1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

News New higher Voltage / Amperage JRK's!!!

Discussion in 'Ready, set, go - Start your engines' started by Brett Horton, Apr 20, 2018.

  1. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,737
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,810Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,448 / 29 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I hope you for the 24v21

    Having had a very in depth convo with a pololu tech, The 18v27 is NOT very ideal for 24v use.

    IF the board sees 30.001v, its toast. Ripple/backCurrent and all the electrical gremlins combined can and will according to the tech, throw higher voltages back at the controller (yes there are ways to circumvent this happening (Avenge76 says some type of snubber network) No idea what that actually is, Lol

    $ for $ if you do upgrade to 24v, the 24v21 is what you want for the fact that you wont need all that extra amperage the 18v27 offers with 24v motors.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,068
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,535Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,344 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I only have 12V motor and 12V PSU so the 18v27's will be fine for me.

    I actually ended up cancelling my Order with the AU supplier as the 40% off was still current direct with Pololu so I could actually grab 3 of them from the US for about AU$50 more. Result! :)

    Looking at the AU suppliers website they are simply ordering from Pololu and forwarding to me anyway as the stock levels were identical.
  3. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,737
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,810Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,448 / 29 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I would have still suggested the larger 24v21, IF you were to ever find or come across a larger set of motor's. After all the 21A is already WAY more than a set of 12v 180w motor's can ever draw, So little point in having the extra head room for larger 12v motor's, VS the Future proofing with 24v in mind.
  4. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,737
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,810Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,448 / 29 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hrmm, Me and Buddy's should be good for a while No ?


    Thanks to Brandon and Ben @ Pololu for their Continued AWESOME ABOVE AND BEYOND service :cheers


    upload_2018-5-3_20-28-12.png
  5. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,554
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    11,262Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,375 / 28 / -1
    Looks the same as a pile of moto monsters to me. :D
    • Funny Funny x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  6. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,737
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,810Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,448 / 29 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Except these actually work outta the box. :nerd

    Instead of ordering 20 of them and hoping and preying for a pair of good ones.

    Lol
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,068
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,535Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,344 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    First ones in Australia ?!?!

    IMG_2027.jpg

    Now to put my Sim back together... It's been in pieces since Oct 2017 and I'm struggling to find time to rebuild / redesign.

    @Nick Moxley - DC Motors (like everything in AU!) are damn expensive (Thanks US$ :( )so I have no plans to move to 24v anytime soon.

    PS - Pololu Rock! Their ordering system is excellent and only took a few days to get here via FedEx.
    • Like Like x 2
  8. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,300
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,805Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,213 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Maybe your taxes are just too high? Seems the euro and BP aren't very favorable for you either. Canadian dollar is close.

    Anyway i look forward to all the new videos of the jrk upgrades.
    Last edited: May 7, 2018
  9. Milton

    Milton Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Balance:
    1,837Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    Hello everyone, I just upgrade the Simtools to 2.2.5 and at the same time I upgrade the JRK 12v12 to the new JRK G2 and for some reason, I lost all my settings presets etc, I try to reconfigure the interfaces and the JRK interface type resets do not show! anyone knows how to fix this?
  10. Kass55

    Kass55 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Occupation:
    PC support
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    345Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am novice electrically.. so in simple terms.

    I have 2 x Worm Drive Motor 12V 200W, 180 RPM, 20Nm Torque, 25:1 motors used on other sims.
    and 2 x 12v PSU units (1 per motor) producing up to max. 70A
    with the old JRK 12v12 fitted and working well,
    but only with short levers, anymore then 45mm CTC long and the motors will slow down under load.

    If I change to these new JRK G2 18v27.... (rest stays the same)
    Will the motors draw more power and be more powerful ?
    therefore I can increase arm CTC length ?
    Or do I need bigger motors as well.
  11. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,737
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,810Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,448 / 29 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Depends if you were limiting the 12v12's with any form of duty cycle or not. If you were running 100% Duty and 100% Accel, then No you wont see a major increase in power.

