1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom New DIY 3DOF dynamic workstation project UPGRADE 4DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Milani Fabio, Feb 27, 2019.

  1. Milani Fabio

    Milani Fabio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 2 / -0
    Mobile base
    20200116_152958.jpg

    Anti-overturning trolley
    20200116_153021.jpg 20200116_160820.jpg

    Last edited: Jan 16, 2020
  2. Milani Fabio

    Milani Fabio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 2 / -0
    Work progress 4DPOF upgrade

    20200116_163217.jpg 20200116_172117.jpg 20200116_163224.jpg 20200116_172412.jpg
  3. Milani Fabio

    Milani Fabio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 2 / -0


    • Like Like x 2
    • Old Old x 1
  4. Milani Fabio

    Milani Fabio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 2 / -0
    Hello,
    I assembled everything and as planned, I was a little worried .... but everything works perfectly.
    the upper base is the same as 3DOF.
    I added the wheels, left and right I put as many as possible to distribute the weight, in fact 70% of the weight is placed on the side wheels.
    Under the side wheels there is an anti-overturning trolley that serves above all in the chicane when the weight moves quickly from one side to the other, see the previous video.
    The leverage of the loss of traction is about halfway between the fulcrum and the rear wheels, the total travel of the liva corresponds to about 14 cm of rear movement.





    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Milani Fabio

    Milani Fabio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 2 / -0
    • Like Like x 2
  6. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Sir, How did you resolved that?
  7. Milani Fabio

    Milani Fabio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 2 / -0
    I solved it by reversing the + and - cables on Sabertooth or on the motor.
    The suggestion came to me from the forum, I don't remember where I read it.
    I don't know why, but by reversing the polarities everything worked ....;)
  8. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I appreciated your reply. Anyways I just did what you said and it works only to motor 1 and 3, but motor 2 was still uncontrollable. Any ideas?
  9. Milani Fabio

    Milani Fabio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 2 / -0
    Ok engine 1 and 3.
    Also for engine 2 you have tried the two possibilities .... + and - or - end +.
    Sorry other suggestions I don't have.
    Even for me, electronics is the most difficult perte for me ....
  10. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Actually even if I move the motor 1&3, the motor #2 is suddenly move/rotating by itself but if I click the center Its stop but shaking a bit.
  11. PairRoc

    PairRoc New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    China
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, SimforceGT
    This looks really awesome, and is quite a compact design, I really like it!
  12. Enrico

    Enrico Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    331Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hi Menandro, how many sabertooth do you use?
    Motor 1 and 3 are conneted to the same card?
  13. Milani Fabio

    Milani Fabio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 2 / -0
    Hi Menandro,
    I looked at your project and I'm happy that you took the idea from my project.
    Seems like all the links are ok.
    Have you tried to invert the polarity of the motor cables n. 2?

    Then, be careful that Wanegain's Arduino code provides a 360 ° reading potentiometer.
    Inside the code are the reading values that you need to change based on the gear ratio
  14. Milani Fabio

    Milani Fabio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 2 / -0
    For a good reading I recommend these hall effect potentiometers with 360 ° reading 6127V1A360L.5FS HALL
    untitled.png
  15. Milani Fabio

    Milani Fabio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 2 / -0
    Update scheme 4 DOF Milani Fabio

    Schema 4DOF Milani new 1_7.jpg
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2020
  16. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi Fabio,
    Yes, Indeed. After several months of reading and almost giving up, thankfully that I found your project. I'm so grateful because your project has easy guides that I think I can do as well. (Thank You for that). Just like you, I just not have any electrical oriented that's why I'm having a hard time too as well as the codes. As you've advised seeking assistance to other sites, I've met Mr. Simon of simukit.com and he willingly and really helps me a lot for the interface settings and the inverting polarity (Thanks to him). But still, I'm having a problem with Motor #2 it's still uncontrollable. They advise me also to try to transfer the motor #2 to available slot intended for motor #4 and changing the interface settings as well and the pin for pot but in result the same problem.

    Yes, I inverted also the polarity for all motors.

    I have no other options and I only suspected was the potentiometer on motor #2. As you can see to my post, originally my potentiometer is not a 360 ° reading and I manage to cut off the tab inside so that it free to have a 360 ° rotation. The potentiometer you've recommend is a bit pricy and it takes months for the delivery here in my country that's why I used a local available potentiometer in my country. But I guess I have no other options but to buy that thing.

    I'm so frustrated to get done this project because to the next 2 nor 3 months, I planned to join my project in the exhibition to inspire my countrymen, especially kids, to prove that don't lose hope, we can make it DIY instead to buy an expensive one. Well, my country is listed as a third world country, which means most of it can't afford such expensive.

    Hoping to solve and get it done the soonest.

    Thank you Fabio for your inspiring project and the support, as well as @noorbeast
  17. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Do you have any ideas about what in particular codes that I need to change?
  18. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hello Fabio. I am building a very similar motion sim as you did. Difference is I'm using 4 Cytron 30 amp motor drivers with 4 power supplies. Im wondering if I should go with 1 or two Arduino boards? What did you use for programming? Very nice rig by the way. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  19. Milani Fabio

    Milani Fabio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 2 / -0
    Hi Hale,
    I don't know the Cytron 30 A, I used 2 Sabertooth 2x32 A which control 4 motors, because each sabertooth can control 2 motors.
    So I connected 4 potentiometers to arduino uno
    If I wanted I could put 4 sabertoot for 4 engines, so I think you can connect 4 Cytron ..... but better informed ...
    For the arduino code I used the @Wanegain ..... you have to ask him.
    Hello
  20. early_m

    early_m Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Balance:
    370Coins
    Ratings:
    +177 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    I was under the impression you required one uno for 2 pots. I see you are using one uno for 4 pots. Is using 6 pots (6DOF) as simple as connecting them to A5 and A6, and then which pin for the sabertooth - I see you're using 8 and 10, would it be 9, or 12?