motion blur due to the low FPS. I'm currently running a I7 5820 6core CPU OC'd to 4.5Ghz with a 1080TI OC'd to 2032Mhz. 32MB DDR4@3200Mhz. I guess it may be time for a 2080TI and a 9900x but I'm just not convinced this may not help more than 10FPS or so. So as the case with technology especially in what we're all trying to do here, the gain in FOV to actually see your wings in your peripheral is wonderful, but the quality of the sim at this moment is less than desirable at the level of today's GPU. I'm sure a lot of it also has to do with DCS itself not being able to maximize all CPU cores. Thank goodness I didn't go for the 8K!
    • Informative Informative x 4
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,943
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,781Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,664 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Great news that motion cancellation works.

    A 2080ti will help a little, but I agree in complex sims it is likely to only be around 10fps.

    Many of us likely have a long wait before we get our Pimax, so do keep posting regular updates as you try out different games and settings.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. lysa elec

    lysa elec LYSA ELEC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Balance:
    - 121Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The pimax 5k works you he(it) well with tool sim 2

    Thank you
  5. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes...the 8K is a fail, in my opinion (compared to the 5K+) ...some people said, that the distortion on the 8k is bigger, as on the 5K+ version. Now i wait for the BE version. I really want OLED.
  6. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @Flash66 What backer number did you have for the pimax 5kplus?

    regards Jeroen
  7. Flash66

    Flash66 6DOF Motion over the ocean in DCS FA/18-C Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    Balance:
    77Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I bought mine from another backer. I have another one coming in the #200's that I posted for sale on eBay now.
  8. apointner

    apointner Siddhartha

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    N 48° 9'0.88" E 12° 5'45.84"
    Balance:
    616Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi Flash, is motion cancelling still working? I heard the pimax software causing some issues. And i want the Pimax 5k so badly!
  9. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,431Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  10. J-1775

    J-1775 Aviator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    277Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Couldn't agree more with you. The sight of your wings is absolutely wonderful, but the only flight sim I can run in the Pimax 5K+ is Aerofly's FS2. DCS, of course, is the worst of all. I'm running an i7-8086K on up to 5Ghz with an RTX-2080. Now I really wonder how the HP Reverb will do.
  11. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    366Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Any news on Pimax motion cancellation? I'm considering upgrading my 3dof to a 5dof with much more throw. Curious as to any issues I may have with my 5K+.
  12. J-1775

    J-1775 Aviator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    277Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Pimax has just announced an update of their PiTools software for around Dec. 13th (Kickstarter Update, take date with care). That could be a reason to give it another shot.
  13. gianlu320

    gianlu320 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Crawley
    Balance:
    342Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    I hope somebody can help.
    I am talking about Dcs World
    I have been using my pimax 5k+ for the past 7 or 8 months and I actually have no complaints.
    I also have a 4 Dof motion platform and till now I have used that with no motion compensation.
    Now I bought a vive tracker and installed it behind my seat and both Pimax and the tracker are in view of my single lighthouse v1
    My problem is this..
    When I activate the motion compensation in pitools my view is not centred anymore and I can’t centre it with numpad 5.
    No way to recentre my view.
    When I activate motion compensation I instantly find myself looking at the seat pan of the aircraf.
    I haven’t installed Vr imput emulator, I don’t think it’s needed but I am unsure.
    I figured I would try to ask here before messing with this.
    I wouldn’t want to mess things even more than what they are now.
    Any thoughts anybody?
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,943
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,781Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,664 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Have you tried re-running the PiTools boundary setup since adding the controller?
  15. gianlu320

    gianlu320 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Crawley
    Balance:
    342Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for your answer noorbeast

    Can you explain what the boundary setup is in pitools?
    Do you mean the room setup?

    Can you also confirm this?
    Do I need to install open vr imput emulator for motion compensation to work with Pimax or not?
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,943
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,781Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,664 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes I mean Pimax room setup.

    I don't use it but as I understand it the Pimax motion compensation is stand alone.
  17. gianlu320

    gianlu320 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Crawley
    Balance:
    342Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for your reply

    I will try to run again the room setup
    In the mean time maybe somebody who made it work will chime in and explain how it works
  18. gianlu320

    gianlu320 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Crawley
    Balance:
    342Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    I have re-run room setup in pitools but no change
    When motion compensation is off everything is normal
    As soon as I turn it on what I see changes, the image switches about 90 degrees on the “roll axis”
    To better explain it ...
    Motion compensation off in pitools, the floor in steam home is below me and ceiling above me
    As soon as I turn on motion compensation in pitools I see in steam home the floor on my left and is vertical like it was one of the walls and ceiling on the right vertical as well like it was a wall as well.
    The two walls are now my floor and ceiling
    It’s difficult to explain
    Few people made it work so there must be a way.
  19. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,040Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,695 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I've seem a post that said that you need to change the alignment of the sensor (Ie. controller or tracker being used to track rig) to fix that.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  20. gianlu320

    gianlu320 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Crawley
    Balance:
    342Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    @SeatTime

    Thanks a lot for that
    I spent the day trying to figure this out and finally I succeeded
    Yes it works and yes the vive tracker needs to be rotated till you see the correct image inside the headset.
    Thanks everybody for the help
    • Winner Winner x 1
  21. lysa elec

    lysa elec LYSA ELEC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Balance:
    - 121Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    i use x plane11 with goods results