1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

News New higher Voltage / Amperage JRK's!!!

Discussion in 'Ready, set, go - Start your engines' started by Brett Horton, Apr 20, 2018.

  1. Brett Horton

    Brett Horton Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    UAS Manager / Pilot / Integration Specialist
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Balance:
    - 12Coins
    Ratings:
    +191 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Posting this here for Pololu, The have a few new more powerful JRK's released today.
    Should be a great replacement for 12v12 like alot of us use.
    I certainly will be upgrading when the time comes.
    Also first 100 customers 40% off


    https://www.pololu.com/blog/763/new...er&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=180419_jrkg2
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    24v 27 amps is still a bit weak in comparison to what dimension engineering is offering. but its almost double the original. this should be a nice upgrade should someone decide to go this route. good find, especially with the 40% off.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. AussieSim

    AussieSim Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    1,209Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    Is there a guide as to which G2 to buy ?

    My interest would be for a small wiper motor and separately for a rear traction loss actuator.
  5. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    IMHO you will get better bang for your buck with a sabertooth 2x32.
  6. titomaky

    titomaky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Balance:
    169Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    ¿Cuál es la diferencia entre popolu e IBT2?
  7. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,887Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
  8. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,887Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    Question for everyone, what do you recommend?

    I notice that the "Quantity Available" shows me that the 24v21 and the 24v13 are the most popular items.

    FYI: I have the 12v12.
  9. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,887Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    My power supply output is 12V at 47 Amp Maximum with 575 Watts Maximum

    Attached Files:

  10. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    do your motors support24volt?
  11. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,887Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    Yes! they actually can operate from 12v to 24v but I do not have 24v power supply
  12. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,887Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    i am thinking to go with the 18v27 because of the Higher Amps... is that a good decision?

    JRK comparancy 2.JPG
  13. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes Morton you want the 18v27

    and here's some info for the guys curious on the differences between the old and new, https://www.pololu.com/docs/0J73/1.2

    Ive got a pair coming for myself after a long discussion with support and sales, We'll see what there all about.
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,887Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    I got mine already here are some pictures next to the JRK 12v12 and the new JRK 18v27

    image1.JPG

    image2.JPG
    image3.JPG
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,369 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hi Guys,

    Can anyone confirm if these 18v27's still run at 12V but cope with the higher Amperage??

    The specs only state a MAX which makes me think 12V would work fine..?
  16. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,369 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Never mind. Should have Google'd first :)

    From Pololu site: This version offers a wide 6.5 V to 30 V operating range and can deliver continuous output currents up to 27 A without a heat sink.
  17. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    AND if we do need to cool them , you cool from the bottom side mosfets. ;)
  18. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,369 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So tempted to get these and some new motors.

    My 50:1 worm drive gears have started to slip. I can be sat in my seat with the power off and moving in the seat will cause the motors to drop to the floor :( . Just likes the 25:1's do... In fairness, they have been hammered for the best part of two years! :)
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,576
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,410Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,514 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I have mentioned a number of time that 50:1s can be back driven after they are broken in.

    So far 60:1s on my rig still can't be back driven even after years of use.
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,369 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yeah. Thinking 60:1's are the way to go.

    Apologies @noorbeast - Must have missed that post, it's good to know it's not a design flaw and more an expectation :)

    Anyway, as you were, I don't want to hijack this JRK thread with my musings... :D
  21. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,369 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1