1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

New builder of 2 dof race sim

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by Ned, Aug 1, 2017.

  1. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Found why MM went up in smoke, there was a stray very small bit of wire for the power supply to MM which shorted to the - or negative. My fault the wire I used is pretty thick and had to cut some strands off to make fit in MM so if my new MM test ok I will use correct size wire to fit with no small strands hanging out. Regards dumb arse Ned
  2. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    What Is best to use for Xsim Tools? Arduino? JRK? MM? what else is available? which is the most simple to set up with Sim Tools for a beginner?????????????????????????????????????????
  3. Diogo Kruger

    Diogo Kruger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I have the same question, Ned.
  4. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Well that's not an answer??? but agree with question. I have ordered 4 new cheap MM boards but may live to regret that decision.
  5. RandomCoder

    RandomCoder Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Control Engineer
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,626Coins
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0 / -0
    If @Thanos manages to get his controller support built into SimTools then this looks like being the simplest option IMHO. I've bought into the Kickstarter campaign and look forward to testing his controller when it's built.
    From what I understand, with his controller you can use whatever motor driver you choose including AC Frequency Drives given that you get the optional add-on for the controller. Looks interesting to me.
    You can find out more here... https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/kickstarter-announcement.10517/
  6. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    All rewired put fuses everywhere before and after motor monster, after power supply and before MM board, just waiting on new MM boards to arrive. If any of you experts see a problem with my wiring and fuses please let me know. I have no clue ha ha ha having fun though! rewired with fuses everywhere.jpg
  7. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    It even lights up same colour as my beer of choice when powered ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha having fun fan and leds ha ha.jpg
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2017
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,188
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,878Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The video is private, you will need to make it public so others can view it.
  9. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino


    This is my real stimulator hope the video works.

    Is this Public now???? I made it private to try and keep my licence in tack. Hear it skipping out of Second Gear The dogs are climbing over the gear, Sucks. If I can get my simulator to simulate my Reverse Trike I will be a very happy boy. The phone you see behind the steering wheel is a speedo via sat nav, I think top speed was 100 mph or 160 kmh did not know the road and loss of power when jumping out of second gear, also not sure who or what was coming around the next corner. Awesome fun. I purchased another engine low kms and pulled it apart had 1st 2nd gears undercut and 3rd gear undercut just need to put it back together and transplant into Trike, one day this will happen more interested in getting this Sim tools up and running at the moment. Must have head phones on to appreciate????????
    • Like Like x 3
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2017
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,188
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,878Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes it works now, which forest drive is it?
  11. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    It is Reefton Spur Victoria one of the best roads to ride if ever you get the chance, corners everywhere, up the top is where the cops sit doing radar that is why I slowed down in the video but cops were not there that day.
  12. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Noorbeast for all the help you have given me in relation to Sim Tools now and in the future ha ha, if ever you are in Melbourne on a summer sunny day I will take you for a spin in the Trike if you like?????
    • Friendly Friendly x 2
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,188
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,878Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My eldest son lives in Melbourne, so hopefully I will get to take you up on your kind offer some day!
  14. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    No problem Noorbeast I don't think I should put my phone number on here but when ever your son wants a go in the reverse trike contact on here and I will arrange the ride of his life.
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2017
  15. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,732Coins
    Ratings:
    +866 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hey @Ned - in your bucking bronco video, it looks like your motor output arms are going in full circles sometimes. I think most here only use around 90 degrees of throw give or take on gearmotors. The arms should always stay within that range.

    Am I seeing that right on the video? If so, what kind of feedback are you using? I'm wondering if this might have something to do with your problem since if the feedback is wonky, the motor controllers won't really know what commands to send to the motors. They try based on feedback but if that's not reporting right, motors can run away.
  16. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Yep your eyes are correct, why I don't know as yet. I have 10K pots which I allow or have allowed 360 degree movement by removing or flattening out the backing of the pot, Racingmat pointed out a lot of stuff I missed in the set up so just waiting for new MM hope they work?????????????
  17. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,732Coins
    Ratings:
    +866 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That's the problem then, @Ned. You only want pots going full circle if your system is designed to do that like with the linear actuators on Stewart platforms. That also takes controllers with software specifically set up to count turns and such. For gearmotors and 2 dof rigs that use them, you only want arm travel in the 60-120 degree range (typically 90).

    What is happening is your controllers are commanding a position and the feedback sends them on a wild goose chase. The reversals are probably when the controller senses an overshoot and tries to fix. But I'd bet you haven't set centers or range, maybe even direction sense. If that was all set up, even though your pots can turn 360 degrees, the controllers would never command that.

    There are good discussions here on all that so it's just finding the ones most appropriate for the hardware you are using. Good luck but I bet this is it and gets you going if not closer.
  18. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hey Zed thanks for your input, I am very new to this so one small step at a time for me, cant do much until MM boards arrive and after reading this forum I am a bit worried that the 4 cheap MM I purchased may not even work, I watched a member from the UK test 4 MM he purchased and some tested ok with multi meter but when load is added all 4 MM failed, It will be just my luck that that also happens to me. I have to get this done soon as the good weather is not that far away and I will want to be out on the Trike.
  19. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Also I went back to basics and played with the arduino making things blink and fade yes I know very basic but interesting playing around with the codes making it do weird stuff
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,732Coins
    Ratings:
    +866 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sounds good, @Ned! Just my opinion but it's not that any bit is that hard. There's just a lot of bits. With your frame already built and even moving it should go pretty quick for you, but it keeps amazing me how much time it can take.

    Those trike videos are really cool. Looks like a very beautiful place to roam around in!

    Cheers!
    • Agree Agree x 1