    Why do you want to run Long levers is the question.....
  12. Kass55

    Kass55 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Occupation:
    PC support
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    345Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    >>Why do you want to run Long levers is the question....
    Wrong place to go into it here, but I want as much movement as poss.

    Thanks for reply,
    Yes, I am running 100% Duty and 100% Accel.

    I guess I should look for more powerful motors first.
    No point just changing JRKs
  13. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Balance:
    854Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Are heatsinks still a good idea for the G2 series, or is fan-forced air cooling for both top & bottom adequate?

    I don't see any large chips like the 12v12's had, so not even sure if heatsinks are an option.
    Perhaps one small one on the top chip located behind the USB port?
    The bottom chips all appear to be far too tiny for heatsinks.

    I plan on mounting them into a mid sized plastic project box with dual 120mm PC fans, one for fresh air and the other for exhaust, a sort of push-pull airflow system.

    I have two 18v19's on the way and don't want them to burn up. :cool:
    https://www.pololu.com/product/3146
  14. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,737
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,810Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,448 / 29 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    In the first paragraph of the description

    "This version offers a wide 6.5 V to 30 V operating range and can deliver continuous output currents up to 19 A without a heat sink. "

    A push pull will be more than ample. :)
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Balance:
    854Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform

    Yes, I did see that in the description.

    Since a motion sim can be considered somewhat of an extreme use situation at times, I was wondering if anyone here has opted to use heat sinks with the G2's.

    At 19A without a heat sink, the G2's do have more headroom than the 12v12's, but better safe than sorry.


    The chips are damn small on these tho, so I dunno if heat sinks are even a viable option.

    If not, then Push-pull air cooling it is.
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,017Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,312 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Agree and a good controller, feedback system and PID all built in to the one card as well. Just needed to move onto something bigger for the rigs I wanted to build.
  17. CQeNS

    CQeNS New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    41Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I initially went with 12v12 for my build, but ended up returning them for 18v19s. The jrks are set up in a project box with a push/pull setup, and since I had extra heat sinks laying around I slapped them on for a good measure. I have touched the heat sinks after a few intense dirt rally sessions and and they were not even warm to touch.
    • Like Like x 2
  18. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Balance:
    854Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Good to know!


    Was it much work switching over to them, programming-wise, configuration, playing nicely with SimTools, etc?

    Do you notice a difference in the performance, or is it just much the same but with more headroom and peace of mind for the future?


    Since these are much smaller chips than the main one on the 12v12's, where did you mount the heat sinks on your 18v19's?

    Apparently it's the bottom side of the G2's PCB where any heat would most likely occur.


    I'm going to go with mounting them in a ventilated project box with decent airflow underneath the G2's by using longer than normal PCB standoffs along with a couple of small fans in a push-pull configuration.

    I may just use both fans to bring cool air in, as the ventilated box will by nature expel the hot air.
  19. CQeNS

    CQeNS New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    41Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I just finished building my rig, so it was never configured for 12v12, I accidentally came across this thread and was happy to pick up the new units, I caught the initial discount and ended up picking up 3 18v19s for the price of the original 2 12v12.

    The Grk G2s come with a slightly different utility, compared to the original Jrk unit, mostly cosmetics and nothing major difference wise. One noticeable difference was setting wise, in JRK g2 utility under "Motor" tab, I could not set the "hard current limit" to 0, as was the instruction for the original Jrks, my motors barely move with that setting, so I manually set the number.

    For cooling, I initially ordered a Raspberry Pi Heatsink Kit for the 12v12 on amazon. The kit came with various heat sink sizes, I basically mixed and matched those on top and bottom. I'll post photos of heat sinks and the project box in my build thread. Still trying to hit that post count) I basically went for the same cooling concept, nylon spacers and a push/pull fans on the sides of the box.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  20. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    - 21Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Goodmorning everyone.
    I wondered what these drivers have in particular compared to 42A b2ts in addition to the higher operating voltage.
    I state that I use 16: 1 gearmotors of about 900w that obviously I will never use 100%. they are powered by a 30A psu atx with a motor b2ts, and I have a lot of power
    What advantages can I have using these drivers?